We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location hotel”
Review of Globus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globus
Ranked #554 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is well heated and in a great location with easy access to the city. The rooms are basic but sufficient. The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly. But for the cost of the hotel it was great value for money. The breakfeast is sufficient.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is not in the centre Prague but is close to a metro station offering quick access to the main attractions. The room was a good size, comfortable and very warm, and the price was very reasonable. However it's a soulless place lacking in any character, with all the charm of an airport waiting lounge. There is a Bar/restaurant of sorts, but with nothing to commend it. The Night Club is below ground and although small and certainly not crowded is a bit smokey, just like the rest of Prague. The EU Non-Smoking in public places laws do not appear to have been implemented yet inte Czech Republic and peole smoke everywhere. Breakfast is uninspiring. Porridge had run out not long after opening, and staff were rude and refused to make any more. Tea has to be made with warm water. Hospitality standards are not good, but just adequate by Czech standards. To make your stay really memorable, visit the gift shop in the foyer, where you can select from any number of tawdry tobacco-infested trinkets, courtesy to the chain-smoking attendant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2travelersLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the Globus Hotel in Prague for two nights. I wanted an inexpensive hotel with secure parking near the subway. The hotel was in the suburbs of Prague. It like a hostel -- functional and unremarkable. The rooms were small and the beds were adequate. The bath was very small yet clean. The parking garage was next to the hotel and secured with a garage door. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. Each day when we went to breakfast, there were about 50 teenagers in the large room that had been ransacked. The food on the buffet was below average. The subway was two blocks downhill from the hotel. If you want an expensive place just to sleep, this hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This place fortunately didn't spoil our trip,which was amazing, although the stay in this hotel was a horrible experience... The girl on a reception desk spoke only a few words in English (?!) and in the whole hotel there wasn't even one person with a solid English knowledge... They gave back the wrong passports to some of us from the group, mixed it up, gave it without any checking... But the worst of all was when they stole my mobile phone and non of them wanted to help, to find out what happened, even the manager, who also didn't know English and didn't even have decency to appear in front of us, but only told us a few words through phone and then spoke with the girl on the reception desk, who, while talking to her, gave us the weird looks... We confronted the two maids who stole it, they were the only ones entering the room except us so it was obvious they took it, we knew the exact place where the phone was, but no one cared... I would NEVER, in any circumstances recommend this hotel to anyone, because if you can't feel secure (and here you certainly can not) what's the point...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronikaN-Manager, Front Office Manager at Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Mrs Mirjana,
We are deeply sorry, that you have decided to post incomplete and misleading information on this website.
During whole your stay You didn’t contact anyone from our staff nor did you show any displeasure with services provided by the hotel. A few hours after your check-out you came back at the front desk claiming you miss your phone. We have tried to do our best at meeting Your requests, we have let you go in the room again, so You could check for yourself whether you’ve left your phone there or not. Our receptionist, who spoke fluent English, offered you multiple times that she can call the police to help with solving your problem, but you have specifically refused an official statement.
We don’t know where Your phone was lost, forgotten or even stolen. We are sorry that you have had this inconvenience during your vacation. However we must strongly protest against Your unfounded accusations of workers of our hotel.
Sincerely yours
Veronika Novotná

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I`v just returned from Hotel Globus in Prague. I spent there two days and was very satisfied with everything. I liked the room, it was very clean and large. The breakfast was included in the price and it had a lot of things you might want in the morning in very good quality products. The hotel personnel was very nice and helpful.It was not forbidden to smoke in the room if you want. It has good metro connection with the center of the city. I would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljiljakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Quiet area, bordering a forest and still not very far from downtown Prague. Friendly and professional staff, free Internet, good breakfast.
Chodeov shopping center, on of the largest in Prague, is about 15 minutes on foot or five minutes by car.
This whole place looks old and in need of serious works. It is OK for a short stay but definitely not the place to stay if you want to make your trip to Prague really special. Public transportation is not very close, and a trip to the city center might require half and hour.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I've been to Prague twice and this hotel is my favorite. For a very cheap price, and only a short walk from the C line station at Roztyly, this hotel makes it about the best value in Prague. The breakfast is included and it is indeed quite good. Not only that, the staff are very friendly and helpful to tourists. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anglicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#533 of 647 in Prague
199 reviews
Praha 10
Hotel Slavia
Hotel Slavia
#564 of 647 in Prague
239 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#418 of 647 in Prague
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#550 of 647 in Prague
184 reviews
Hotel Mars
#509 of 647 in Prague
135 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#570 of 647 in Prague
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus

Address: Gregorova 2115/10, Prague 148 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £22 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globus 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing