We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not in my opinion a four-star hotel.”
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Alta
Ranked #300 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Broken Arrow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not in my opinion a four-star hotel.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Even though I would not consider this a four-star hotel, it was clean and adequate for our needs. The breakfast buffet was great and had many choices for me, a vegetarian. I was able to get my protein from the egg dishes and the fromage blanc plus a good variety of fruit and vegetables. Our rooms were clean and the staff was most helpful, friendly and spoke English fluently. It was a bit of a walk to the tram but we were able to manage quite well with some helpful hints from the hotel staff. They also sold us our tram tickets, which saved time and effort on our parts. There is also a very good Italian restaurant the Mercado, about a half mile from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    224
    74
    22
    4
See reviews for
66
242
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were fully aware that this hotel was not in the centre of the busy Prague tourist trail, as we read the details before booking (unlike other reviewers on here!) The suburban feel of the area where the hotel is situated is a welcome respite from the busy centre as we were in Prague for 4 nights.
The hotel was all it promised and has a nice and reasonable Mexican eatery and you can also sit outside with a drink on the pavement tables watching the area go about it's business. No problems with booking at this hotel again and the tram (Nunber 24) stops right across the road very regularly and takes you straight into the city in about 10-15mins.
Friendly staff, clean rooms and nice professional hotel, with free safes next to reception, which requires two keys (yours and reception) to open them and luggage storage also.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamemmawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Recently stayed for three nights, booked flights and hotel as a package so stayed for a really good price. Loved the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, we were able to keep our bags locked in a secure cupboard by reception after check-out.
The breakfast had a good selection with frequent topping up of hot food. We also ate in the Mexican restaurant before our return flights and the food was tasty with huge portions.
Only negative was the bed, my pet hate is twin beds pushed together to make a double, We had individual single duvets as well so didn't give the feel of a double bed but was comfortable none-the-less.
Right outside is a tram stop and one stop away is the metro so very good transport links, there's also a few convenience stores close by. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst on a Google conference. I agree with other reviews that say that the area is not too beautiful but the location is very handy for the tram. It is an easy 15 mins or so journey into Wenceslas Square. The receptionist who we dealt with was superb and we felt very looked after. The breakfast was OK but extremely busy on the second day - looked like a coach party. We enjoyed our free welcome drink in the bar whilst we were waiting for our taxi to the airport. Our room was a lovely spacious corner room with a massive double bed. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although the location is a bit away from the city centre, the hotel is close to two trams and a short walking distance from the metro, all going downtown. I found Plaza Alta excellent value, the staff professional and helpful, the room comfortable and the buffet breakfast excellent. Also, it has a fitness centre.

Room Tip: My room (305) was quiet in spite of it overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fekria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Far from any of the big attractions, but the room was clean. The king bed was actually two beds pushed together so that was pretty annoying. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. They were able to get us taxis (legit ones) and the break was very good. The only thing that was annoying was the wi-fi was not very strong.

Room Tip: Don't get a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Location: Located in a run-down area of Prague about 20 minutes by tram from the castle and the bridge (main attractions) and 10 minutes by tram from the old town (not including waiting time at the station that can be between 0-10 minutes). Inconvenient to travel back and forth to the city centre especially with a family.

Cleanliness: At first glance the room looked clean. Carpet was in a good condition and fixtures and fittings were all fine as well. The two chairs in the room both had what looked like either blood or coffee stains. On further inspection the mattress protector also had brown stains and the bedsheet did not smell fresh. We stayed for three days and the toilet was not washed once. It was smelling of wee on the last day - not very pleasant. Checked the cart of the cleaning lady and did not see any cleaning products.

Beds: A large double bed was available however the third one was a sofa bed which was not very comfortable.

Washroom: The shower and W/C were not one unit which we found odd to have in a 4-star hotel. Children found it difficult as well.

Breakfast: Room is too small to cater for all guests. Had to wait for 20 minutes to get a table and even then has to fit 6 on a 4 people table oterhwise would have to wait longer. Reasonable hot/cold spread with juices, coffee a variety of breads, two types of eggs, veg pizza or pancakes.

Staff: Unfriendly. Did not see anyone smile once except the reception staff. Forget about any special requests.

Found out at the htoel that the 4-Star-rating is based on the local rating system and not the international rating system so beware. I would not give it more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

at first I would like to thank you for choosing the Plaza Alta Hotel for your visit in Prague!
We are very sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, which help us to focus on our custumer needs and constantly improve the quality of the service. Be sure, that all your comments were discussed with our team in details.

Regarding to your comment about hotel certification (star rating) I would like to inform you that we are member of the Hotelstars Union and we have got the European hotel classification which is checked regularly by Association of Hotels and Restaurants.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#183 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#245 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#161 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Expo
Expo
#449 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#376 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Praha 9
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#176 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Property: Plaza Alta
Address: Ortenovo namesti 1086/22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing