We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay at the Esplanade in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Ranked #232 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
“First class stay at the Esplanade in Prague”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This elegant hotel was a European treat. The rooms were lovely, if small, bathrooms wonderful, all appointments first rate. The staff was congenial, and helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant was terrific and the gentleman who was our waiter spoke perfect English and was very attentive. The breakfasts were more than generous and the place was spotless. It is at the top of Wenceslas Sq, around the corner from the State Opera House. It faces a quiet street. At first, I was disappointed it wasn't closer to the castle, until I saw the crowds. Then I realized it was a perfect retreat from the swarms of visitors. I felt as though I were staying in Old Europe. Definitely a 10!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakmeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    172
    60
    15
    15
See reviews for
90
169
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

All was positive in Esplanade. Amazing staff was friendly and helpful. I can recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseRomariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Newly refurbished in 2008, the Esplanade hotel is returned to its former days of glory, rooms are large and equiped with all you could need with the exception of a collection of Tea bags and a pot!
Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel lacks all the clinical shapes and odities of a modern hotel, it just lets you relax back into a warm bygone era when comfort and service counted for all.
Breakfast is fine, all the normal trimmings of Fruit, Ham, Cheese, Cereal, plus a fully cooked option. The restaraunt is adorned with a massive Bohemian Glass chandelier as its centre piece which also adds to the glamour of this gem of a hotel.
Most of my life revolves around Hotels and Airports lately and this hotel is right up there with the best for it's ambience and age old glamour, for once someone has realised what they had and spruced it up not ripped to pieces and turned into an air conditioned box.
The hotel is positioned opposite the National Opera House and only a Mommouths tail length from the National Museum and enough shops to keep you going for a few days if thats your choice, including M & S and C & A.
Not only is the hotel easy on the eyes, its also easy on your feet and pocket to get to:
Collect a public transport ticket from the desk (Just to the right of the exit in terminal 1) Don't forget to get a half ticket for your case! The cost of the ticket is £.90p. This will give access to the No119 bus (Stay on the bus until it reaches its final destination Deyvica, you'll know when youve reached it as you will be the only people left on the bus within seconds)
Exit the bus to your left, walk straight down into the Metro station (same ticket, it lasts on all public transport for 75 minutes) On the Metro go to Museum (5th Station), exit Metro, head for the Museum at the top of the square, turn left at McDonalds and hotel is fifty yards on left. (Total time from airport 40 minutes)
In summary: This is the nicest and warmest in more ways than one hotel we have stayed in for years and we will return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We spent a long weekend in Prague staying at the Esplanade, and I have to say having read some of the previous reviews, I was a bit apprehensive to say the least! We booked it through a very reasonable deal on the internet and thought we'd get what we paid for!
We found the staff on arrival really friendly and helpful, and as requested we were given a lovely room with a view over towards the Opera House. The room was clean and tastefully appointed, complete with mini bar and safe, and the bathroom was of a very high standard, with clean towels provided every day. Unfortunately, we had a very noisy Italian family in the two rooms next to us, who kept us awake late into the night, and early in the morning. We asked at reception if we could change rooms, and it was not a problem at all, and our replacement room was just as nice as our first, and the receptionists could not have been more accomodating and polite.
We booked on a room only basis, as Prague is FULL of lovely restaurants. You are spoilt for choice as to where to have breakfast, lunch and dinner, and looking for somewhere to eat is all part of the fun. There are restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel in Wenceslas Square, and in the Old Town which is about 10 to 15 minutes walk. Charles Bridge is 20 minutes walk away. We didn't feel at all threatened or uneasy walking out at night , as Wenceslas Square is more or less round the corner, and seems to be busy and active all the time, with many shops, wine bars, restaurants, and pubs. The hotel bar was very quiet, and we did have a couple of nightcaps here, and I have to say, it was expensive, compared to the pubs and coffee houses in the city.
All in all, the hotel is a good base, and I would class it as a good top 3 star hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balearic Islands
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2009

The hotel was clean, the location good. But that was all. Staff unfriendly, rooms were small, no bath tub, smelly, poor breakfast. Not what I am used to in a five star hotel.
No internet in the rooms. It would be a nice 3-star hotel, but far away from 5-stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Lounges, breakfast hall and restaurant are really unique. Location is optimal, especially if coming by train (central station reachable with a 5' walk). We found an internet offer and we got a small but nice room; breakfast was included. Furniture was luxurious but don't expect the service and the room accessories of a 5 stars hotel (i.e: we ran out of "toilet consumables" and no one noticed it despite the daily clean up of the room). The breakfast is offered as buffet, is completly satisfactory and can make you sate till dinner. Wi-fi internet connection is free of charge in the lounge but you need your own PC. Altogether Esplanade fulfilled our expectations!

  • Liked — The building and its interiors
  • Disliked — Cannot be considered as a 5 stars hotel in comparison to other European countries
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi78Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

The quality of the Hotel Esplanade made our long weekend stay from the 16th to 19th Oct in Prague to celebrate my 50th birthday a memorable one. The Hotel was beautiful with marble floors, glass chandeliers, dark wood and newly decorated throughout. Our double bedroom was roomy with fittings almost new. The bed and bedding were a delight to sleep on! Not much of a view onto the back of the building from our room but quiet and peaceful at all times. Service was excellent with our bags carried in & out of the hotel from our room and a doormen present most of the time. Receptionists were helpful and polite. We only had breakfast at the hotel, served from 6.30 - 10.30, which offered an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes with good service from the staff. The evening dinner menus on display looked inviting and good value for money. The small bar downstairs was cosy but the TV could go! Everywhere in the hotel was spotless with our towels changed daily and bedding once, even though we were there only 3 nights. The location at the top of Wenceslas square near the State Opera House and National Museum was good with a 20 min walk to Charles Bridge and to the Castle area beyond. To sum up we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the beautiful city of Prague!

  • Liked — Quality of fixture and fittings in bedroom and the period look of the Hotel
  • Disliked — Cost of drinks! - although on a par with other Hotels and bars in this area.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Featherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#92 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#116 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#164 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Occidental Praha Wilson
Occidental Praha Wilson
#115 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Property: Hotel Esplanade Prague
Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing