We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and service make up for location”
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Alta
Ranked #330 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Plaza Alta. The first time it was in a cheap internet deal in 2012 and we were nervous then about the location, but when we decided to come back to Prague this year through Cresta Travel we didn't hesitate to book the Plaza Alta again even though Cresta had a choice of several Prague hotels.

This time our room 208 was at the front of the building and was huge - I think this was an executive room or even a suite, even though we had only booked a standard room. The bed was a massive superking and very soft and comfortable (although a little soft for my partner). The bathroom was nice and had a useful separate toilet, and there were robes and slippers in the room. Everything was kept spotlessly clean and we had new towels each day.

As it was quite late when we arrived we decided to eat dinner in the hotel's Mexican restaurant on the first night for ease. We both had fajitas which were very good and came in a large portion for a reasonable price, but I can't answer for any other dishes. I do wish they'd get rid of the mannequin in dressed in a wig and Mexican hat and poncho as it's a bit tacky, but it does make me laugh.

Breakfast was the usual choice of cereal and cold items, bread and sweet rolls, plus bacon, 2 types of sausage and scrambled, fried and boiled eggs, and a hot cheese and sausage pastry thing. On our last day there was no hot buffet and you had to order hot items "a la carte" instead. This felt a bit odd but I can see it was probably done to avoid waste so we didn't have a problem with it, although I would have preferred to help myself. Weekend breakfast is served till 12.00pm which is very civilised in the land of great beer! I have a feeling there might have been a little more choice for breakfast during our previous stay, but it was perfectly adequate this time too.

All the reception and bar staff were friendly and efficient and we didn't encounter anyone who was rude. A special thank you to Jan on reception - on our last afternoon there was a problem with our prebooked taxi transfer, and Jan kindly got on the phone to sort it out in Czech even though it wasn't the hotel's responsibility.

As many other people have mentioned in reviews, the hotel's location really isn't a problem due to the tram stops outside. I think it even adds an extra dimension to the trip as taking the tram makes you feel a bit like a local! We probably won't come back to Prague now as this was our 2nd visit as a couple and my 3rd visit in total, but I would recommend this hotel to others as there are often good deals available and I feel the standard is very good for the price paid.

Stayed 10th-14th February

Room Tip: rooms ending in 08 are the corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dammitjanet0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying with us at Plaza Alta Hotel in Prague and sharing your positive feedback about our room, the location of the hotel, dinner & breakfast services and our staff. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your time with us and you have chosen our hotel for the second time.
Be assured, I will share your comments with the entire team.

Kind Regards from Prague,
Ivana Holubova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very nice hotel. Lovely helpfull staff! Rooms are nice and clean. We enjoyed a relaxing bath after a long day strolling downtown.

Good connection by public transport to Prague 1 (City Centre). Tram stops just around the corner.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and liked the room you stayed in.

Thank you for choosing Plaza Alta Hotel and we hope to see you again during your next visit.

With kind regards,

Ivana Holubova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent three days in this nice and modern hotel. The staff were all very friendly. Price/quality is excellent. The hotel is not in the centre of Prague but the public transport got us real quickly in the centre. When visiting the beautiful town of Prague next time, we would definately book ourselves again a room in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments shared with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivana Holubova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it definitely wasn't the stay we were expecting afer reading the reviews. To start with the welcome we had from the receptionist with half her hair shaved off was hardly welcoming or friendly. When we got into the room we noticed it was nothing like the pictures on the internet the rooms aren't awful but not what you would expect from a hotel with a 4 star rating and there was always a funny smell in the room and corridor! The breakfasts are also not as advertised, nothing about them is American and on 2 occasions there was no hot food out. on one of the days there was nothing and on the second it was made to order but came out very quickly considering it was meant to have just been cooked! There was a photo in reception of the breakfast which was not even close to what it really was, there was hardly any hot food out at all! On the third morning we had the choice of 2 different types of sausage and a fried egg! When we came to have dinner here it was disgusting! The burger looked and tasted like cardboard and my partners fajitas were greasy, chewy and little taste we were extremely disappointed! I would not stay here again nothing about it was relaxing, enjoyable or anything like it's a dvertised! An all round disapointment!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback to your recent stay in our hotel, however I regret to read that your experience with our hotel did not fully meet your expectations.

I am surprised to hear about your impression of our reception staff that was not friendly enough as they usually get positive feedback from the guests.

Regarding to your comment about hotel room (star rating) I would like to inform you that our hotel meets all list of the mandatory requirements of the European hotel classification for the category hotel - 4* rating. Classification is checked by the Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants regularly.

Also, I am sorry about your dinner experience, as these two mentioned dishes are among the most popular ones in our restaurant.

Please accept my apology for our breakfast selection. During low season we prefer to serve hot meals on a la carte basis because of the freshness.

I would like to assure you that your feedback was shared and discussed with my colleagues and I am very sorry not to have the possibility to discuss all your comments already during your stay personally with you.


Yours faithfully,

Ivana Holubová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Although located outside the city centre getting into the city is really easy, number 12 tram stops a 2 minute walk away and the metro, a 10 minute walk gets you to Wenceslas Square very quickly.
We were on the 4th floor ( exec room) and like other guests noticed an odd smell in the corridor. The room was clean and had all we needed, except for the powdered milk:-(. There is a shop over the road where proper milk can be bought.
The lighting ( Eco lighting) took a while to warm up so you needed to turn the bathroom light on about 10 mins before you needed it. Unusually there was a separate toilet and bathroom, very useful after all the cheap beer!
Room was clean and housekeeping good.
7 Tacos restaurant was a good choice for 1st night dinner after arriving about 8pm.
Breakfast was a typical European breakfast (which bore no resemblance to the picture near the lifts) smoked sausage, funny bacon and strange looking eggs but the continental option was good. The self service bean 2 cup coffee machine was great with good quality coffee beans to ensure we got our caffeine fix.
Most of the guests were German, don't think I heard English once during our stay but that wasn't a problem.
Would I stay here again? Probably not, we would like to be a bit closer to the town but all in all it is a reasonably good hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank garyandalikaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just spent 4 nights here as part of a package. I have stayed in Prague many times before, and this hotel was very good, much better than some that i have stayed at that were located in the centre, charging more money. Please don't be put off about it's location, although it is in the suburb of Holesovice, it is only around 12mins into the centre on one of the trams. The tickets can be bought in reception (only 110kc for 24hr). The trams are extremely efficient, never seemed to wait more than five minutes for one, and the stop is across the road, they really are very simple to use, just remember to validate your ticket on entry (the yellow box), or risk a fine.
The hotel staff we found to be extremely helpful, and all spoke perfect english, very keen to help with any queries you may have, or give friendly advice. The room was comfy and functional, and comes with a mini bar and snacks, with prices clearly displayed. There is also a safety deposit box in the room which is free of charge. The whole hotel was impeccably kept, and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice for everyone with a hot and cold buffet, and was delicious everytime. Worth staying for the breakfast alone!! There is also a gym, for which we were told there was no charge. The onsite restaurant has a Mexican theme, couldn't comment on the evening food as we didn't eat there, but the prices looked quite reasonable.
Please note, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, we took our travel kettle and adapter, and some cups and teabags, milk and sugar are easily available from the shop across the road, so if your a tea/coffee lover, take your own stuff.
All in all, a great base to stay for enjoying this wonderful city, we would stay here again with no hesitation whatsoever

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dieseldog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights with my husband. The hotel is located in the outskirts of Prague, but as others have stated it is pretty easy to get around on the trams (you can buy tickets from Reception and the stop is literally across the road from the hotel). The male receptionists were a lot friendlier than their female colleagues. The bar area is nice, although rather small and the automatic doors mean it's constantly freezing as they open as soon as anyone walks by. Our room was on the 1st Floor and was basic, but clean. There was a strange smell in the corridor and the room itself. If i return to Prague in the future, i would not stay here again because i would prefer a hotel a lot closer to the action.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#138 of 648 in Prague
558 reviews
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#394 of 648 in Prague
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Dolce Villa Hotel
Dolce Villa Hotel
#355 of 648 in Prague
128 reviews
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#200 of 648 in Prague
906 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Address: Ortenovo Nam. 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £35 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing