We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False impression - but.....!”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #196 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Berks , England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“False impression - but.....!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Impression of hotel is grander than reality but we felt there was an authenticity about the building and we liked the decor and furnishings.
The photo of the bedroom shown unfortunately was not ours(!!) but our room (208) with its high ceilings seemed spacious enough and although small we had no complaints as we were out most of the time enjoying this wonderful city. Bed was comfortable and as in many continental hotels, we had 2 single duvets on the double bed - a very good idea! Found the room rather warm - a plus for most visitors I would think.
Staff were always more than helpful and friendly.
Breakfast basic but adequate: cereals / fresh fruit and yoghurt / continental meats and cheese / lovely fresh bread and rolls; would have been good if hot food was replenished by staff as one morning we arrived rather late to find little left. Not the full English - but this is the continent!
Excellent location. Good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    303
    98
    39
    51
See reviews for
105
429
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Small hotel near the Charles bridge, with lots of shops and restaurants within close walking distance. Very attentive desk staff, decent, traditional breakfast in the basement restaurant, and the room was clean with everything working.

Was a fine place for the 1 night I was there and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very nice hotel at the heart of Prague. Just 3min walk from Charles bridge!
Good breakfast and room was fitted with air-condition.
Nothing to complain really, recommended!
Hotel is old and dusty but value was great.
There is no restaurant or bar at the hotel but who cares, those are just around corner anyway.
For backpacking traveller like me hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hair-FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The booking was made by our rail tour company and I had checked both Tripadvisor and the hotel website to see what amenities it had and decided that,although small, it was in a great location, ie in the lesser town near the Charles bridge. Unfortunately the website and Tripadvisor do not give the correct information. There is no bar, no restaurant, no ice machines etc. The rooms are a good size, well furnished with good AC, kettle and minibar. Double bed is two singles with comfortable, if soft, mattresses. The bathroom we had was excellent, good sized tub with shower attachment. Internet via wifi free and good bandwidth.
Breakfast average but is in the basement. The decor is drab, nothing like the rooms and reception areas, it smelt damp and was not somewhere I wanted to linger.
Staff all pleasant and helpful.
I would not have chosen this hotel if the website and Tripadvisor had been accurate. If you want a 4* hotel go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is biggest disappoitment in my business "hotel life".
1. Car park - Hotel has no car park (on booking.com they wrote in Facilities that you need to pre book car park but nothing when you choose the room even receptionsit was 100% sure about that). After driving 1000 KM I have been send to another hotel and from there to car park spot (it took ca 30 -40 min - not much but 10 hours drive...)
2. Sevice - is not up to standard. Unpleasent, aggresive and not supportive (promissed to meet with hotel manager on departure but no manager came before my departure)
3. Room - it is pretty big but bathroom is ca 1,0 Sqm. The smallest I have ever seen. Simply you cannot use it.
4. Bed - very very old beds, with worn out matteraces (looks like from mid ages). Nearly cannot sleep - worst experience ever.
5. Breakfast - is very poor in smelly basement. Just had coffee and juice and run away
6. Internet connection - ss it was biz trip I need work. Internet WI FI is available but breaking every few seconds. For surfing it is not big issue (just annoying) for use VPN - impossible to work. All the time VPN was reconnecting due to lost connection. Better use McDonalds network just opposite the road.
7. Lift - so small that difficult to get in with lagguage and hardly working. Had 25Kg lagguage and need to handle by stairs (no help from hotel)
8. Location - hotel has great location next to Charles bridge but that i sonly 1 positive thing you can say about it
9. And it belongs to: Prestige Hotels of the World ??? Seems like big mistake

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Mr.Zembowicz Maciej,
Thank you for your review and for all different comments respectively.

We would like to inform that our hotel is an old building which belongs to the famous historical protected buildings in Prague(see hotel webpage for more information).

Parking: we do have a parking lot in front of the hotel(see info from booking.com:Default Parking Public parking is possible at a location nearby) and as we do have limited places we´ve booked a space for your car in our hotel partner Hotel WILLIAM which is just few blocs from our hotel(here is the address:Hellichova 455/5,118 00 Praha1).

The room,you got was a standard double,big enough.we never had any complaint about the mattresses or internet access at the rooms otherwise the hotel director gona take the appropriate action immediately.

Other clarifications you could get them from the previous hotel reviews from each client who stayed and left the hotel satisfied by all our services.

Best regards.
Samir Nait Saidi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Traditional hotel in a great but quiet location v near Charles Bridge Rooms were large with plenty of character & modern bathrooms etc. Clean & comfortable. Staff helpful & friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkT376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel offers a great location by 1 block from the Charles Bridge. The rooms
are air conditioned and fairly large. great washrooms with a good shower.
The included breakfast was wonderful. great selection of changing food daily.
Rooms clean and beds comfortable.
Maid service was good but they failed to refresh the condiments in the room daily ie coffee
Very clean.
Front desk staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#176 of 649 in Prague
353 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#126 of 649 in Prague
308 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#74 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing