We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars for what?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vienna House Diplomat Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vienna House Diplomat Prague
Ranked #208 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 stars for what?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Upon our arrival at The Diplomat Hotel, I was immediately appalled by the terrible bell man service. No one was there to help with luggage or open the doors of our car. The lobby has the feel of a dirty gymnasium which smelled of mold. Checking in to the hotel was unpleasant and when I inquired of the hotel reception staff how many devices were allowed she responded "five ten fifteen twenty twenty-five thirty thirty-five". That irritating episode ended with us receiving our room keys. The elevators smelled and looked as if last renewed in 1990. Then after a terrible experience to check-in, the car service associated with the hotel (it had the hotel name on the side of it) charged us 20 euros to be taken 4.3 miles to Old Town Square (triple the price of a standard cab). The location is ridiculous if you want to be able to walk anywhere or not have to deal with figuring out how to use the metro. The carpet in the hallways were dirty and the entire establishment smelled of must and mold. Our bed was uncomfortable and dusty. There were bed bugs in our mattress and water damage around where the air-conditioning unit was. I saw every indication of mold. We spent one night here and woke up coughing all the next morning from dust in our lungs. It is a hazard to stay here from potential mold poisening. My family ended up having to leave the hotel and check into The Four Seasons. We did not get a refund for the nights we weren't able to stay there, but it was worth every penny spent to change hotels. Do not stay here if you're looking for a hotel in Prague. I don't know how this hotel got 4 stars, but even if you do want to stay in a disgusting hotel I'm sure you can find one a lot cheaper than 120 euros per night.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelleb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Isabelleb6,

I was most concerned to read your feedback on Tripadvisor. We do have a problem to follow your comments as several facts mentioned in your review seem to be incorrect and misleading.

I would like to kindly ask you to contact me on email address resident.mgr@diplomathotel.cz in order to further investigate and discuss your comments. I am very sorry but at this point we do not have any track of customer staying in our hotel and moving out after one night to the property that is of higher category and room rate while asking for refund of prepayment in our property. We do have manager on duty available 24/7 as well as management team of the hotel and none of our mangers or supervisors was contacted to deal with your complaint.

Thank you for contacting me to further investigate your experience.

Sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    641
    275
    90
    41
See reviews for
164
534
84
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Large lobby with friendly and helpful staff. Dining room large but tables were crowded together. Buffet was small and same choices for daily breakfast. Crepe station offered one morning but a long line. Not a big fruit selection. Rooms were standard with TV, safe box, refrig, coffee maker, hair dryer. Only a view of the construction site next door. Nice to have one outlet with 110 current. Very HARD to control the room temperature, always very warm and stuffy. Could open the window and that helped. Hotel convenient to metro stop about a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for a conference held at the venue here. This is a large hotel very suitable for conferences. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful. Overall a good modern hotel. Some distance from the tourist attractions though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A modern beautiful hotel on a slight hill provides whatever the traveler might want from decent food to meeting rooms and wifi and internet. The rooms are large which is good because they put two double beds together to make one humongous bed. The room was quiet and cool and very comfortable.This is a hotel mainly for businesses and tours so it can get very crowded for breakfast. It is a long walk to the Old Town but you can take a tram if necessary. I'll review the town separately but it is quite colorful and a place to enjoy more than a days visit. There are tram stops just across the street and bus stops on the next block. The subway is just two blocks on the same side of the street and very efficient and inexpensive to use. The subway stations are so bright and colorful and clean they were a pleasure to use and very easy to understand with signs in Czech and English. You can easily and quickly reach the Jewish Quarter, the newer section of Prague and museums.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stopped at this hotel for one night while on a business trip with 19 colleagues. This is very much a business orientated hotel and not ideal for tourists due to its relative distance from the main attractions of Prague a taxi, bus or tram ride away. Room was spacious and modern with excellent free WI-FI (probably the best I've experienced). Bar area was nice but drinks expensive (over £4 a pint is pretty steep for Prague!). Reception staff were courteous and efficient considering they had 20 people to check in at once. Ate out for dinner and didn't make breakfast so cannot comment on food quality. Overall if your planning a tourist visit there are other hotels in much better locations, however if you're visiting on business and don't have to pay the bar bill then give it a go!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksopBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Diplomat Hotel is located out of the Old Town area but has easy access via Metro which is almost in front of hotel. Breakfast buffet can be a mad house depending of the number of people eating and the attentiveness of staff. Reception people were friendly and helpful. Room was average and a little too warm (opened window which faced busy street but the heavy curtains blocked out most of the noise.) I felt I was in a soviet-style building, i.e., not much character (but who stays in a hotel for character???)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Hotel International Prague
#213 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Praha 5
andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Hotel DAP
Hotel DAP
#257 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#152 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#206 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna House Diplomat Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna House Diplomat Prague

Property: Vienna House Diplomat Prague
Address: Evropska 370/15, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Diplomat Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Prague
#171 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#203 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna House Diplomat Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Diplomat Hotel Prague is one of the largest hotels in Prague. It is renowned for its excellent conference and event facilities. Surrounded mainly by diplomatic residences and its location close to Prague castle, to the historical city centre and to the international airport, the hotel constitutes the perfect place for business as well as individual city travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Vienna House Diplomat Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Prague
Golden Tulip Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing