We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #26 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2008

This quiet hotel easily lives up to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and I'll certainly stay there again on my next trip to Prague.

Though my attic bedroom wasn't grand it was clean and comfortable and had a clean, modern bathroom. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

The Julian is located just across the Vltava - very near to the the Petrin Hill - and is easy to get to from the airport, with a tram stop just around the corner. From there you can catch a tram into the city centre if you want but it's much nicer to walk - it's only a 10 minute stroll across the river to the National Theatre and around 20 minutes to the very centre of Prague.

  • Liked — It was quiet and respectable
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    354
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
375
707
76
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Julian for three days in April 2008. The hotel is a very attractive building in a non-touristy part of Prague. Our room on the first floor was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was modern and well-appointed. Breakfast was good and the coffee was awsome.
The hotel is located away from the main tourist sites but it's closer than it appears to the Charles Bridge and castle area. (about a 10 minute walk) Also the tram stops just around the corner. The tram system in Prague is very convenient and easy to use. The routes are clearly marked on the tourist maps given away by the hotel and tourism bureaus. We bought 3 day passes and used them often.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NJ USA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

This hotel is very clean. The rooms were all redone in 2005 and it's nicer than the pictures on the website. Our room was on the top floor with the windows in the roof - querky and fun. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant but the food isn't very good - who cares when there are so many places to go eat in Prague! And at least there is food just in case. And of course, there's beer, Czech wine, and Becherovka that you can enjoy in the nice library or your room. The location is okay but not great. In the morning it doesn't seem like a long walk at all (1 mi to Castle, 0.5 mi to Charles Bridge), but after a long day of sightseeing, it seems very...far...away. There is a tram stop right there, but who on a 3-day vacation is really going to learn the system? However, the benefit of being away from the rest of the tourists is that you get to see how real people live and work. We would stay again despite being a little out of the way that's how nice it is, but then again, we don't mind walking.

  • Liked — Unique, querky rooms and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel with another couple to celebrate my birthday and our silver wedding annivesary. We could not have made a better choice. The hotel was clean, well furnished and well laid out. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff were the most friendly, helpful staff you could wish for. Breakfast was great with a large choice of continental and full .....you must try the cheese.

The english pub (quiet) downstairs served superb food at superb prices. We hired the gym and sauna for an hour too. We could not fault anything and will definately go back again as would our friends.

As for Prague ... fabulously steeped in history, the river boat trips are excellent and the views in Prague are amazing especially from the castle.

We also paid 190 kc for four of us to go to Karljstein (return) on the train. This is an excellent day out if you are their for a few days.

The best few days ever!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot3683
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

First trip to Prague and had a great stay!

The hotel was VERY clean. Beautiful study room/lobby/breakfast area. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions the entire trip. The room was overly spacious with a great-sized bathroom.

The location was pretty good. There were 2 tram stops very close to the hotel. It was about a 15 min. walk to Old Town. About the same to Charles' Bridge.

The breakfast buffet was great! Very good selection of hot and cold food.

Price was very reasonable as well...93 Euro through the hotel website.

I highly recommend this hotel. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot3683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

The Hotel Julian is a charming hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff with nothing being too much trouble. The rooms were extremely clean and very well equipped. A relatively small hotel with 30 ish rooms, they have thought of just about everything, with reading glasses available to use in case you've forgotten your own and also mobile phone hire. Located within easy walking distance of most sights. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDarling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel in December 2008 and really enjoyed our stay. We booked via the hotel website as there was a very good package (€219 for 3 nights including breakfast, pick up from the airport and one free use of their sauna).
Hotel Julian in Prague is a very comfortable and convenient hotel. The tram also stops right at the corner. The room itself was big and was spotless as well as the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we each had our own duvet! The staff was helpful and friendly. As for the breakfast it was fairly standard with continental and English-style breakfast. We also avail our offer of a free use of their fitness suite which we could book just for us for a full hour. We enjoy a the whirlpool bath as well as the sauna.
Hotel Julian is not located in the real center of Prague but we didn't mind as it's just at about 15/20 mn walk away from the city centre and walking is after all the best way to discover Prague! Also 10 minutes walk away from the hotel was a shopping centre with a Tesco which was very convenient to stock up on Czech goods before going back home!

Should we go back to Prague, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — big comfortable room, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamperose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 649 in Prague
1,014 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
622 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,696 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
602 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offerin sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing