We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomodation”
Review of Andante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andante Hotel
Ranked #299 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I organised a stag party via pragueexperience.com 13 of us stayed in Andante. Its 2 minute walk from Wencelas square which is busy square of bars and clubs, but you dont hear that from the hotel. The rooms were clean, staff helpful and breakfast was ok. The cereal was left out all weekend tho! Free internet access in lobby too. This hotel is not in the Red Light district but does have some strip clubs on the same street. Groups of men will get lots of hassle to try and get you in these clubs.
Good basic accomodation ideal for short stay. Would look for somewhere more romantic if taking a girlfriend though!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JasonLambourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2006

The Andante is situated down a side street which connects Wenceslas Square with a street called Zitna and is, unfortunately, in the red light district. There are other big hotels in the same street but you do have to walk through scores of young kids handing out leaflets for sex shows etc which is not that pleasant. This, coupled with the fact that its a bit of a walk from the Old Town - just right through the Square - means its not absolutely ideally situated.

However, that said, this is a nice if slightly basic looking hotel. It is very clean with modernised rooms with excellent facilities. It is very comfortable. No air con which can be a problem. Excellent breakfasts and very helpful staff. I wouldn't stay there again if I had a choice but that is more to do with the location than any problem with the accomodation itself. But, oh what a city....!

  • Stayed: July 2003, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JenandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

great location, one block from Wencelas Square; near commercial area, too. Very clean, simple accommodations, decent breakfast, very good reception; free internet access from lobby

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank philly_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

We stayed 3 nights in February at the hotel andante. No complaints at all. We arrived late at night and were met by very friendly staff, who continued to be very warm and happy to help throughout our stay. The hotel is a little bit out of the way if you want to be near Charles Bridge or the Old town, but then you will pay a lot more to stay there for the same standard. It was only a 3 or 4 minute walk to wenceslas Square and the metro or tram stops. it took us a 20 minute leisurely stroll to Charles Bridge. We felt it was very good value for money at only £50 B&B a night for 3 adults. Booked ours with Prague Experience. The room was a triple room for 3 adults and was a reasonable size bathroom and seperate toilet room, which was good for 3 of us. Nothing fancy, but spotlessly clean and comfortable which is all you need on a sightseeing trip when you do not plan to spend any time in the hotel. Breakfast was very nice -buffet style. breads, cheeses, jams, toast, cereals, meats etc and cooked bacon/ eggs / omellettes on request. Set us up for the day. If I went agian I probably would be willing to pay a bit extra to be right in the old town as I fell in love with it!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo, Norway
13
Reviewed 30 May 2005

This is a good hotel, nothing more and nothing less. Short walkingdistance to shopping and sightseeings. Breakfast is very good, with a great selection of food.

The only things we missed are a hairdryer, and a trashbin in the livingroom.

The hotel is located in the same street as "the red light district". Men travelling with other men or without female companionship, will be very popular when passing this area (about 100 m from the hotel entrance). Me and my girlfriend were not bothered at all. We did not notice any noise from these places when we were at our room. Don't let this info scare you. You will not notice any of this from the hotel.

If you consider this hotel - I will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2005

My husband and I stayed at Andante in December 2004 a time when Prague is busy due to the beginning of the Christmas festivities. We couldn't have asked for more on our budget!

Positive

Situated on just off Wenceslas Square

We walked to all of the major sights of Prague from the hotel, including the castle and funicular railway. We didn't use public transport once.

Very clean rooms, clean and crisp bed linen.

Separate toilet and bathroom within the room.

Large, deep bath.

Decent buffet breakfast.

Helpful staff who spoke English

Wide choice of leaflets and booklets in English, German and other languages giving advice and tourist information about local area and tours.

Negative

I would be reluctant to walk along the street alone at night (neon signs and a couple of girly bars) - personal choice.

Airport transfer was in the form of a taxi which had to be paid at the hotel...good job we got some cash at the airport!

The restaurant /bar staff worked long hours, felt like I didn't want to inconvenience them out of breakfast hours... but then we didn't need to as we were out from breakfast until late. No good if you fancy a night cap back at the hotel after a day out.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sunstreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
san diego CA
18
Reviewed 11 November 2003

The locatoin is not the greatest. It is a little pricy for the location. Rooms are very basic. Breakfast is very nice.Firendly staff .

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#103 of 647 in Prague
951 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#191 of 647 in Prague
249 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Downtown
EA Hotel Downtown
#308 of 647 in Prague
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#294 of 647 in Prague
364 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#129 of 647 in Prague
620 reviews
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andante Hotel

Address: Ve Smeckach 1408/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £59 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 3star hotel in the very centre of Prague, just a few steps from Wenceslas Square with 32 rooms, in walking distance from all main Prague sites. Cosy restaurant open for large tasty breakfast daily 7-10.30 a.m., fully equipped seminar room, exchange office, Wi-Fi free of charge, computer with internet in a lobby for fee, garages nearby available for a fee. Good for leisure, business, also very popular for small and bigger groups and families, pets welcome. Great price for the money, family atmosphere and individual care. Come and try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing