We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AWFUL!!!!!!! NOVEMBER 2011 DON'T STAY HERE.”
Review of Hotel City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel City Inn
Ranked #570 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JUST AWFUL!!!!!!! NOVEMBER 2011 DON'T STAY HERE.”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights for a romantic get away - oh dear - this was not to be!! On arriving the receptionist didn't even look up from her desk to greet us, had a face like a wet weekend and was just miserable! So much for first impressions - had they forgotten how to smile!!!!. We were given a room on the fourth floor, which had two single beds screwed to opposite walls - we had specifically asked for a double. On asking the miserable receptionist if we could change she was very reluctant to and told us to come back the following day. On doing this, but she then told us there were no available rooms and that we should have done it first thing in the morning- this she did not explain to us and as we were only there for 2 days we didn't want to hang around wasting time. We remained in the same room. The room was okay, reasonably clean, but it just stank of cigarette smoke, which was just awful - not what a non-smoking couple want to be greeted with first thing in the morning and last thing at night. The smokers seemed to congrugate in the hallway outside our room and were very noisy, we even had to climb over the cleaners, who were sitting on the floor directly outside the lift doors, whilst they were having their fag break. We have both stayed in better hostels than this so called hotel. Three star it most certainly isn't!!!!!!! It was more like a doss house. Oh and the lift broke down - oh happy days!

Room Tip: Book another hotel -please!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmandymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    82
    128
    54
    80
See reviews for
47
132
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Me and my 4 friends got moved to this hotel even though we booked another hotel (which was booked with www.lowcostholidays.com BEWARE). After a 3 hour delay I was very disappointed when arriving at the hotel. The rooms were small, beds uncomfy but most of all the noise was terrible! None of us barely slept while we stayed (which was 4 nights) It is situated right next to a train station which has constant noise even at 3am!! The bathrooms were also terrible. The shower you had to hold up yourself and when you ran the tap of the sink water came out of both the sink and shower hole. Me and my friends found that the shower constantly smelt of excrement!! However, the cleaners were helpful and always had clean towels and bins. Although the cleaners and staff were friendly it could not change the overall disappointment of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley6099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The City Inn is in a nice position next to the historic center. The City Inn has a good breakfast. The hotel is clean.
The instalations are very old and the bathroom is very small. The room doesn't have air conditioner. The staff are nice and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mago962003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Everything was as it is supposed to be in this hotel.
I would gladly stay here again.
A minus is that there was only internet in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaVats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I´ve stayed in the hotel in may 2011, price for the rooms was really great ,hotel is clean and breakfast rich,nothing too luxury but for ordinary people very suitable.Staff is polite and friendly.Definetly will comeback. Helen.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helena274924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

It may be cheap, but if you are unfortuante enough to stay in room 406 (effectively in the attic), then be prepared to sweat!! The hottest room I've ever experienced, even with the window wide open. Also, we asked for a twin room and our second bed was actually a fold down arm chair about 18 inches wide!!!!! It's no wonder my friend destroyed his back over three nights of agonising sleep.

The hotel didn't even own an ironing board; clearly big spenders. Still, the gaggle of cleaners chainsmoking on our floor was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth Garden City, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We paid around £45 per night for a double room. Hotel is in a good location - about 10 minutes walk to the old town square and next to tram and metro stops and a mainline station. Basic accommodation but clean with a substantial breakfast included in the price. You could hear the station announcements from the adjoining train station but these finished about 11pm and didn't disturb our sleep. If you're looking for budget accommodation in a good location then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jab155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#587 of 649 in Prague
317 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#220 of 649 in Prague
612 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#581 of 649 in Prague
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 649 in Prague
354 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#131 of 649 in Prague
1,473 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Zlata Vaha
Hotel Zlata Vaha
#295 of 649 in Prague
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Inn

Property: Hotel City Inn
Address: Hybernska 1014/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City Inn is located in a historical building from the 19th century directly in the heart of the city near the Main Railway Station only a 10-15 minutes walk from one of the Prague’s main boulevard Wenceslas Square or the beautiful Old Town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing