We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but no entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Ranked #250 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Great but no entertainment”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Its an amazing hotel, the only down side was the lack of some sort of entertainment. Be it a sauna or gym, plus they had cable with over 20 channels, only that they were in Czech or german apart from Sky news......even Mr bean was in Czech. Apart from that, I would go back again coz the staff were great, Breakfast was excellent and Location was perfect for us to roam around.
J & A

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    175
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
93
177
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Esplanade for 4 nights in May this year with my mother and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spotless and spacious, and the staff were extremely helpful. Their English was fantastic, so my lame attempts to speak Czech were, although appreciated, unnecessary. We found it easily walkable to all areas of the city, including Prague Castle, St Vitus' Cathedral and Petrin Hill - and although on a quiet road off Wenceslas Square, we felt safe enough to be out after dark which isn't always the case elsewhere. All in all it was a lovely trip, and we didn't experience any of the disturbances that have been reported by some other guests as regarding the noise of renovation. We were on the 5th floor and had the most amazing view across the rooftops to the castle complex, and the sunsets were superb. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a huge array of choices. We only ate in the hotel one evening and the food was nice, but we had had better elsewhere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, though I would recommend checking with the hotel in advance if disabled as there are 2 or 3 steps up to access the lift and I didn't see any sign of any ground floor bedrooms...

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traosb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We were very pleased with everything about the hotel
-from excellent service to great location.
Also great hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemanj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The lastmin.com description of this hotel is totally misleading. There is no way the Hotel Esplanade is a 5* hotel to an international standard. In fact, we have since learnt that the over-optimistic rating is on account of a system in the Czech Republic which allows hotels to award their own stars. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone sadly - it was clean and well-presented enough, but being woken up every single morning between 7-8am (Sundays included) by the hammering and drilling noises of builders is not my idea of a relaxing or quality stay in a hotel. It was unacceptable. Apparently these noise levels have been going on for some considerable time now. Don't bother.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikashriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Very nice renovated hotel...I´ve already been in the Hotel Esplanade Prague 4 years ago and now I stayed there for a few days. Happily surprised at how the rooms are changed cosy ,modern -nicely decorated and comfortable it was! ...and so much comfortable bed, unfortunately I forgot to ask the name of the mattrass ! Great staff in the restaurant and reception staff, large variety of foods at breakfast . The dinner was the best we have experienced and we returned frequently. The location is absolutely perfect near the main square,museums, shoping.....etc.
Kate

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This elegant hotel was a European treat. The rooms were lovely, if small, bathrooms wonderful, all appointments first rate. The staff was congenial, and helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant was terrific and the gentleman who was our waiter spoke perfect English and was very attentive. The breakfasts were more than generous and the place was spotless. It is at the top of Wenceslas Sq, around the corner from the State Opera House. It faces a quiet street. At first, I was disappointed it wasn't closer to the castle, until I saw the crowds. Then I realized it was a perfect retreat from the swarms of visitors. I felt as though I were staying in Old Europe. Definitely a 10!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakmeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

All was positive in Esplanade. Amazing staff was friendly and helpful. I can recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseRomariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Occidental Praha Wilson
Occidental Praha Wilson
#124 of 649 in Prague
215 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#94 of 649 in Prague
795 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#104 of 649 in Prague
1,273 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandium Prague
Grandium Prague
#98 of 649 in Prague
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Property: Hotel Esplanade Prague
Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing