We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Theatrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Theatrino
Ranked #108 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The building was so beautiful, I thought I was not worthy enough to live in such an environment. But it was truelly worth every penny I spent. The breakfastplace, in the former theatre-sal (sorry, I do not know the proper word in english, but you can see it in the pictures), was wonderful. Breakfast was just splendid, And the friendliness of the personnel was matched by that.

As a finn, I wanted to try the sauna and was amazed. It was just excellent. As an hotelguest you could reserve the sauna every day for free, and it was just great. Like a roman bath, and the actual sauna was one of the best I ever visited. Smooth and soft "löyly".

And the room was not big, but quite big enough. Luxurious. Bed very comfortably and nice. Personnel loving and lovely, real true people you can trust, as the czech people anyhow. And I loved the design of the room. It was like timeless. We had some things in the way of the wiev of our windows, but if you put your head in the skylight window, you could see the Žižkov-statue and the upper part of a church tower from it. I was happy to be able to open the windows but not to be able to fall from it. And at nighttime you really could see the sky. Stars and such.

The room had a refridgerator, and what I loved most, a possibiity to make excellent coffee (or tea, who drinks that?). Coffee was on the house. When I asked for more coffee, I got plenty.

Nice bar too, open every day and very stylish.

The nearest metrostation was two tramstops away, Flora. And there was a very fine shoppingmall and the main cemetery with Kafkas grave and all. The surroundings of the hotel are great, It is like a wonderland. Workerquarters formerly, but now a place to meet the people in Praha, near innercity. Very hip and cool. :-D Cozy. I made friends for life.I myself am a woman of 45 years of age, so do not be afraid to plunge in, I met peopole of every ages, from teens to elderly in these quarters.

Had a great time, when I go to Praha again, and I will go, maybe with my children the next time, I will go to this same hotel. Very priceworthy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consuelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    419
    117
    52
    37
See reviews for
135
546
75
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was not actually the hotel I had booked, but due to a computer glitch at a sister hotel close by, they put us in a room at this one. I will say that it worked out in our favor as the hotels were virtually identical in terms of amenities, but the Theatrino is optimally placed right next to the #9 tram, which gets you to the heart of Prague in 4 stops. This hotel offers free breakfast, which is served in a beautiful old theater. There is a bar and a sauna in the hotel too (neither of which I used).

As for cons, I can only really think one. I thought the room was a bit too hot at times. It was very big though, so that was nice. The mini-bar in our room was dirt cheap, and well used.

The staff was incredibly friendly, and made our stay very nice. I will definitely come back here next time I am in Prague.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor. They aren't so hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flick847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel itself looks nice. But if you are planning to have a drink before going to sleep, you'd better find some place else.
Starting from the attitude to the clients (which is not very pleasant) ending with much more unpleasant story.
Here is one: In the evening my friends and I went for a drink to that bar. I ordered panini. There were a lot of people, so slow service is understandable situation. Finally I got my panini (sandwich with paper-wrapped end). It was fine. But when I wanted to finish my panini of course I took the paper off...MY PANINI WAS BITTEN from the other side. I can hardly imagine how this situation could've happen by chance. It didn't really come to my mind to check it before eating. Surprise!! From that time I lost an appitite for papini. Bartender acted like "well..s**t happens."
However, receptionist was nice and helpful. He showed understanding dealt with the problem.

Be careful and have a pleasant experience only!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Poisonedfeather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel Theatrino is a member of Ave Hotels, close to the downtown. I stayed there more than 5 times. They offer standart rooms. 3*/4*, classic buffet breakfast in charming theatre hall. Tunisian and ukrainian staff are very helpfull. Czech not too much :) I love this hotel for location, charm, good sleep quality and for good price of course.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We went for a short break the hotel was lovely and the service was great, the staff spoke good English and was very helpful with tram services and restaurant in the area, our room was cleaned every day and was very functional for our need will be visiting again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and me are very dissapointed about the quality of this so-called 4*hotel. It's a trickery. Our room was dirty, the towels were off-white instead of white an smelled of vinegar. The toilett and the bath were separated and both stank of sewage. The curtain in the bath was dirty. The only positive thing was breakfast in a very beutiful theatre room. The hotel stuff was not friendly. Anyway the homepage of this hotel doesn't correspond the real living conditions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alenochka1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely hotel which was spotlessly clean. Fair breakfast for the price and excellent transport links in to the centre. I've stayed in Prague 10 times and this is the best hotel in the Zizkov area. If you don't mind catching the tram into town, save some money and stay here. Tram stop less than 100 meters.

Rooms are quite spacious with ensuite bathrooms, wardrobes, free safes, tv and tea and coffee. They also have a minibar which is not badly priced. Loads of bars and restaurants nearby, and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#142 of 649 in Prague
511 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#252 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#228 of 649 in Prague
373 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Theatrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theatrino

Property: Hotel Theatrino
Address: Borivojova 1216/53, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#20 Spa Hotel in Prague
#96 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#138 Business Hotel in Prague
#185 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theatrino 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Theatrino is located in the city centre, in a quiet residential area of Prague. The historical centre of Prague can be reached easily by public transportation or on foot. There is a tram station only 1 minutes away from the hotel and to reach the nearest metro station is a ten-minute walk. In the vicinity of the hotel you will find a number of shops and restaurants, fashionable shopping mall Flora as well as the New Žižkov Cemetery, where Franz Kafka, the world-famous writer, is buried. Don't miss the unique view of Prague from the near Žižkov TV tower either from its restaurant (66 m) or the observation deck (93m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Theatrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Teatrino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing