We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel close to the main train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Ranked #249 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The location was excellent - near the main train station and walking distance to restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all questions. The French restaurant was excellent. The lounge and bar area was quite comfortable. The rooms were clean, comfortable, air conditioned, and had all the amenities. We found the hotel very relaxing.
Two small inconveniences: you had to pay an additional 100 czk per day to use the safe in your room; and it was a little complicated to get your boarding passes printed. There is no business center, but the internet is free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandJoetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for kind review.

I was happy to read that you very much enjoyed your stay with us, our location, the French restaurant and in particular the helpfulness and friendliness of our Team members there. I was very proud to share your comments with them.

I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and hope to welcome you back to Hotel Esplanade Prague soon.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel is great. The Taxi ordered at the airport was 5 minutes to late, but that was because of the Water Flew in Prague.
Service is good in the hotel. The breakfast was fresh and more than enough.
The lobby is nice, the boy brought our suitcases to our room.
The room is clean, the area around the hotel is more or less quiet. Even if it is nearby the Station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague during your visit to Prague, and for sharing with us your kind comments.

It was nice to read that you were satisfied with our location, comfort and quietness of our guestroom, breakfast selection and and efficiency of our Team.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards from the golden city of Prague,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Walk to train station. Close to attractions in New Town and Old Town. We walked to most attractions in Old Town and New Town. Beds comfortable. Quite. Very good staff. Free WiFi. We booked through bookings.com. The confirmation indicates that VAT and city TAX are included. However the hotel computer still calculated the city tax at check out. But this TAX is NOT showing up at the check out statement as a separate line of charges. We happened to add up all the charges and noted that it did not come to the final bill. The front desk staff is very nice and give us back the tax in local currency. The hotel management needs to address the city TAX issue immediately.

Room Tip: We have a family of four including two teenagers. The kids slepted in the outer room in two separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworld1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Allow me to thank you for staying with us and your positive review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read, that our facilities met your expectations, you found our rooms comfortable, our service efficient and you enjoyed our prime central location and our fantastic Team. I would like to apologize about the inconvenience during the check out.

Whenever you decide to return back to Prague, we will look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade Prague.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed only one night, passing through Prague by train. The proximity to the train station is a mixed blessing - we didn't have to deal with a taxi, but did have to avoid several drug users, even in the early evening. The hotel itself was spectacular. The majority of the staff was friendly, especially the waitstaff in the cafe/bar in the evening, and our room was spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was very good, with a large selection. We were able to leave our luggage for the entire day after checking out in a secure and manned cloakroom. Location to shopping and the ease of getting into the Old Town makes up for the negatives.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet, despite being across from the lift and next to the stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Allow me to thank you for staying with us and sharing this nice review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have had such a memorable visit at our hotel. I am happy to hear that service of our Team met your expectations. I was also happy to hear that you found our breakfast selection and quality very good. Our hotel is located walkable distance from the train station and the area is regularly control with the police to avoid any issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Esplanade for 4 nights with our 2 yr old son. The hotel itself is beautiful built in the 1920s and I loved the "belle epoque" feel it has to it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom well stocked with necessary toilteries. The house keeping was spot on. The breakfast spread is great with edequate options for vegetarians. The wi-fi in the hotel is excellent! The front office staff is polite and helped us making tour, taxi and restaurant bookings. Spent some pleasent afternoons at the hotel coffee shop taking in its charming decor. The only downside about the hotel, if I really had to find one would be that it is slightly far from the city centre especially if you are traveling with small kids.

Room Tip: The corner suites are great with a small lobby leading to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate your lovely comments about our hotel and we pride ourselves in trying to exceed our guests’ expectations. It is very nice to learn that you liked our location, comfort of the guestroom, our food and beverage offer, and you found our Team friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Very clean, conveniently located. The breakfast staff was not overly friendly. They should have prepared our beds for the night and brought us sweets: that would have made it 100% better! No pool, no fitness room. Not really five star. Internet did not work in our room.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, but ours was much bigger than our friends, who had paid the same price. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade in Prague during your visit to the Czech Republic and for taking the time to share with us your kind feedback regarding your stay.

I was delighted to read that you like our location and tidiness of the hotel. The interment is provided free of charge and we do not any report that would be problem with connection. I will follow up on your comment regarding the breakfast with F&B manager.

I thank you again for taking the time to share your comments about our property, and I believe we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Pre our stay our e-mail questions were answered quickly and helpfully. This augured well.
On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly and attentive hall and reception staff. This set the standard for all our interaction with the hotel staff throughout our stay.
Our room was well appointed and a reasonable size. There was a lot of dark wood which made the room feel smaller than it actually was. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well but a bit noisily. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained. We had no problem with hot water. Given the Hotel's great position very close to Wenceslas Square we were surprised by how quiet it was. A refined haven from the bustle going on around it.
The hotel breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We do not need the boost of a large cooked breakfast but I found the temptation of bacon and scrambled egg difficult to resist. If we had wanted more, however, we might have found the choice of cooked items a bit restrictive.
We ate in the hotel on two evenings. On the first occasion we tried the three course fixed menu. This was fine if you wanted what was on offer. On the second occasion we tried the a la carte menu and both ate very well indeed. We would recommend that you try the hotel French Restaurant. It is a cut above much which is on offer in the area and very reasonable considering the quality.
We tried a couple of tours recommended by the Hotel and booked through reception. They were both good value. There is a vast choice of tours available in the locale, in the Square many people seem to be trying to get you to join their activity, thus something can be found to meet all requirements quite easily.
We would recommend Hotel Esplanade. It is not a happening hotel but it is well appointed comfortable, friendly and well managed. It has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corristeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for submitting this nice review of your stay at the Hotel Esplanade Prague.

I am certainly very happy to hear you were satisfied with every aspect of your stay and with the helpful and polite attitude of our Team.

Should the road bring you to Prague again, we'll be happy to have you staying with us.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Occidental Praha Wilson
Occidental Praha Wilson
#144 of 648 in Prague
246 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#123 of 648 in Prague
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#111 of 648 in Prague
1,321 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
President Hotel Prague
President Hotel Prague
#172 of 648 in Prague
1,126 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Sheraton Prague Charles Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £85 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Splitty, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing