We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business choice in Prague - but no charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Prague
Ranked #163 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Business choice in Prague - but no charm”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I came to Prague for a business conference, and for that, the Corinthia Hotel is great choice - in that it can accommodate hundreds of people and business services, conference rooms with moveable walls and breakout areas for coffee. Beyond business, however I would choose something different. The location of the hotel was a couple of miles from the downtown and not in any interesting area of the city, which made it too far to walk for an afternoon of sightseeing. However, there is a subway stop just outside the front door that was very easy to navigate and took you to old Prague in just a few stops. The large (included) buffet breakfasts had many choices of hot and cold items including eggs, meat, cheese, cereal, fruit and vegetables, and what seemed to be "day old" Pancakes. (Seriously the edges were so hard you couldn't cut them with a knife). The rooms were nice yet plain, and carried a LOT of street noise. I was on the 23rd or 24 floors, and all though the day and night I could hear sirens and car horns. THe bathrooms need updating and are vey small with plastic counters. The sink was warn and had large brown stains in it. The bathtub was so narrow on the water spout end that every time you took a shower you stepped on the large drain and closed it. There was no way to turn around while talking a shower and I have normal size women's feet. This was especially annoying as the water temperature continually changes from burning hot to freezing cold.
The hotel service was (mostly) excellent in that they were available and very helpful when it came to all things "conference". The front desk staff was delightful! the concierge staff was also very nice and helpful, but after inquiring about a dinner reservation - which they were unable to secure any of the six or seven recommendations I requested (based on reviews of this site, yelp, etc) sent me to a very mediocre and VERY expensive Italian Restaurant (see my other reviews). I was quite bothered by this thinking they sent me to the most expensive restaurant they could for their own kickback. I did have a massage at the spa which was quite lovely but shorter than the advertised hour. the work out facilities were fine. In all if you are in prague for a business meeting, then this hotel is fine. If you are in prague with friends or family to see the beautiful city. I would recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible with a double or king bed. Bring your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    1,249
    474
    143
    68
See reviews for
357
1,417
153
712
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Corinthia is a reasonable "Business Hotel", but you can do better for pleasure...

Pros: Excellent conference capabilities.
- There are a variety of conferencing facilities which should satisfy a group of almost any size.
- There are several restaurants on-premises, each offering some fine fare and good drinks.
- The access to the "Metro" and on-premises garage should make coming/going easy. The "Metro" has the added bonus of getting you into downtown for recreation easy and quick.
- The staff was attentive and professional.
- The breakfast buffet was awesome.

Cons: The rooms need some "elbow grease"... Our first room was so inconvenient as to cause us to request a change. Almost everything that needs fixing could be fixed for a budget of e200 per room.
- The shower plumbing leaked.
- The air-conditioning was either off or not functioning (the fan worked).
- The power outlets were very sparse. Either add a few in the room (near the beds and desk) or change the lamps so that they have power outlets in them.
- The WiFi was not very strong throughout the hotel (although it was quicker in the lobby and conferencing areas). My mobilephone off the mobile carrier was far faster.
- My wife didn't like the decor, but I thought it was fine for a business hotel. If you want "ambiance", select a hotel downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just returned from a week in Prague and stayed the entire time at the Corinthia; we could not have asked for a nicer place. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast buffet had something for everyone, and the staff was soooo helpful and knowledgable. The one weak spot was the lack of a reading lamp (or a bright light bulb), and when I mentioned it to the supervisor of guest services (He had asked for suggestions for improvement), we had a reading lamp delivered to our room within minutes! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The few other rooms that I peeked at were all very good; both suites and single rooms. The higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDionne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Although primarily a "business hotel", this is also a good, reasonably priced hotel to use as a base for sightseeing.

Located at Vysehrad, it is just two stops on the metro from Muzeum (Wenceslas Square). From there you can walk down the shopping street into the Old Town. The metro is right opposite the hotel entrance, and day-tickets can be purchased from the concierge desk at the hotel. (Tickets must be validated at the yellow boxes located in the station.)

The hotel offers a taxi service which, although a little expensive compared to other local taxi companies, is very efficient. We used this service on several occasions and could not fault it. Charges can be posted to the hotel bill or paid direct to the driver.

Our room was on the 18th floor - with magnificent views over the area. The bedroom was clean and spacious, the beds very comfortable, and there was more than enough storage. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as well as a safe and mini-bar. A modern flat-screen TV (with numerous channels) was provided in the room. Air-con is also provided in the bedroom.

The bathroom, although a bit dated, was more than adequate. A very good variety of toiletries were provided in the bathroom. A good, powerful hairdryer is also provided.

There is a very good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast.

We dined in The Grill one evening. Although quite expensive, the food was absolutely superb and the service was excellent and friendly.

The Blue Note Bar was a nice area to enjoy a drink or coffee - again the service was friendly and efficient.

Most of the staff at the Corinthia Prague were efficient, friendly and aimed to go that extra mile for the customer. I thoroughly enjoyed my five day stay here and would definitely recommend it.

If you have the time, a visit to the local area is definitely recommended - maps are available from the concierge desk. From the site of the historical fort, overlooking the Vltava River, the views are absolutely breathtaking. Ensure you take your camera!

I would also recommend a visit to the superb local restaurant "U Kroka". A very popular restaurant (reservation needed) that serves delicious food at a very, very reasonable cost. (See separate review.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurotraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Prague is a beautiful city. I was at this hotel for a conference in Oct 2013 and it was adequate. The rooms were comfortable (if overheated) and the whole thing worked. The only thing missing was an adequacy of power outlets: you could power your laptop or have the desk light on, not both at the same time. Views from the window were lovely. There is a Metro station just outside the front door and ready access to the sites meant that the short free time available was able to be used very efficiently.

Breakfast in the restaurant (Let's Eat) was pretty good without being spectacular. Overall, a good conference destination and probably would work for families as well.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Transplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Quick recap - For the price, this is without a doubt THE place to stay in Prague hands down. For less than 150Euros per night (3 night stay) I got a fantastic two room suite on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge, free wi-fi, free access to the pool and sauna and more. The same thing at the Marriott in Prague costs about 500Euros per night (!!).

Pros -
Location - it is right at the metro station Vysehrad which gets you to anywhere in town in just a few minutes. Most of the other five star hotels are based right in the tourist areas so the location could also be considered a con, but the metro station here makes it a pro.
The executive lounge - Wonderful massive breakfast buffet including cooked to order meals. Free beer, wine and snacks all day then a selection of hot "appetizers" (more like full meals!) and full alcohol served at night. It basically turns it into an all-inclusive, but for a fraction of the price of a normal room.

Cons -
The concierge staff is not always helpful nor friendly. I have stayed at this hotel four or five times and they all seem to be in a perpetual bad mood.
The food in their Asian restaurant is way over-priced. The food there is good, not great, but not worth the money and their other restaurant, the food is just average.
They ALWAYS have problems with the air-conditioning. Since I stay in a suite on their executive floor, they solve it immediately, but I don't know how they'd treat a "normal" guest in a "normal" room who complained about that.
The swimming pool is not heated, making it almost useless (if you want a cold shower take one, but a cold swim???)

Full review:
I've stayed at this hotel four or five times and it actually keeps getting better and better in regards to the executive lounge amenities. When I first stayed here they had the same fantastic breakfast they have now, but that was pretty much it. They served some alcohol and crappy sandwiches for an hour at night, but now they've upgraded that to serving snacks, beer and wine throughout the entire day and practically a full food and beverage "dinner" at night. That was a great surprise!

Whether you are arriving from the airport or a train station, having a metro stop just a few steps from their front door makes getting to/from the hotel incredibly convenient. The hotel is massive, but they've got about 8 or 10 elevators so I've never had a problem waiting to get up to the top floors or back down.

The food in their restaurants can easily be skipped. Prague is certainly not known as a food destination but unless you're really tired or lazy, head to one of a handful of good restaurants around town.

They need to heat the swimming pool! I just read a few other reviews real quick and discovered if you're not on the executive floors you have to pay for it. If I paid for an unheated pool, I'd be complaining too :)!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanPace, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure having you back and we are glad that you are noticing the continouos improvements. The team is fully committed to keep on adding value and provide the best of service one can expect.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the concierge services which I will share with the team.

We all look forward to have you back with us

Kind regards

Jonathan Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was my first visit to Prague, after 1 night in another totally unsuitable hotel, we found the Corinthia and had the best week
We upgraded to the executive floor for a small increase in cost
We used the lounge, spa, bar and restaurant - we couldn't find fault
Would I use it again? Every time and recommend you do to
This hotel gives you exactly what it says in 'the brochure'

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanPace, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. The team is pleased you have enjoyed our services, and we look forward to have you here with us again in the future. It would be my pleasure to meet you on your next visit so feel free to contact me directly on jonathan.pace@corinthia.com.

Kind regards

Jonathan Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#135 of 649 in Prague
4,817 reviews
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#197 of 649 in Prague
1,953 reviews
Praha 4
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#96 of 649 in Prague
3,133 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#83 of 649 in Prague
4,119 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#60 of 649 in Prague
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Prague

Property: Corinthia Hotel Prague
Address: Kongresova 1, Prague 140 69, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Prague
#83 Business Hotel in Prague
#94 Family Hotel in Prague
#118 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#139 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinthia Hotel Prague is a modern upscale business and leisure hotel with fantastic conference facilities and wonderful top floor spa with a stunning view over the city of Prague. Less than five minutes away from Prague city centre, this Corinthia Hotel is a landmark in itself, standing atop one of Prague's seven hills and offering outstanding views of the capital city. Access to the hotel is convenient and efficient by metro (only two stops to Wenceslas square), by car (own driveway connected to main highway Prague-Brno) and from the airport (25 minutes transfer). With three dedicated executive floors and an executive lounge, as well as a business lounge alongside the business rooms, Corinthia Hotel Prague is a perfect choice for corporate travellers, residential conferences and also leisure travellers. An impeccable hotel service is complemented by superb amenities including an array of restaurants such as award-winning Rickshaw, The Grill and Lounge 62. Brought to you by Chef Richard, Lounge 62 presents International lunch menu featuring local influences and regionally sourced ingredients. Offering sharing plates in the evening, paired with our expertly crafted cocktails, Lounge 62 makes for a warm, relaxed yet luxurious dining experience throughout the day. It is the ideal place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, with an exclusive selection of the world's finest from Dammann Frères. Alternatively, sample our finely handmade desserts from award winning Executive Chef Krofta or browse and enjoy the extensive wine list showcasing a perfect balance of local, old world and new world wines. The Apollo day Spa situated twenty-five floors above the city provides the ideal venue to relax. Swimming pool located on 26th floor with spectacular views, soothe your body, mind and spirit in a splendid oasis of calm with one of our massages or at sauna or steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Corinthia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing