We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The embodiment of quirky, beautiful, Prague.”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We traveled through the Czech Republic at the beginning of September, 2012, the first of many cities we would visit on our 6-week honeymoon.

Checking in to the Hotel Julian, we were very happy with our first choice. A quirky, art-deco establishment on the outskirts of the historic Mala Strana quarter - it was four star comfort at the spectacular Eastern-block discount of $80 a night! The staff are friendly and fluent in English, and practically trip over themselves to fetch us an aperitif in the lounge. The decor is clearly a factor in it's popularity on tripadvisor - reminiscent of Henry Higgins' mansion, with a hint of Willy Wonka, the rich furnishings strewn with wooden toys and the paraphernalia of an eccentric collector.

The rooms are simple but comfortable. It has all the amenities - TV, fridge, air conditioning, clean and neat bathroom. We sleep for 15 hours in what seems to be the most comfortable beds we've ever had, after a very long flight from Sydney to Prague via Dubai, and awake the next morning to a delicious breakfast.

We we enjoy a range of muesli, dried fruit, cured sausage, sliced cheese and the myriad flavours of yoghurt, along with tea and coffee from a proper espresso machine. Afterwards we are excited over the discovery of an old-school shoe-buffer in the reception, and explore the rooftop restaurant (although it's a little too cold to dine up there tonight), before heading out for the day. The tram stop is literally just one minute away from the hotel. Too convenient, we decide to save the tram for the trip back in the evening, and instead walk into the town center today - a lovely stroll which takes about 30 minutes. We see so much on the way we're glad we chose this option - a suggestion if you're not tight on time.

Without a doubt, we'll be staying at the Hotel Julian in the future. (NEAR future, I hope!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarpopblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello to Australia!

It seems you would prefere the same decor style as the owner of the hotel - he appreciates every single little thing with its own history and spirit..as you can see in our lobby bar - library :-) We are pleased the style of our hotel impressed you.

It seems that you are advanced tourists and you really explore every corner of the hotel even in whole Prague:-)

We hope your whole honeymoon was comfortable and pleasant.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a good three night stay. As mentioned in other reviews, a block from a tram stop and walking distance (albeit a healthy walk to Old Town and Prague Castle). Lesser town and the park are close enough. We got late to breakfast a couple of mornings, so selection got a bit thinner. But that was on us. Breakfast staff very friendly and helpful. Smaller and a bit more self-service breakfast than I'm sure other larger properties. Great upstairs rooftop terrace where can have a beer or just sit and relax. Didn't use the exercise room or eat in the small restaurant in the basement. Pauel (sp?) was at the front desk on the day of our arrival, and again the next day. Said he had been at the hotel over three years. Friendly and helpful with an engaging personality. Room was reasonably sized. We had three staying with us, as evidenced by the extra bed in our room. While the cleaning staff did a nice job cleaning the room, they only left two big towels each day. Had to ask for a third towel the first night. After that, we made do. And just for us, would have preferred some sort of curtain around the shower. The bathroom gets a bit wet from the spray. Overall, an excellent hotel and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello dear clients.

Nice to hear from you on this website. Thank you for mentioning Pavel¨s good work at the reception, he is definitely one of your great employees.

We are sorry about the lack of towels but thank you for telling us. We are also planning to put the curtain to all the bathrooms with a bath - all rooms with showers do have it of course.

We hope your stay was silent and you explored our city as much as possible.

Kind greetings from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The location of the hotel is out a ways..it is dark and depressing. The restaurant in the basement is also dark, no windows. The room was nice. When things happened, e.g., no hot water, shower door broke, wifi would go off.....the staff would say that this was not happening.. The manager, Michaela, was very nice when my friend & I met with her. I hope she works with her staff, who were pleasant, that the customer is always right. I would not stay here ahgain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyDesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello dear guests.

We are pleased you have written this review even if there is criticism. With every negative review you give us a possibility to make our service even better.

We are very sorry about the power cut of hot water in your room. Fortunately we have repared the hotel boiler the next morning, so we hope it was not a big complication for you.

We are sorry about other things you write in your review. We are open to help the guests with any complaint, but if the problem is not mentioned during the stay, there is no way we can help our clients. We did not know about the shower door and wifi neither. We will be pleased to solve out any problems of your guests, but it is important to tell us when it is acutally happening.

We would like to thank you for your stay. Hopefully Prague inmpressed you and enjoyed everything what our city offers.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is very nice: clean, quiet rooms - good size with comfortable beds, great breakfast, near the tram, which goes to major sites and old city - takes about 15 min. Alternatively it is possible to walk to the old city - about 20 min to Charles bridge. Good restaurant and excellent staff.
Next time, I would prefer to stay closed to the center ( in the old town) even though it is crowded with tourists as it allows to stop by the hotel during the day in case of rain or for a quick nap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Greetings from the Prague.

Thank you for your nice and positive review. You mentioned the most important priority and we are happy we had succeeded.

Even if you would prefere a hotel in the Old Town we hope no rain caught you during your stay:-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Julian in Prague for 5 nights and was amazed both by the hotel and the level of service we received from hotel staff. It's a great location (not too touristy but easy to get to everything), clean, terrific breakfast, good size room, and a restaurant/bar onsite. The service we received was what really impressed us! The front desk staff were extremely willing to help, and assisted with several very unique requests we had during our stay. They always went above and beyond to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerM979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guests.

Thank you for such a positive review! We will definitely let our reception staff know, how happy you are with their work.

Our hotel has great location and has its own spirit, but what makes us Hotel Julian is our friendly staff and their willingness to help all our clients.

Thank you for your nice words.

Kind regards from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Julian, great location and value, close to two bridges over to Old Town, location is in quieter part of city but close to metro stop, good restaurants close by, great rooftop area for star gazing, very friendly and helpful staff, they were able to store our bags for a few days before check in. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello dear tourists.

Thank you for your time in writing this review and for your nice words as well. We can see only positives in you lines! :-)

Hope we will welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel was located in a great location, away from all the tourists but within walking distance of the Charles Bridge and the castle. Overall the room was rather warm and the beds were uncomfortable but it was very roomy, especially given the size of most European hotels. The staff was friendly and helped us a lot in what we should do and where we should go in Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocorvette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear clients.

Thank you for your short review.

We are pleased you appreciate the location on the hotel. Our staff is ready to help you with the questions you might have.

We have already started with the change of the mattresses so the clients can already try the sleep in the new bed.

We hope your stay was comfortable anyway.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 647 in Prague
1,054 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,801 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 647 in Prague
1,439 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#55 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £57 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing