We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B, not a 4* hotel!”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #272 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The booking was made by our rail tour company and I had checked both Tripadvisor and the hotel website to see what amenities it had and decided that,although small, it was in a great location, ie in the lesser town near the Charles bridge. Unfortunately the website and Tripadvisor do not give the correct information. There is no bar, no restaurant, no ice machines etc. The rooms are a good size, well furnished with good AC, kettle and minibar. Double bed is two singles with comfortable, if soft, mattresses. The bathroom we had was excellent, good sized tub with shower attachment. Internet via wifi free and good bandwidth.
Breakfast average but is in the basement. The decor is drab, nothing like the rooms and reception areas, it smelt damp and was not somewhere I wanted to linger.
Staff all pleasant and helpful.
I would not have chosen this hotel if the website and Tripadvisor had been accurate. If you want a 4* hotel go somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is biggest disappoitment in my business "hotel life".
1. Car park - Hotel has no car park (on booking.com they wrote in Facilities that you need to pre book car park but nothing when you choose the room even receptionsit was 100% sure about that). After driving 1000 KM I have been send to another hotel and from there to car park spot (it took ca 30 -40 min - not much but 10 hours drive...)
2. Sevice - is not up to standard. Unpleasent, aggresive and not supportive (promissed to meet with hotel manager on departure but no manager came before my departure)
3. Room - it is pretty big but bathroom is ca 1,0 Sqm. The smallest I have ever seen. Simply you cannot use it.
4. Bed - very very old beds, with worn out matteraces (looks like from mid ages). Nearly cannot sleep - worst experience ever.
5. Breakfast - is very poor in smelly basement. Just had coffee and juice and run away
6. Internet connection - ss it was biz trip I need work. Internet WI FI is available but breaking every few seconds. For surfing it is not big issue (just annoying) for use VPN - impossible to work. All the time VPN was reconnecting due to lost connection. Better use McDonalds network just opposite the road.
7. Lift - so small that difficult to get in with lagguage and hardly working. Had 25Kg lagguage and need to handle by stairs (no help from hotel)
8. Location - hotel has great location next to Charles bridge but that i sonly 1 positive thing you can say about it
9. And it belongs to: Prestige Hotels of the World ??? Seems like big mistake

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear Mr.Zembowicz Maciej,
Thank you for your review and for all different comments respectively.

We would like to inform that our hotel is an old building which belongs to the famous historical protected buildings in Prague(see hotel webpage for more information).

Parking: we do have a parking lot in front of the hotel(see info from booking.com:Default Parking Public parking is possible at a location nearby) and as we do have limited places we´ve booked a space for your car in our hotel partner Hotel WILLIAM which is just few blocs from our hotel(here is the address:Hellichova 455/5,118 00 Praha1).

The room,you got was a standard double,big enough.we never had any complaint about the mattresses or internet access at the rooms otherwise the hotel director gona take the appropriate action immediately.

Other clarifications you could get them from the previous hotel reviews from each client who stayed and left the hotel satisfied by all our services.

Best regards.
Samir Nait Saidi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Traditional hotel in a great but quiet location v near Charles Bridge Rooms were large with plenty of character & modern bathrooms etc. Clean & comfortable. Staff helpful & friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkT376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel offers a great location by 1 block from the Charles Bridge. The rooms
are air conditioned and fairly large. great washrooms with a good shower.
The included breakfast was wonderful. great selection of changing food daily.
Rooms clean and beds comfortable.
Maid service was good but they failed to refresh the condiments in the room daily ie coffee
Very clean.
Front desk staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This beautiful hotel is situated 2 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge on a quiet road. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the rooms are not only beautiful, but kept clean. Breakfast is buffet, including a warm breakfast and cereal, fruit, cold meat and cheese. Rooms are a mixture of sizes and layouts, but are a good size.

Hotel laundry is on the expensive side. It would also be nice if there was more shelves in the bathroom and if there was a shower head holder at head height.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael_Rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. Thought it was very good value at the rate we got it though I should mention that was a special offer for 3+ nights (we staid 6) that worked out about £65 per night.
Good location, good breakfast, lovely room and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronanoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The location of the hotel is really great (1min walking distance from the Karls Bridge) but not in the crowd.
Big room big with good service.
Breakfast just in the standards.
Perfect solution if you want to spend one week end in Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#178 of 648 in Prague
369 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#69 of 648 in Prague
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#113 of 648 in Prague
324 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#72 of 648 in Prague
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £57 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing