We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved prague”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2008

overall we enjoyed our stay at hotel julian the staff were lovely and the lobby area was comfortable elegant and spacious the breakfast was basic but still enjoyed usual continental breakfast. The bar in the cellar was nice and we had a drink there but did not eat there. The hotel has good transport links with the centre with the tram stop being right outside the hotel. The room was adequate although did smell of cigarette smoke which was off putting but found that a lot of prague smells of smoke as there are hundreds of smokers which we are not used to now due to smoking ban. hope this review has helped!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalesdame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2008

stayed here with 3 three girlfriends for a long weekend fri-mon. very clean and breakfast is good. Its about 10-15 mins walk to charles bridge. Roof-top terrace is good for pre night out drinks, (we had our own wine/snacks - did not seem to mind).
area is quite so sleep is not disturbed...all in all would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank binzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in Hotel Julian, Prague. As this was my first trip to Prague I was not too sure what to expect and upon arriving I was constantly pleasantly suprised.

I stayed in a double room (beds pulled apart to make twin room) - which was very comfortable with TV, mini-bar and tea-coffee making facilities. The ensuite shower was excellent - a very nice modern power shower with cubicle.

The rest of the hotel is very much like the pictures from the website.

Breakfast was the usual mix of continental foods (tea, coffee, croissants, breads, cereal, fruit, hams, cheeses, yoghurts etc) and accompanied by a tray of eggs and bacon.

Staff were so friendly and helpful (even displaying the next day's weather forecast at reception).

Location of this hotel couldn't have been better - 10-15 minute walk to Charles Bridge, 15-20 minute walk to Prague Castle (although be prepared to walk up steep steps) and 5 minute walk from local Tesco's.

The only downside was my trip was during August and the hotel was very warm - no air conditioning.

All in all a very good trip!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank victoriakynaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I took my wife and son for a 4-night stay in the Julian Hotel in August 2008.From start to finish this was a brilliant hotel. A bit on the small side (33 rooms) it had mostly a quiet middle-age clientele.However this suited us. The room had tv (multi channel), mini-bar, hair dryer,shower/bath etc, which was cleaned every day by the maid. Breakfast was a beautiful buffet (help yourself) of ham,cheese,bacon sausages, coffee, cereal,etc. in other words you won't starve.The staff spoke English and were very polite. We bought our metro tickets from them and they showed us where to visit, etc.The city itself is absolutely fantastic, a sightseers paradise.
The Hotel had a basement bar which also served snacks...very cheap but very hot down there! But you could also get a drink at reception while watching TV or reading in the library. A great hotel, not for party people but for people like me, looking for a great place to stay in Prague...highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Derrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Julian is located 10 mins walk from the theatre and 15mins to old town. Rooms are good, with aircon [at front anyway], with good dbl glazing so it is quiet from the road noise. Breakfast is very good, plenty of choice continental and hot buffet. What is new is a fantastic roof terrace where you can relax with a drink and view the castle and wooded hill nearby. Great hotel for summer and winter. Prague is great anyway - been 4 times now, and Hotel Julian best overall value for us. - we like it quiet, within walking distance of the sites and walked through the park every morning!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived, but it was a pleasant shock when we arrived. The hotel was very pristine, had a sitting room, a restaraunt, a dining area for breakfast, a computer (you do have to pay to use it, though) and best of all, everything was in english.

Our room for a family of 4 turned out to be a suite, so the quality and size was excellent. The bathroom was actually big enough to move around in, there were 2 seperate rooms with the beds, and the tv actually played american movies. Every day, the bathroom was stocked with more shampoo and more body gel.

The breakfast provided by the hotel was quite filling. There were scrambled eggs, soft boiled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, a few types of cereal, croissants, rolls, meats, cheeses, several types of yogurt, fresh fruit, apple strudel, and coffee cake.

The only drawback to the hotel was its location. It wasn't exactly right in the middle of everything. The walk to the nearest tram stop was only about 4 min, but to most major attractions, you couldn't walk- you had to ride a tram to get to it. If you're desperate, you can walk to some things. We actually did walk to the Charles' Bridge in about 45 min.

The hotel does actually sell tram tickets, so that made it easy. Every morning we just bought all day tickets and saved a lot of time. They also offer an affordable taxi service to the airport. If you want to save stress, it might be worth it to use the service. We actually did, and it turned out to be great.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I just returned after a three night stay at the Hotel Julian in Prague. First the bad. The hotel's location is not exactly central. it is about a 5 minute walk and then a 10-15 minute tram ride to any major attraction. The hotel is near some decent restaurants, but the area surrounding the hotel seemed slightly sketchy (however, I should note that there are strip clubs and casinos all over Prague). All of this being said, I think that the location shouldn't be a major turn off, especially considering the value of the hotel.

The good. The staff at the hotel was very kind and helpful. They were very good assistance in booking tours and the front desk staff was always willing to render assistance. The rooms, while not 4 star, are very comfortable and large in size. For the price of the room, I felt like the hotel was a good value. There is also a tiny Irish pub in the basement of the hotel, where we had dinner on our last night at the hotel. We found the food to be good and the little pub to be a nice place to spend the evening.

Overall, I found the hotel to be a nice, welcoming place to stay. I would recommend it to fellow travellers, but include the caveat that the location is not completely central.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tresura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 647 in Prague
1,054 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,799 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 647 in Prague
1,439 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#55 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £57 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing