We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ametyst Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #163 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked this stay through Groupon for husbands Christmas present. After reading good reviews was excited about trip to Prague. Was not disappointed at tall. The hotel booked a taxi to meet us at airport. This was really nice after long trip from home. We were met by a friendly receptionist and shown to our room on the 4th floor. Very clean & comfortable, if not a tad warm.
Took onsies as was expecting it to be chilly, not needed as room was very hot, if not too hot at times.
The room was very spacious and suited our needs with free Wi-Fi.

We settled in & then went out to get our bearings. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with some fantastic bars and restaurants nearby. Take first left out of hotel and there is a fantastic place to eat, very friendly. Be aware though smoking is allowed in restaurants and this took some getting used too for ex-smokers! We did eat in on first night as we had complimentary dinner voucher. The food was very good in hotel and the service was warm and friendly.

Breakfast was good with a variety of goods on offer.

We ventured out to see the sights of Prague. A 5 min walk out of the hotel, first left then straight up Belgicka, takes you to a square with a church, where you can catch the number 22 tram. This takes you into the City centre and onto Prague Castle, which is a must do. We did walk it a couple of times but found it fun to hop on and off the tram.

We found the people of Prague to be warm, friendly and the food cheap! The weather was very warm and mild for the time of year. We did all the sights and was exhausted by the end of the day. Having to be able to have a soak in a bath was lush and very much needed.

Our favourite places to eat were Hlincna Samota, just left out of hotel where we had wild boar burgers! Then up on the square where you can catch trams there are a few places, our favourite was Mlsne J Kocour extremely friendly.

We loved our visit very much & the hotel was fantastic.
If we ever come back to Prague we would definitely book into the Ametyst Hotel again

Room Tip: Room very hot & take own hairdryer as the one supplied was not powerful enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntiehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    305
    107
    30
    9
See reviews for
88
335
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here for valentines weekend. It was perfect. Staff are friendly and the bar man was lovely.
It is in a quiet location but you can use the metro to get anywhere round prague. The metro is an easy 5mins from the hotel with some good pubs and restaurants on the way. If we were to come back I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We (me and 2 friends) stayed in this hotel in October 2013 during our weekend break in Prague. We booked a triple room and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel itself looked nice and clean, the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Regarding the hotel's 4 star status which someone else has mentioned - We are from the UK and we also found the rating to be higher than what we would expect, given the facilities and services available. However, that wasn't an issue to us. We did have some problems with the room door when we first arrived, it wouldn't lock and we were lucky enough to spot that before leaving for a night out. The hotel staff wasn't able to sort this out initially, but it was fixed when we got back. The triple room had a good size and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, the hotel serves both hot and cold food - Though going back to the star rating, I wouldn't say it is four star quality. Regarding the location, the hotel is in a very quiet area in zone 2. It's a fair distance to the centre and old town (20 minute walk), but it is definitely do-able and you get to see the real Prague on the way. If you hate walking, there is a metro station about 5 minute walk away (Pavlova). This hotel is very good value for money if you are looking for somewhere to stay during a short break with basic but good facilities, providing that you don't mind it being slightly out the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel. An easy 20 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and approx. another 8-10 minutes to the Market Square and clock. Requested twin room high up and got a top floor location overlooking the back of the hotel. Quiet room but very very hot. Could not cool it down the first night, despite the freezing air blowing through the windows. Staff helpful, check-in swift. Free guide map from Reception. Tea and coffee facilities in room, replenished daily. TV and wireless (although not free), bathroom clean and towels replaced daily. Soap dispenser in shower and by sink rather than freebie bottles, mini bar with room for small personal items, safe in the storage cupboard operated by room key card. Breakfast lovely. Choice from hot and/or continental self service buffet, fresh coffee and tea. Luggage stored free of charge on day of check-out. Great price through Expedia. Would use again if ever in Prague.

Room Tip: Have commented swimming pool - there is no pool...just can't undo the clicks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved the location of this hotel, away from the tourists but only a 15-minute walk to the main sites. Great little bars and restaurants all around full of locals. The hotel was clean, with great breakfast buffet and service. Great value. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

4 of us visited Prague on a short weekend break and stayed at this hotel , although slightly out of the center 10 ins walk to Wenselas Square it was quiet. Well furnished rooms although small adequate for our needs. Breakfast was plentiful with much variety. Excellent stay . Hotel car from the airport both ways was good value for 4 people .

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in Prague for three nights at this hotel. The location is very good as after all the crowds in the streets of the city l feel you need to unwind and relax, the hotel is about 10 minutes leisurely walk to the metro, so there is no problem getting into the centre. We found the staff who can speak English were very helpful and polite.

There was a mini bar in our room, but be careful as the prices are as expected very high (there are numerous shops that can supply you with all you need). Make sure you have the hotels buffet breakfasts as there is a huge selection and very filling. We did find a very good eating place (Pub) just around the corner from the hotel and went there a couple of times the food was tasty, very filling and a good menu.

A very good hotel to explore Prague with.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmoathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#192 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#130 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#83 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#115 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#185 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Property: Hotel Ametyst Prague
Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing