We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful city, disappointing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #169 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful city, disappointing hotel.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Prague is a beautiful city, unfortunately the hotel was not.

Our room was supposedly a double, but there was not enough space for us to pass one another in the room. The bathroom and toilet were separate, but there were no hand washing facilities in the toilet so you had to leave the toilet to go to the bathroom to wash your hands - not very hygienic!

The beds were rock hard and I really mean that. A comfortable nights sleep was near on impossible and I personally prefer a firm mattress!

Breakfast was basic, not a problem, but the fruit juices tasted like they were dilute to taste and most of the fruit itself appeared to be tinned. What little fresh fruit that was available had been cut into small pieces.

We only tried the restaurant once for an evening meal - enough said I think. Would I recommend this hotel? No, would I visit this hotel again? No.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonGonefishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    314
    109
    33
    10
See reviews for
94
346
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What can I say about this place! Had a great time again!! This was our 7th time in Prague and 4th time in this Hotel. When we booked this time around, we asked for our usual hotel room and were given one along with usual excellent service.
It is in a quiet neighborhood with lots of restaurants around and within easy reach of the city centre. Loved every minute of it. Nothing could be too much hassle for them. Everything we wanted was available.
BREAKFAST-- we had it every day and it was one of the best everyday breakfast and was just enough to keep us going till the evening. Please book with the breakfast.
We were here for 10 days this time and had a great time all in all.

Room Tip: Higher floors maybe are better and away from the lights at the front. Maybe want to try the room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was what I expected and much more. Excellent hotel, I got a smoking room which over saw the front, really good space.

The location is great, not to far from it is an excellent bar where the barman gave us free shots and called us "good customers", it was one of the best places I had eaten and drank in prague.

All in all an excellent stay with nothing amiss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked this stay through Groupon for husbands Christmas present. After reading good reviews was excited about trip to Prague. Was not disappointed at tall. The hotel booked a taxi to meet us at airport. This was really nice after long trip from home. We were met by a friendly receptionist and shown to our room on the 4th floor. Very clean & comfortable, if not a tad warm.
Took onsies as was expecting it to be chilly, not needed as room was very hot, if not too hot at times.
The room was very spacious and suited our needs with free Wi-Fi.

We settled in & then went out to get our bearings. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with some fantastic bars and restaurants nearby. Take first left out of hotel and there is a fantastic place to eat, very friendly. Be aware though smoking is allowed in restaurants and this took some getting used too for ex-smokers! We did eat in on first night as we had complimentary dinner voucher. The food was very good in hotel and the service was warm and friendly.

Breakfast was good with a variety of goods on offer.

We ventured out to see the sights of Prague. A 5 min walk out of the hotel, first left then straight up Belgicka, takes you to a square with a church, where you can catch the number 22 tram. This takes you into the City centre and onto Prague Castle, which is a must do. We did walk it a couple of times but found it fun to hop on and off the tram.

We found the people of Prague to be warm, friendly and the food cheap! The weather was very warm and mild for the time of year. We did all the sights and was exhausted by the end of the day. Having to be able to have a soak in a bath was lush and very much needed.

Our favourite places to eat were Hlincna Samota, just left out of hotel where we had wild boar burgers! Then up on the square where you can catch trams there are a few places, our favourite was Mlsne J Kocour extremely friendly.

We loved our visit very much & the hotel was fantastic.
If we ever come back to Prague we would definitely book into the Ametyst Hotel again

Room Tip: Room very hot & take own hairdryer as the one supplied was not powerful enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntiehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here for valentines weekend. It was perfect. Staff are friendly and the bar man was lovely.
It is in a quiet location but you can use the metro to get anywhere round prague. The metro is an easy 5mins from the hotel with some good pubs and restaurants on the way. If we were to come back I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We (me and 2 friends) stayed in this hotel in October 2013 during our weekend break in Prague. We booked a triple room and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel itself looked nice and clean, the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Regarding the hotel's 4 star status which someone else has mentioned - We are from the UK and we also found the rating to be higher than what we would expect, given the facilities and services available. However, that wasn't an issue to us. We did have some problems with the room door when we first arrived, it wouldn't lock and we were lucky enough to spot that before leaving for a night out. The hotel staff wasn't able to sort this out initially, but it was fixed when we got back. The triple room had a good size and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, the hotel serves both hot and cold food - Though going back to the star rating, I wouldn't say it is four star quality. Regarding the location, the hotel is in a very quiet area in zone 2. It's a fair distance to the centre and old town (20 minute walk), but it is definitely do-able and you get to see the real Prague on the way. If you hate walking, there is a metro station about 5 minute walk away (Pavlova). This hotel is very good value for money if you are looking for somewhere to stay during a short break with basic but good facilities, providing that you don't mind it being slightly out the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel. An easy 20 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and approx. another 8-10 minutes to the Market Square and clock. Requested twin room high up and got a top floor location overlooking the back of the hotel. Quiet room but very very hot. Could not cool it down the first night, despite the freezing air blowing through the windows. Staff helpful, check-in swift. Free guide map from Reception. Tea and coffee facilities in room, replenished daily. TV and wireless (although not free), bathroom clean and towels replaced daily. Soap dispenser in shower and by sink rather than freebie bottles, mini bar with room for small personal items, safe in the storage cupboard operated by room key card. Breakfast lovely. Choice from hot and/or continental self service buffet, fresh coffee and tea. Luggage stored free of charge on day of check-out. Great price through Expedia. Would use again if ever in Prague.

Room Tip: Have commented swimming pool - there is no pool...just can't undo the clicks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#69 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#85 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#192 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#108 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#144 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#182 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Property: Hotel Ametyst Prague
Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing