We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #94 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Large clean room = tick. Friendly helpful informative staff who are really obliging = tick. Breakfast included with plenty of choices and good quality = tick. Pleasant lounge reception area with free tea, coffee, etc = tick. Handy to central city, trams and good cafes = tick. Staff made it easy to do business with them and were helpful when booking tours and transfers. Loved my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    814
    138
    24
    8
See reviews for
249
1,027
86
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The positives:

Location superb...near all the interesting sights

Bedrooms comfortable and quiet (in spite of World Cup apparently going on in the outside world) Loved the pillows that others have complained about :)

The pleasant lounge/library by reception with its constant supply of coffee, hot chocolate and a variety of teas (including decaffeinated)

Receptionists multilingual, courteous, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast good variety of healthy and delicious food and drink

Surrounded by a variety of cafes and restaurants with inexpensive and excellent food and drink.

Negative:

Regretted not booking a longer stay.


Will recommend to others and plan to return. Thank you for a lovely holiday base

Room Tip: Some rooms might not be suitable for those with mobility problems so best mention this when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bariom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

the weather was great and there was no aircon in the room.
We were on the 4th floor and the lift only took 2 people at a time so occassionally we had to walk up.No problem we are fit and hey we are on holiday.
The breakfast was good with a variety and plenty of fruit juices to choose from.
The hotel is very central close to the charles bridge and lose enough to all the other attractions ...I mean what is a 10-15 minute walk?
yes the tea and coffee machine was down in reception area but that is fine and the internet worked great.
So close to resturants,the Astronomical clock,the bridge,and tours.
Yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the lowest floor to save walking up if you dont like too much stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jeffshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avoda, Manager at Cloister Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your positive comment. Just let me to clarify your comment about missing air conditioning. All our rooms and public areas are air-conditioned. Hopefully, you will choose our hotel for your next stay in Prague again so we can prove it to you.

Kind regards from Cloister Inn,
Veronika Saavedra
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were checked in by a very helpful and informative receptionist who offered us a welcoming drink, city map and directions. Our room was 320 situated just reception overlooking the main. Everything was spotlessly clean including the bathroom which looked as if it had just been fully redecorated. The high ceiling room was furnished with chairs, a desk and a very low level queen size bed which turned out to be quite firm. Noise from the hotel and bar across the street could be quite intrusive but was almost fully illuminated by closing the windows and double glazing. Continental style breakfast was served on the fourth floor. A good range of food was available from a buffet style counter and included cheeses, hams, boiled eggs, cereals and yoghurt. The usual fruit, tea and coffee also on tap. The hotel conveniently placed within 5 minute walk from the river, Wenceslas Square and the astrological clock. A slightly more comfortable bed and I would given a good as opposed to an average rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel. Noise does travel in this quiet neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I visited Prague in May 2014 and had an exceptional stay at the Cloister Inn Hotel. The front desk staff are knowledgeable, friendly, multilingual and eager to assist in making concert ticket, city tour and taxi arrangements. It is possible to purchase postcards and stamps at the front desk from where your mail can also be posted. The hotel is very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable with its brilliant white sheets and cozy duvet. The hotel is centrally located making it possible to explore Prague on foot. The front lobby offers free internet stations and a wide variety of complimentary tea and specialty coffee available around the clock. The included breakfast was delicious, very generous and amply covered all four food groups. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Cloister Inn 15/6 - 19/6 to celebrate our birthdays. After initially losing our way, we came across the Cloister Inn and were impressed with the immaculate reception, and equally the room. The accommodation was spacious, homely and comfortable. The roomy shower facilities were fantastic and the air con system was most welcome, as we were treated to fine weather throughout the stay. Location wise, Cloister Inn cannot be faulted, we were within walking distance of every attraction and convenience, although we did "tram it" up to the castle. The reception provides any travel fares/stamps you may need and also a handy map. All members of staff were super friendly and helpful, especially Adam on reception. Breakfast was varied and of good quality. The only small detail was no coffee/tea facilities within the rooms, there is a free hot drink machine however within a lounge area next to reception. This is just personal preference and would not affect all travellers. A word of caution for travellers using the local taxi service, please only use the yellow vehicles signed with AAA on the side, as we were unfortunate to use a dark Mondeo with a taxi driver who charged us 477kc to go to hotel. We later realised it was such a short distance and a ridiculous price. An error we will never repeat!!! All in all, a pleasant city break :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross-jenkins84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location - Absolutely perfect for us. In a quiet, picturesque part of the Old Town but plenty of bars and restaurants within a minute or two's walk. 5 minutes through the quieter back streets to Charles Bridge, 5 minutes up to Old Town Square. The castle is also definitely walking distance if you fancy it, about 40 minutes or so but the walk is beautiful.

Room - Pleasant and has everything you need. Mini-fridge and safe included, air con was very powerful and fantastic to come back to after a day trekking around in 35 degree heat! No problems with the bed or the bathroom/shower (although the cubicle was fairly small). Our room was on the second floor looking out onto the street which was pleasant and no noise disturbance whatsoever.

Staff - Really friendly and attentive, they were more than happy to give advice regarding directions, transport (they sold public transport tickets there and although we didn't use the tram/metro other guests were very grateful for this as I think the ticket-buying process can be quite confusing) and recommendations for eating/drinking.

Other - The breakfast was good - pastries/toast, cereals, fruit, cold meat, juice and tea/coffee. There was a massive selection there so should suffice even for fussy eaters and it was a good way to stock up for the day and allow a late lunch! The hot drinks from the machine in the lobby were really nice and personally I would much prefer this to having a mini-kettle to make rubbish instant drinks in the room. They give you the password for the wi-fi in the rooms and the lobby when you check in and they have 3 computers and even have a printer!

Overall I was really impressed with this hotel, especially so considering my high expectations from the previous reviews. I don't think you could really ask for much more for this price. If you're looking for a pleasant and convenient place to use as a base and for a few hours in the day then I would have absolutely no hesitation recommending Cloister Inn.

Room Tip: Room 220 was lovely - quiet but pleasant little view onto the street with no noise problems from ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
517 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#102 of 649 in Prague
602 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing