We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you have a spare hour”

Museum of Communism
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.03*
and up
Skip-the-Line Museum of Communism Ticket and Prague City Private Tour
Ranked #79 of 934 things to do in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum looks at what Czech society and life was like under the Communist regime.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you have a spare hour”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We really enoyed our visit here. It was cheap to get in and we learned alot about prague's history with communism. Theres a lot of reading to do but its interspersed with great relics and replicas. Its also pretty sad, but it is really informative. This museum really does give you an insight into communism with lots to see. There was also a side exhibit on North Korea that was great. The place could do with some air conditioning though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    596
    287
    123
    56
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An eccentric view of Czech history”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well worth a visit. The irony of a Museum of Communism positioned in the heart of the main shopping area, behind MacDonald's and sharing a building with a casino! ... and they know it! The visit starts a rather 'tongue in cheek' affair as you access the museum through the gift shop with its clever posters, etc. It then gets a little more serious as you go round the exhibition explaining life in Prague under the Communist regime. The twenty minute newsreel-style presentation in the mini cinema is definitely worth seeing. There are also free guided tours that are very informative.
It will make you see the city and its people a little differently when you come back out into the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Approachable and informative, but not taxing”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice, small-scale, but informative museum, with engaging displays. I lived through the Cold War, but for the generations that didn't, the museum makes it easy to get a picture of life and culture behind the "Iron Curtain." The short video near the end is really worth watching, and it is a great place to take a break -- chairs and fans! In addition, the rest of my visit was enriched by what I learned about the Velvet Revolution and Czech people from this video. Nice to see the museum has not stopped with Soviet-style communism, and has added an exhibit about current-day North Korea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cold War Snapshot”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The museum is a bit cramped, but the displays are great. All of my Cold War stereotypes were reinforced especially when I looked at the 1970's grocery store display. The spy gadgets made me giggle a bit, so bulky. Looks like stuff that Phillip and Elizabeth Jennings would use. There was also a school room and a constantly running movie that tells the story of the Czech Republic's painful relationship with communism. I also enjoyed the busts. Amazing how narcissistic communist leaders were. The museum is located right on Na Prikope so it's an easy and worthwhile stop. Caveat: lots and lots of reading on the displays. Worth it, but might not appeal to some folks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A view into Eastern Bloc life”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The comparison between thriving, energetic present day Prague and the scenes depicted in this museum are striking. We visited in July, and the lack of air conditioning, along with the peeling plaster in the ornate old high-ceilinged bathroom, somehow made the experience feel very real. From statues of Lenin and Marx to reproduced newspaper articles and propaganda posters, the chilling sensation of secret police and tanks and numbing fear came through. There is a theatre at the end of the exhibit that plays scenes of the street protests and police/military crackdown that are very moving. You also leave with a sense of hope that, bad as communism was, it just couldn't hold up in a society that knew what it was like to be free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Communism also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Communism? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing