We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Ranked #237 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad surprise”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having booked this “five star” hotel in Prague, including parking space, we were expecting something appropriate. However, when we arrived to the hotel late at night by car with two little children, we were highly surprised, because there were no parking for us, and moreover – an administrator informed us, that it is necessary to pay extra 9% commission above the booking price, in case if we would like to pay in Euros instead of Czech Crones. Be aware about that, before you choose this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay_Suslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    173
    61
    15
    15
See reviews for
91
170
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was very surprised with the amount for the mini bar - 500 euro. I think it's not polite to the guests of the hotel. The hotel can just show our account after living. The hotel of 5 stars must be more responsible.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague for your stay in the Czech Republic.

We believe that you have nice stay with us and we meet your expectations. If you allow me to elaborate further to your comments according the policy of the hotel we authorise amount of money that depends on the length of stay, for some incidental or additional services which guest might have. After the investigation, you stayed with us for 10 days that the reason why the amount was higher.

We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We used this hotel for one day and night for a small business meeting. Everyone helpful and provided very good service. Agree with other recent reviews - good location in an older style hotel. Aircon was good, showers were very good, and wifi was great. The hotel has cottoned on the need to provide free wifi throughout and are to be commended for that. Speeds very acceptable at around 5 Mb download.

Room Tip: My only complaint was that I hadn't specified a non-smoking room, and the room had a strong ling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for you stay at Hotel Esplanade Prague and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on the Hotel facilities and service provided by the Team.

I was very delighted to read that you like the old style of the hotel- art deco style our location and comfort of our rooms. Internet connection is provided free of charge in all building and we appreciate your satisfaction with speed .

Whenever you decide to return back to Prague, we will look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the good about this hotel. Great location, close to station. The rooms are of an average standard, good size tv, clean but for a 5 star even a 4 you would expect tea/coffee making facilities /iron and board even bath robe and slippers none of this was provided. Bathroom toiletries were very basic. You also had to pay for use of a safe in the room. Breakfast was so so and be careful not to get down there half hour before breakfast end as you really are left with the scraps. My biggest gripe and although this isn't the hotels fault but I feel people should be warned in advance is about the green park opposite the hotel. I actually found myself in tears as i looked out the window to see 2 people injecting drugs in broad daylight with their kids in tow and unfortunately it wasn't the first time we witnessed it although I know this is a problem in Prague. Having stayed at many hotels all over the world I would class this as a 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lullabell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your stay in Prague and for sharing with the fellow travellers your experience.

I was happy to read you like our location on the other hand, I truly regret, that we did not meet your expectations in terms of rooms. We do not provide tea and coffee facilities in the room but for comfort of the guest is available room service. Regarding the other items are available on request .

We believe would get the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay more comfortable.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Hotel Esplanade Prague. The staff was so helpful in our trip planning, even booking a day tour to Kutna Hora for us as well as making dinner reservations at Bellevue. The room was comfortable, and you can't beat the location. Even though the cost ended up being a little higher than I thought it would be (maybe taxes are high??), we would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade during your stay in Prague, and for sharing with us your kind comments.

It was great to read that you were amazed with our location, comfort and cleanliness of our guestrooms, efficiency and helpfulness of our Team.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards from the golden city of Prague,


Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I highly recommend this hotel if you are a lover of the european tradition, with all the modern comfort.
This was our second trip to Prague and this hotel was a delight. We were two couples and we had an incredible experience.The food in the restaurant was exellent and the staff was really friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaelenadebernitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your second stay with us and such a nice review that you posted on this traveller’s platform.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our central location and also you had incredible expecierce with us. I also very much appreciate your comments about our French restaurant and Team Members.

Whenever you decide to return back to Prague, we will look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade Prague.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On a stinking hot, humid (32 celsius) day, after a stinking hot and late train trip from Vienna our hearts sank as we walked into the gracious foyer and realised it wasn't airconditioned. Happily our quiet spacious, comfortable room was (as are all bed rooms I hasten to say) and things looked up. Well located close to railway station and metro and easy walking to old town and river. Would stay there again. Front of house staff terrific and nothing too much trouble.
Responded admirably to our feed back on a river tour they recommended which turned out to be terrible (not just our opinion but that of just about every one on it who got on it from various sources.) One small lift for a seven storey hotel inadequate at peak periods.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW70_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for deciding to spent your Prague stay with us and we appreciate your very nice review.

I am certainly happy to hear you were completely satisfied in every aspect of your stay with us, our central location and the service provided by our Team Members across the hotel.
In regards to the river tour we contact the agency and advice to improve equipment during the hot days.

We will be very happy to have you staying with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Occidental Praha Wilson
Occidental Praha Wilson
#137 of 649 in Prague
208 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#93 of 649 in Prague
788 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#109 of 649 in Prague
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#165 of 649 in Prague
652 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#157 of 649 in Prague
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Property: Hotel Esplanade Prague
Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing