We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #275 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for 11 days in February 2014. Fantastic location right next to the Charles bridge. Breakfast each morning was an all you can eat both continental and fried buffet washed down with fresh juice, tea or coffee, really did set you up for the day. My room was great, lovely big comfortable bed and lovely ensuite facilities. The staff were fantastic so friendly and helpfull a real joy. Made my staff so relaxing and enjoyable. I've stayed in Prague a few times at different hotels but this particular hotel has been my favourite by far. To top off the great rooms and help full staff there's also free WiFi. What can I say to complain about - nothing, perfect in every respect. Can't wait to go back and I'll definitely be staying here at my favourite hotel. Thanks for making my holiday so perfect and for all your help 5 stars

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank tracymscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for such a great review.
I am very pleased to read that we managed to meet all your wishes.

Please do not forget to book directly on our website once you go again to Prague.

Best regards from your hotel The Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anna16H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Charles Hotel is a great base for exploring Prague...... Just off the Charles Bridge, in the shadow of the castle and within easy walking distance of the Old Town Square. The rooms are spacious and spotless, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. It was our second stay, and we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed in room 301, located an outside corner. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was in the basement (read a bit on the chilly side and musty) and food was only OK. Rolls were stale 3 days in a row. Noise was a problem in the room. The bar crowd echoed off the surrounding brick buildings on the street and made sleeping a challenge for me but not for my girlfriend... Most theaters would love to have acoustics that good:) Location was excellent! View out the room was great.

Room Tip: Get a room off the street. I requested a quiet room at booking and I think we got the loudest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a320Capt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

we stayed for 3 days in this hotel. the staff were very friendly. it is forbidden to smoke but if you want to smoke anyway, you have to pay extra money for room cleaning while checking out. the breakfast was really good, everything was fresh. the only thing i was uncomfortable just for one night was there was a family with two babies at the next room so we couldn't sleep for a while. except this, everything was good and clean. the hotel is very close to the charles bridge so you can reach transportation vehicles so easily.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xchimerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great hotel just next to the fabulous Charles Bridge. Intimate and cute, with a certain charm to it. Nice staff, good breakfast, beautiful rooms with high ceilings and very comfortable bedding. Good Czech 4* standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arielapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved Prague and the hotel seemed very comfortable and beautifully furnished and we were very happy with our room and the staff etc. However the first night, we were woken up about 2am by very loud music and talking just below our window. There is a night club just there on the street and if you are in a room just above the Entrance/Reception you will be woken by the noise. Everyone was out smoking or waiting for taxis with no regard for anyone sleeping nearby. We complained to staff the next morning and were immediately moved to a room on the next floor up but sadly it was no better. We had to complain again and the manager was at the Reception and immediately said there was no problem and that he would move our cases and us up to a room around the corner above the next street and we would not hear any noise. It was obviously a problem they had seen before. At least the staff were supportive and moved us but it took two moves to get a good night's sleep! However, apart from that, it was all great.

Room Tip: Not at the front above the night club!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#176 of 647 in Prague
369 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#85 of 647 in Prague
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#129 of 647 in Prague
324 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#71 of 647 in Prague
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £56 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing