We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #166 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good hotel in an attractive leafy area and close to a metro station/tram stops. There are a number of good and reasonably priced restaurants close by and walking to the old centre takes only about 20 mins. The hotel was very clean with a good sized bedroom and bathroom with a powerful roomy shower. The room was very warm but ok with both windows open and I would agree with other reviewers that the beds are very firm - but that aside, it was quiet and we slept very well. The restaurant for dinner is mediocre (though we only had a main course when we arrived as it was after 9pm) however the buffet breakfast was excellent. Fantastic choice from cold meats and cheese, to boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages mushrooms etc with yoghurt, fruit and granola and a vast array of different breads and croissants/cakes. All in all a good place to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    310
    108
    32
    9
See reviews for
90
340
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated very close to the metro and trams stops which are a fantastic service in Prague. The breakfast was adequate and plentiful, the room very clean, and the staff semi-friendly. All in all I spend very little time in a hotel room whilst on vacation, and Prague is a fantastic destination so my trip was memorable. However our last morning there when we checked out, my friend was feeling ill and needed the bathroom in our room a bit longer, the management didn't care and basically threw us out. A bit unprofessional, so keep that in mind.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HecMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's a good hotel,in a good position, near the metro station "IP Pavlova". Rooms are clean and not noisy. Wifi signal was strenght in all areas. In my room wc and shower were separated,a little strange for me but comfortable

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank marconallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not much to complain about. The hotel is at the quietest and leafiest end of Vinohrady, about ten minutes' walk from the Namesti Miru metro station, and with a reasonable selection of decent bars and restaurants within strolling distance. Rooms are quietly elegant, and the management is intelligent and committed to its job. The breakfast is excellent, with a wide variety of hot and cold items. Prague is fortunate to have an unusually large number of well-run medium-sized hotels like this one, but for consistently strong performance across the board the Ametyst would be close to the top of my list.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend and was very satisfied with both our room and breakfast. Room was clean, with a decent sized bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was a good spread, with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and plenty of breads and home-made cake to fill us up! It is approximately a 30 minute walk from the city centre, therefore we often decided to get the underground, which only took two stops to get to the city centre and cost just 24 crowns, so that was very handy. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_201456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Situated in a quiet location the Ametyst Hotel is approximately a 5-10 minute walk from the tram station, bars and restaurants and a 30 minute walk from the main centre. The room was fairly small but clean with mini bar, safe, tea and coffee making facilities. However as commented on other reviews the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and the room was very hot. The air conditioning didn't seem to make any difference in cooling it down. The staff in the hotel and the people in general were very kind and helpful.

There was a good variety of foods at breakfast from cereals, fruit, cold meats, pastries, fresh bread and 3 hot choices. The evening menu was limited in choice but offered a traditional 'goulash and dumplings' option, fish option, vegetarian plus a couple of others choices. What we ate was very enjoyable and good value for money considering the hotels 4 star rating.

Eating out in Prague was also good value and the food was delicious. However, smoking is permitted in restaurants and bars, although we did find a couple of non smoking places, which as non-smokers we did find off putting.

Prague itself is very pretty and there are many places and parts to explore. All places can be reached via the trams or on foot, but make sure you wear sensible shoes as most of the streets and paths are cobbled. Finding the right number tram can be confusing at first and a change of tram may be necessary to get to where you want to go, so be prepared. The hotel offered us a map with tram numbers on it which was very helpful. Signposts in some areas were also poor.

We enjoyed our short break to Prague and found the hotel great value as well as its quiet location. If we came back to Prague we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwingenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a quiet area around 30 mins walk from the main centre. After a day of sightseeing we took a taxi back. The taxi's varied from 5€ to 11€ (this one was booked by the hotel)
The beds are incredibly hard to the point of being too uncomfortable to sleep on. Breakfast was good with a variety of hot & cold options along with Easter eggs and cake. One morning we had to wait as all the tables were taken. Overall the hotel is very clean & quiet. I would not stay here again as it is too far from the centre. I would rather pay the extra 20€ in taxi fare to be closer.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajbritt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#75 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#93 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#197 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#110 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#139 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#170 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Property: Hotel Ametyst Prague
Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing