We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #261 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Charles Hotel from 12.01.2011 for 3 nights. Everything was as described in terms of location, friendliness, cleanliness and the breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. There was, however, one problem. We were in room 304 on the third floor, overlooking what could be described as the main road. The noise at night, was quite loud from other tourists returning to their hotels late at night. Their voices were very loud and were funnelled up towards us by the high buildings. We were woken on a number of occassions as a result of this. I found that the problem was down to insulation of the windows into their frames. There was none and consequently there was no sound proofing at all. I dont know if this was exclusive to our room, or was universal for all windows. Other than this, everything was perfect. Please Mr Manager, sort the windows and I will give you 5 Stars all round. Yes, I would stay there again !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

This was our third "Christmas market trip" to Prague, and this time we went with our daughter and son-in-law. This hotel is full of character, and on arrival we were a little apprehensive that we might have made a bad choice - not your usual hotel entrance, and opposite a club!
But our fears were totally unjustified. There was a little singing in the street in the early hours of Sunday - but everyone has got to have there fun - overall a good night's sleep.
We were in rooms 403/4 - in the roof space with exposed beams, although the rooms and bathrooms had been recently modernised and decorated. With temperatures of minus 10 we had anticipated cold rooms - especially based on recent UK hotel experiences - but again unfounded fears. We had to turn radiators down - very efficient heating.
Just down the road is Charles Bridge - and then 15 minutes stroll to the Old Town Square. Up the road is St.Nicholas Cathedral and in front there is a tram stop - tram tickets from the antique shop to the left of the tram stop after crossing the road.
15 minutes up the hill (quite steep) is Prague Castle. Lots of bars and choice of restaurants in short walking distance of hotel. (And McDonalds but please. . .)
Breakfast was OK - at busy times choice of cooked food not available - sometimes cold - but plenty to eat - and one man very efficiently kept everyone happy. Very attentive to us us 2 couples - moving people so we could sit together - maybe there reviews not so favourable!?
Athough we paid only £56 per room per night (B & B) I would pay more to ensure I could stay here as our No.1 choice on our next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

The spacious characterful room at The Charles complimented the city itself. I loved the wooden painted beams & the obviously renovated bathroom. We weren't disturbed in getting up leisurely , & the breakfast room was run efficiently by one gentleman , who also turned up on reception.There was a reasonable & fresh choice at the breakfast buffet. The hotel is located 2 minutes from the Charles Bridge , ditto the nearest tram stop.
Public transport is the best deal on offer in the City & we moved almost effortlessly from Airport to hotel via 119 bus & 2 metro stops with a little walk at the end ( no suitcases involved).Least impressive were the Christmas Markets , There wasn't much except in the Old Town Square. However, Prague itself with a sprinkling of snow on top of every building was suitably festive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We had five nights at the Charles Hotel and loved it. It even exceeded our expectations as a hotel in a very old building of character, with timbered ceilings in attractively decorated rooms, as well as very modern, spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was also good. Its central location was good for walking up to the castle and over the bridge into the old town.
We booked online through hprg.cz and received prompt, good service in getting the kind of rooms we'd requested, and also with booking a car and driver to take us to Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryR7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The location is great, just 3 minutes' walk from the Charles Bridge. I stayed in the attic room 403. The lift only reaches up to the 3rd floor so I had to walk up to the 4th floor every time. Not a big problem for me. I travelled alone so the room (with a double bed) was big enough for me but it might be a bit small for two people. The shower and the toilet were in separate rooms on either side of the door. They were ok, just a bit strange. The in-room free wifi was great (also there was a share-use PC at the lobby), and there was an air-conditioner in the room. I spent five nights there and it seemed that the sheet was changed on Day 4. Fresh towels every day, though. Breakfast was good, but the hot food was not hot enough. Overall a good experience, and no complaint, really.

BTW, I liked the italian restaurant across the street very much. and ate there almost every night. A cozy place with reasonably priced good food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyskylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel is fabulous, its stumbling distance from the Charles Bridge but out of the way enough to lose the tourist crowd. The staff is wonderful ,breakfast is great, our room was buautiful and spacious. Free internet, awesome toiletries and a comfy bed. I can't wait to go back to Prague and when we do we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Excellent, that just about sums up the Charles Hotel. We found the staff friendly & helpful. The location, just off the Charles Bridge, couldn't be better. The Hotel has a very long & interesting history, ask at reception & they will print it off for you. Our room was large, clean, & had some interesting old features, beamed ceiling with painted pannels. The bathroom, though tiny, was very modern, very clean, & had all those little extras that the ladies like.
Breakfast was taken in a vaulted celler. There was a very good selection of food but was let down by the "hot" food which really wasn't. Even at 7 in the morning when it was brought out, it was barely aired. Put this on a cold plate & you can imagine the result. It cannot be beyond the witt of man to come up with a plate warmer. This is my pet hate in many hotels & restaurants through out the world. However, don't let this put you off, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your break in Prague.
We ate each evening at the restaurant directly opposite the Hotel door. A nive ambience. Good food, either Italian or Czech. Great beer too. Why fo further afield when you can find what you want on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#219 of 646 in Prague
848 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#38 of 646 in Prague
861 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Old Royal Post
Old Royal Post
#276 of 646 in Prague
58 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £38 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing