We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel like the plague!!!”
Review of Hotel City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel City Inn
Ranked #573 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel like the plague!!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in the 66 countries I have visited worldwide! Crammed, tiny rooms with no bathroom, just I closed off area off the room, with a toilet and a hose!!The beams in the attic obstruct your access to bed, so you have to crawl in and out to sleep! And if you want to get out of bed in the middle of the night, God forbid, you would be lucky if you do not have a big bump on your head for the rest of your holidays! The breakfast, Soviet style, with the absolute minimum, and signs all over not to steal breakfast to take it with you, as if you would with the appealing taste of it! I would not give it to my dog let alone eat it as a doggie bag!
Shame they offer such poor accomodation in such price (102E a night) in such a beautiful city!Reconsider your prices, 20Ea night is more than enough and please install a lift to your top fllors so we do not have to drag suitcases in 3 flights of stairs!!!
Thank you for such an uncomfortablle stay, it made our Xmas holidays sparkle!!

Room Tip: simply not to choose this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigoni-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    81
    124
    54
    79
See reviews for
47
128
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

best deal for 1-2 nights stay in prague. 5 mins walk to palladium (best shopping centre in prague) and main train station.
staff was helpful, good breakfast, free wifi in lobby. the only problem you should consider - you hear every step in room next to yours, its too noisy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbulavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights here in March 2013. The room was comfortable and quiet. We were on the 2nd floor (same floor as reception) and overlooking the tram stops, but we were not disturbed by any noise. The bathroom was clean and good.
The electric socket i wanted to use to recharge my phoe would only work when the lights were on!

Breakfast was very reasonable (included in the price of the room) in that there was pleanty to eat and drink. The usual Czech breakfast of bread, rohliky, cheese and ham was there, and also cereals. Hot parky (sausages of a low quality) were also available. Plenty of tea and coffee and a rather watery fruit drink. It was buffet-style, so you could eat as much as you wanted. There were small tubs of spread/butter/jams etc and nice šumava bread.

There was free wifi in the reception area, or you could have wifi in your room for a small charge.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great, tram stops around the corner from the hotel entrance, a Metro station there too, and a railway station for trips to surrounding towns (a train to Nelahozeves via Kralupy is well worth the trip - the chateau is very interesting, as is the small museum in Dvořák's birthplace. You can walk back to Kralupy along the river on a pathway the composer walked.)

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChriJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkeakoski, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were actually surprised about the value we got with this hotel. Everything is in good basic level, quite OK breakfast, room was simple but clean and the location is good. Maybe the reception staff could be a bit more friendly and attentive. With the price we paid this hotel was good value anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrij2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

3-star hotel just near the Masarykova train station, 5-10 minutes walk to the historical part of the city (that was super). Also there is a mini-market just across the street. The hotel is run down a little, but for the price/location was ok (60 euro/night for double room).

The reception is on the 2nd floor, so we need to take a lift (which is quite slow). It took a while until we got the room keys because we had first to fill in some forms.

The room we got was N.412, with skewed ceiling just under the roof. The room was quite small, with double bed, 2 small bedside-tables, one writing-table, 2 chairs, a wardrobe and an additional folding bed inside. The WC and shower were, hmmm, really joined :) I mean the shower was installed just directly within the bathroom wall, without any drip pad - there was only a drain in the floor and additional sliding door made over the bathroom door. Looked funny for us :) And there were no shower holder so I had to soap and wash myself separately...

Anyway, it was really cold outside, but the room was however warm enough. Despite the train and tram stations just at the corner, it was not noisy at all. Wifi had to be paid separately, around 3 euro/day. Breakfast included, nothing special, some ham, sausages, coffee, muffins etc - just ok for the price and quality. Juice was really bad (probably they took the cheapest powder one).

Room Tip: Check in after 14-00, check out before 12-00. Room is to be payed in cash (euro or Czech crowns) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The location is great. That's the only positive aspect about this hotel. The receptionist did speak a bit of English, but really only a bit. They waitress did'nt speak English at all. The personnel was unfriendly, they seemed annoyed by foreign guests and you'll wait in vain for a good morning or goodbye.

Room Tip: If you want a cheap room, you should go to a hostel, they have private rooms. They are even cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we were allocated this hotel as part of a stag package,on first arrival,the hotel looks rundown,a very old rickety lift takes you to reception which is strangely on the second floor,the receptionist was surly and unhelpful,our room was very dated and poorly furnished,although I must say quite clean,we were on bed and breakfast the dining room was clean and the continental breakfast adequate,this hotel is very close to all city center attractions,walking time about 10 mins,having stayed in prague several times,this was very poor ,although as I have said the proximity is good,and would as we found be tolerable for a couple of nights if it comes at the right price.

Room Tip: dont stay here,as there are plenty of well priced more welcoming hotels in prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#584 of 649 in Prague
312 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#574 of 649 in Prague
144 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#216 of 649 in Prague
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,456 reviews
Praha 2
City Central Hotel
City Central Hotel
#558 of 649 in Prague
346 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Inn

Property: Hotel City Inn
Address: Hybernska 1014/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City Inn is located in a historical building from the 19th century directly in the heart of the city near the Main Railway Station only a 10-15 minutes walk from one of the Prague’s main boulevard Wenceslas Square or the beautiful Old Town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing