We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location & value - may not be suited for summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Ranked #238 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location & value - may not be suited for summer”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel was very good for our needs, and I would recommend it although I would make note of some disadvantages/risks, that if you should simply know in advance. Other then those disadvantages, the room was nice, very clean, bathroom was spacious and without any hot water problems (on mornings wait 1-2 minutes but that's it), very nice, relaxing room for breakfasts and the buffet itself included all necessities (hot and cold breakfast food). It is also one tram stop from main prague train station (trams 9, 26 and 5) making it easy to reach when coming or exiting the city. Tram 9 itself is extremly useful when going in and out of the inner old city. Zizkov, the neighberhood, is very cool, monmartre-esque, with places to go and extremly close by restaurants and supermarkets to stock up cheaply (especially we recommend the sklep restaurant near by and even the "yes burger" for faster, cheaper, to-go lunches). People in the hotel were very pleasent.
Disadvantages:
Some rooms may be noisy, especially the ones facing the streets. That in itself would not be such a problem if the rooms had A/C (only heating). This is why I would not recommend this hotel in the summertime. We were in early june and it was basically ok but we kept at least one window open. Even in the patio section of the hotel you may hear street sounds (depending on your room orientation), but for the most part it wasn't too bad, and you always have ear plugs just in case your sleep is light.
The main things to note are the windows, which need to be kept open sometimes if it's too hot. In the patio section of the hotel they open to the terrace which is also the corridor. This will be a problem if early neighbours decide to talk loudly in there or, as happened to us once, smoke...
one more mention - the bathtub does not have a divider/curtain, so you may get a wet room after showering in standing position - but that's mainly due to me prefering showers over bathtubs.

free internet - by the way - available only in the lobby

anyway - if you don't care too much about the windows thing, or willing to take the risk - it's a recommended hotel at all times. If not, I would recommend it only when in cold weather.

Room Tip: room in hotel, not patio, not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Netzer_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    216
    118
    34
    10
See reviews for
67
195
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Located on the outside of the city centre in zizkov but in realistic terms a tram ride (one stop to a main railway station,another two stops to wenceslas sq) means that it is handy for sightseeing but in an area of real, everyday prague.

the hotel is in two sites, facing each other. We were located in the patio site which meant crossing the road for breakfast. The satellite site is secure, with cctv, well lit and keycard entry only by residents.

The staff are the usual happy hotel staff you get everywhere, reception provided a map and tram information without prompting to show you exactly where you are.

Breakfast is served buffet style, with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/hot milk - fruit and herbal teas. Frankfurter sausages and baked beans are hot. Boiled eggs and a selection of cheeses and hams as well as gherkins etc. Various breads, toaster and some poppyseed cakes too. Three types of diluting juice (multi vitamin, apple and orange) as well as water.

Rooms were cleaned daily, satellite tv, mini bar, tea/coffee in room with toiletries in the bathroom.

Out only gripe was the noise of the pipes , you could hear the water running when people washed their hands but then this is a very old building and the lack of sound proofing - or should that be guests who forget that there are other people around?

It is about a ten minute walk to Nadrazi Railway Station, all in all about 20mins into the main square. Three trams pass by into town (5,9,26). Area has a good selection of bars and restaurants.

free computer with printer in the main reception

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmarfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

On arrival for our four night visit, the lady on reception was extremely helpful, giving us a map and marking on the various landmarks and necessary tram routes and numbers.

Room 101 was just like a Premier Inn/Travelodge, albeit a little smaller, and the huge windows opened fully if necessary. There was tram and traffic noise throughout the night, although it didn't bother us. The beds/pillows weren't ideal for our preference, but might of course be just the job for others.

Free tea and coffee facilities were provided. There was a mini-bar, though prices were heavily inflated, so we bought our own stuff much cheaper from one of the off-licences down the road. We weren't pulled up for using the fridge.

Breakfast in the attractive basement theatre was fine, having the usual bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, and cereals, with beans and hot dogs as the "warm" option.

Wenceslas Square is about a 15-20 minute walk, or 5 minutes on tram 9 (stop just 80 yards down the street), which we tended to take (18kc (65p) each way for a 5 stop ticket), walking from there to the various attractions. We did buy a 24hr ticket (100kc (£3.60)) on one day when changing to tram 22 once across the river to go up to Prague Castle area (from which you easily walk back down to the centre).

The hotel has various amenities close by, including off-licences, ATMs and restaurants - including a decent Chinese 'Harmonie' just across the road, and the excellent atmosphere in the pub restaurant Pod Viktorkou 30 yards down the street, where great and well priced Bohemian food (the beef goulash and dumplings was awesome!) and drink (pound a pint!) was available.

All in all, we found the Ariston to be a clean, decent value hotel with friendly staff, a nice distance away from the centre. Should we ever return to Prague, we'd have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendle_Gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Went there for business. The hotel is quite charming and seems to be a former theater. The breakfast assortment was average but OK. The city center can be reached easily by foot in 15 minutes or by the streetcar in 5 minutes. The bathroom is modernized and clean. The staff was helpful in finding directions.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

After a terrible experience on our first day at Hotel Aureus Clavis we were looking for a place to stay for our final 2 nights. We found this hotel on Cheaptickets while we were in Prague and looked on tripadvisor to see the reviews and what people said. We took the tram to the hotel and they had availability for the 2 nights we needed a room. The woman was very helpful. While the location is in the New Town and a few stops from Wenceslas Square, the quality of the hotel makes it worth it. Plus a 5min tram ride to Wenceslas Square is easy and convenient. It is also easy to get to the airport from there as Tram 26 goes right to Dejvicka where you can catch Bus 116 to the airport. The staff at Ariston was great and helpful. The internet was free. The continental breakfast was nice. The hotel lobby was pretty. The rate was amazing at 49 Euros/night...what a great deal. Ariston Hotel is divided into 2 buildings with the other one on the other side of the street (Ariston Patio). That is where we stayed. The room is exactly what we needed after a terrible first night at Hotel Aureus Clavis. The room was clean, neat, and had all the amenities necessary. The bathroom was nice and a good size, the bed was big and comfy, the tv worked and had a lot of channels, there was a coffeemaker and tea, and just an overall comfortable room. It was a great place to stay at for our last 2 nights and we are very thankful for the hotel staff for being so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamsterdam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here for seven nights and have no major complaints. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and useful to have tea and coffee facilities along with a safe and a fridge. Breakfast was great, with a large continental selection and a relaxed atmosphere.

Room was a little warm and with the windows open, the trams a little noisy, but you get used to them. 20 min walk to Wenceslas Sq or 5 minutes on the no.9 tram. Two ATM's nearby and many small shops and bars.

Reception area had free wi-fi and although not advertised as free, managed to pick up a signal on the 5th floor.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed for four nights. Very good hotel reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet is good. Hotel staff was very helpful. The only problem was that it was very hot and the rooms did not have ac or a ceiling fan. Also our room was facing the street and the trams were very loud, so we were unable to keep the windows open. The hotel staff immediately moved us to a better room not over looking the street. The rooms are very large, has a minibar, bathrooms are great and very clean. Internet is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSM_0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#171 of 649 in Prague
398 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,125 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#244 of 649 in Prague
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Three Crowns Hotel
Three Crowns Hotel
#314 of 649 in Prague
645 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#254 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#161 of 649 in Prague
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio

Property: Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Address: Seifertova 615/65, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio disposes of 62 rooms and 54 romantic rooms in the style of belle epoque, situated in the patio of Zizkov typical house. The hotel features lobby with free Wi-Fi Internet and PC corner and a multi-purpose ballroom with unmistakable French charm and a capacity of 200 persons. For guests is available private parking. Tram stop in the proximity of the hotel. Railway Station is 5 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ariston And Ariston Patio
Ariston Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing