We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prague Hotel, off the beaten path”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #25 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Prague Hotel, off the beaten path”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Pros:

-Extremely friendly and helpful staff
-Excellent breakfast buffet, included with price
-Off the beaten path, so very quiet
-Convenient tram stop just around the corner
-Decent sized rooms with good WiFi
-Restaurant downstairs is very good
-Cozy, comfortable sitting room where you can relax, chat, and drink cappuccinos (which the concierge will make for you)
-Reliable car service to/from airport for a good value
-Very fun rooftop terrace

Cons:

-Like many hotels in Europe, a little smoky
-It's a bit of a hike to Charles Bridge on foot (about 10-12 minutes), so you will likely spend a little more on metro tickets to get places

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you very much for sharing your positives and negatives with us. I am glad there is more pros than cons!:-)

Thank you for your stay with us and we wish you a very nice spring!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    352
    39
    5
    3
See reviews for
368
700
73
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wohlen,Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a quiet spot just 10 mins walk from all the sights. The staff were all friendly, helpful, and spoke good English.Our room, though not very large, was clean and comfortable. The only negative thing was the size of the room safe, which was not big enough for our IPads. In the basement there are lockers for storing luggage on your day of departure, and even a shower room with WC for you to use . Super. The service in the hotel restaurant, where we had dinner on our first evening, was also excellent. But the food was only mediocre. We ate out for the rest of our stay. We can definitely recommend the Julian, and hope to go back there ourselves one day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WohlenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for your stay with us and for your recommendation. We are happy you found positives at Hotel Julian :-)

If the safe in the room is too small for iPads and bigger proprieties there is possibility to store it at the reception. Receptionist can put it to the bigger safe we do have in the office.

We will be happy to welcome you back again!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Close to city centre, in walking distance to all attractions, close to tram station with connections within 3 - 5 minutes, staff was very friendly and helpful, tram tickets available in the hotel, large 3-bed-room, quiet room even directed to the street, clean room, was already heated at arrival, breakfast with rich choice, small restaurant in the cellar served good food ->
we totally recommend this hotel and would choose it for another perfect stay, many thanks for our nice stay in Prague!

Room Tip: 3-bed-room 1st floor on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you for such a nice message you left for us here. We appreciate your words addressed to our hotel. Every single review is very important for us and our future clients as well.

Do not hesitate to contact us any time when comming back. We will also offer the best possible price to your family or friends.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a 3 night stay in this hotel from the 21st to 24th Feb and found it very nice indeed with what I would call a couple of minor points.....

Good points - Clean, warm, stylish, the breakfast was very nice which was constantly checked by staff to make sure there was plenty. The library area was very nice and had a log fire which was lovely.
The location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the Charles bridge and the main town which I thought was perfect with some nice restaurants near by.
All of the staff were great happy to help with any questions or advice needed.

Minor points - Please believe me these are minor points only and did not detract from our great stay.
Bath towels were small (maybe my opinion only) but I like a big bath towel when stepping out the shower.....
Our bath did not have a shower curtain so made showering a little difficult,
The bed was 2 single beds pushed together with individual duvets and seemed a little old and finally the room had 2 'erotic' TV channels 24 hours a day which is fine if you are not staying with children - may I suggest these channels are pin protected to stop accidental viewing by children.

Please see the above points as a bit of advice rather than criticism as I have no problem staying here again if I went back to Prague.

Great hotel and have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_j_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you for being honest - we like your review even to read also minor points. It will help us to improve our service, so thank you for that.

Good point is, that some of the bathrooms are curently in recontraction and they will definitely have curtain. Unfortunately with corner baths it will be a bit harder to add the curtain.

I am sorry if you did not know it but it is possible to switch off the pay TV any time. There is a code in TV to lock it. Reception can lock this program on request.

If our clients do not feel comfortable 2 beds pushed together, there is option to ask for king size bed. We do not have them in all the rooms (to have possibility to prepare twin beds), but we can arrange this kind of bed on request.

Thank you again for your review and we wish you very warm spring :-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A group of us (3) stayed at this hotel 2/14-2/17 and had an excellent experience. The bathrooms are very modern and extremely nice. The staff (Lucy especially) were all very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was the perfect start to each day with lots of different options. The triple room was the largest out of all of our stays in Europe and was perfect for a group. My boyfriend had to work and the WiFI was great both in our room and down in the lobby/bar. The airport pickup/drop off was awesome and convenient. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you for sharing your experience from our hotel with other travelers. We are pleased to read such a great review.

We hope you will keep this positives moments for a long time!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Returned last night from a three night stay at this wonderful hotel.A mix of quaintness & eccentricity give it a warm atmosphere.Coupled with the excellent staff with a wealth of knowledge we had a perfect stay.Clean cozy rooms with modern bathrooms .Breakfast buffet fit for royalty.Would recommend this hotel without hesitation .

Room Tip: As this is not a non smoking Hotel we requested a Non Smoking room which we were more than happy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello dear guests.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Julian for your stay in Prague and your warm lines! Thank you for appreciating our staff at the reception- let s say we do have receptionist and concierge in one person:-)

We wish you a very nice day everywhere you are.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Second visit to the Hotel Julian, fourth trip to Prague, and there's a reason for that. Prague is a lovely city and this hotel is excellent. Its on the western bank of the Vlatava, but very easy walking distance into the Old Town, Jewish Quarter, Hradcarny, etc. Its also close to tram routes and bus routes. Catch the No9 tram upto the Castle from just up the road from the hotel, or walk up the steps through the delightful Little Quarter, or catch the funicular railway.
Hotel is clean, very comfortable, and has a lovely family-run atmosphere about it. If you've been walking round the city all day DON'T sit in those comfy chairs in the lounge - you won't get up again!
Breakfast is good with a decent variety of the European kind - I especially liked the mini button mushrooms done with caraway. Ask at Reception for tickets fro the trams etc, and don't forget they will store your suitcases in lockable cupboards until you need to depart. We will definitely be going back to Prague and definitely staying at the Julian again.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for staying with us for your second time in Prague. We are pleased you came back to stay at Hotel Julian!

All the reviews are very important for us, but such a great review you are sharing here remind us why we love this job:-) Thank you for seeing all the positives you wrote to your message! We will do our best to be even better when you will be staying in here for the third time :-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,403 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offerin sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing