We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and a great hotel for a break in Prague”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #83 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Prague.

We have just returned from a 4 night break. Having trawled through Tripadvisor and balancing it against our budget we decided to go to the Cloister Inn.

This hotel is in a fantastic location to discover Prague. You can easily discover the city on foot and there are a number of great restaurants close by to enjoy on an evening.

We had room 207 which was a large double room, very comfortable with the basic amenities and was very clean. A nice touch of a free can of lager and two small bottles of water on arrival and a Major plus point is the free wifi in the room.

The hotel has a lovely lounge in the reception area where you can get free coffee and access to Internet via two computers and also wifi. People used this regularly and it had a nice relaxing feel to enjoy a coffee at the end of a day of sightseeing.

Staff very friendly, approachable and happy to help.

Breakfast was adequate. Very nice and fresh, nothing fantastic but nothing to whinge about either. It set me up for the day!

Definitely a winner if you want a clean, comfortable and central location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Cloister Inn for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. I booked the room after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor and it was great. We were 3 adults traveling and on arrival, we received a room with 2 single beds and a sofa which wasn’t that comfortable so after the first 2 nights we asked if it was possible to move to a room with 3 single beds. The receptionist said it was not a problem and by that afternoon we moved to a different room. Booth rooms were large enough for 3 adults, were very clean and had a TV, A/C and a central heating system. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to Charles Bridge (about a 5 minute walk) and the Old Town Square (around 15 min. walk) and there are plenty of good restaurants in the hotels vicinity. Great stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ora145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the Cloister Inn from September 30 to October 5, 2011. The room was on the upper floor and had large beams in the center of the room. It was a large room and the room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable. We slept well. The hotel has good security and a safe in the room. The entrance to the hotel is monitored by someone all during the day when the main door opens automatically. At night, the door is locked and the receptionist must open the door when buzzed. In addition to the main door, you must use your key to open the inner door which leads to the elevator and the rooms. We had no problem with the elevator even though it was a little slow. There is a police station about 2 block away.
The hotel is in a great location in the old town section. It was a short walk to the main square of the old town and a short walk to the tram stop, especially for tram No. 22 which goes to the lesser town and the castle. The same tram stop has several other tram lines that stop at that location as well. The Charles Bridge is also within walking distance.
The hotel has a wonderful coffee machine in the lobby that is available 24 hours and the machine dispenses espresso, coffee latte and cappuccino with a press of the button. There are pottery cups and saucers for use rather than some paper or styrofoam. There are two computers in the lobby that are free for use to check your email and other sites (including your bank).
The breakfasts were adequate but disappointing. The breakfasts featured cereals, bread, meat cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, milk, a coffee machine similar to that in the lobby, and a juice machine. However, the eggs were hard boiled rather than soft boiled and the fruit salad was canned fruit salad. There were fresh quartered oranges which were quite good. The breakfasts we had in Vienna and Salzburg were much better. At times the breakfast room was crowded and it is best to go when it opens at 7:30.
The staff was helpful and accommodating. However, our room was not cleaned the last two days. We usually came back to the room for an afternoon nap after 2 pm and twice we found the room was not cleaned. We called down to the reception for more towels on those days and they were delivered to our room promptly. They offered to clean our room but we weren't concerned about the lack of room cleaning because it wasn't that dirty anyway.
There was a tiny, stone rotunda Catholic chapel and the end of the block and they have mass there twice weekly. We went to the mass (which was all in Czech) on Tuesday at 6 pm and it was one of the highlights of our Prague visit. There was a community of many young people and they were welcoming and friendly and some spoke English. Even though the mass was in Czech, we could understand what was going on even though we didn't understand the readings or the homily. The chapel was built in the early 12th century and had some faded wall murals and an old altar piece. It wasn't great art but it was charming.
Overall, the Cloister Inn was acceptable and comfortable. We would stay there again on our next trip to Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago and had a good time while we stayed. There was some work going on in the hotel near our room but we asked if we could be moved and it was not a problem. Breakfast is excellent! Great location too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom_b84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The hotel was well located in the Old Town of Prague in close proximity to attractions and places to eat and drink. The service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful but be prepared to climb steps, we were on the top floor. There are elevators however they are slow and not of great capacity. Free Wifi was great and the rooms were comfortably appointed. All in all it was a good stay. Must try the CP1 cafe which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Great coffee and mulled wine, especially on a 8c day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a useful tourist grade hotel in an excellent location, exactly as advertised. No great luxuries, but very clean and well maintained, plus safes in the rooms and free wifi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. When booking, avoid rooms in the "A" section. It's a long hike involving 2 elevators, the second of which holds only 2 people. Also, breakfast is rather basic. Nevertheless, we would recommend it as very good base for exploring Prague.

Room Tip: Avoid the "A" section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Once again I've chosen the hotel by tripadvisor reviews and once again I am glad I did so.
The location of the hotel is very nice, in the old town, but a bit away from the noise, so had no problem sleeping. The old town square and Charles bridge is 5-7 mins away.
The room was very basic but in a good condition, as it was said here already the furniture has a cheap feeling, but lets not forget that its a 3* hotel which to me for example cost 57 euro per night and after all I only spent my nights there being away all day walking around the city. so had no problem with that either.
Free wi-fi however was a total disaster, had to log in every 3 minutes which was very annoying. Honestly I ended up going to Starbucks every day to check my e-mail...
Breakfasts were a bit disappointing too. Also the breakfast room can be overcrowded at some point, but I guess that was simply because the hotel was fully booked at the time of my stay.
Overall I think i totally got what I've paid for. Just don't expect a 3* to have all the 5* amenities and it will work :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#90 of 649 in Prague
562 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 649 in Prague
835 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#212 of 649 in Prague
978 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#76 of 649 in Prague
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Prague
#89 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £45 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing