We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location and excellent staff.”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Had a wonderful stay would definately return, spent 5 days did not want to leave

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liambaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your 5 days long stay! I am glad you had a wonderful holiday in Prague at our hotel!:-)

You are welcome here again!

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for about a week and were very impressed, especially by the service level of Paul - who provided assistance in choosing local beers to try; all of the staff were fantastic!
The hotel is within walking distance (<150 meters) of public transportation and the neighbourhood was nice and quiet. For those looking to stock up on snacks, beer or pop - the Tesco ~1km from the hotel can certainly fill your needs.
If I had to say something negative: The breakfast buffet, while varied in selection, got a bit boring since it was still the same every single day.
I would recommend dining in the hotel restaurant at least once during your stay; and speaking of restaurants - Olympia, located near the hotel, certainly comes with my recommendations as well. Oh and Budweiser Budvar for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your long stay at our hotel! I am delighted the recetion staff, expecially Paul, was helpful for you:-)Thank you for your nice review! Anyway, we are trying to change the items on breakfast every other day right now:-)

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a very nice roomy room. The front staff were very helpful and made sure I could find the nearest ATM (he walked us there) and the tram stations. They had maps and were more than willing to explain the various stops to get to places. They had a very nice bar/restaurant with good food and drink. We had laundry done while here, may be a little expensive, but the laundry is done on site and we got it back that afternoon. The breakfast was good. We did have an issue with wireless, my husband took our laptop down to the front desk and we got connected. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your nice comments! It was the pleasure of the reception staff to be helpful for you:-)

We hope we will see you here again!

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Based on some of the reviews on here, we stayed at the Hotel Julian. The location was good, easy access to all of the sites either on foot or by tram- very convenient.
The room was clean and comfortable for three persons. Unfortunately, there was no wireless connectivity in the room or any part of the one front side of the hotel. This was very inconvenient. After reading other reviews on here, I suspect that this is lack of WIFI is a re-occuring problem with this hotel. The hotel staff tried to adjust the routers, but to no avail.

The only other negative comment was with respect to the breakfast. Unless you arrived at the breakfast early, you were likely to miss out on most of the good selection of meats, fruit and bread offerings. It seemed, that on the mornings we came down at 9 am, there was little left to sample, and the dining room staff were not very eager to replace the breakfast fare.

What was available to be consumed, was average at best.
The parking was 15 euro per evening, secure and ample.

On a positive note, the front desk staff were very helpful in providing directions and information about the city. They were friendly and very accommodating.

I suspect that there are better choices in Prague, but for the rate and comfort of the room, combined with the location this hotel is worthy of consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the rear of the hotel away from the street and not on the 3rd floor if you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Guests,

first of all I would like to thank you for your stay at the hotel Julian. I am glad the reception staff made your stay more pleasant.

I would like to clarify the situation with wireless connectivity. I do understand that the failure of internet was inconvenient for you. We have been trying to explore what was the reason of that. Our IT engineer measured the strenght of signal and had realised that other companies around our hotel had started to use tha same channel for WI-FI as we do that could cause a weaker signal in some rooms here at the hotel. Therefore the IT engineer is going to drill the walls to lay there the lines to strenghten the signal. We are really sorry for this inconvenience again.

Have a nice rest of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is slightly out of the centre of Prague but a 10 minute walk takes you to the Charles Bridge and Prague Castle. The hotel gains from this as its is very quiet and peaceful. Our room was very light and spacious, there was plenty room for an extra bed should one be needed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff extremely pleasent and helpful. Breakfast was very good with plenty to eat and a good selection. especially the sausage and scrambled eggs. We had the romantic package which was well worth it. Breakfast in bed one morning and an evening meal on the rooftop terrace was a highlight. Private use of the jacuzzi and sauna was great.
all in all we had three great nights stay and would not hesitate to return when we revisit Prague

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank drg468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Guests,

thank you that you have decided to spend your romantic stay in Prague with us and you used the possibility of romantic package, I am glad you enjoyed that:-)I am delighted you were satisfied with our services.

You are always welcome here, hope that you revisit Prague soon:-)!

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

is a very nice and cozy hotel. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is ok. is close to the center of town. About 10 minutes walk away. room is comfortable and I slept very well. I would say that is more than a hotel, a place where you feel good. the lobby is very well equipped with library and another that also has room for smokers

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quattromagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your nice review. We are delighted that our hotel could be a place for you where you felt good.

I hope we will see you here again!

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We loved our stay. The location was perfect, the room was a very nice size for three traveling together and the brakfast was excellent. We were sad to leave Prague as it is a wonderful city. We were sorry we did not have more time to have dinner on the roof terrace. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klwicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Guests,

thank you for your stay at our hotel and your nice review! You are welcome here whenever, but I would recommend to come soon to catch nice weather for the dinner at the roof terrace:-)

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 648 in Prague
1,068 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 648 in Prague
1,711 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 648 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#55 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £54 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing