We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were In Prague March 2014. What a beautiful city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Julian. As we were arriving to the city late in the evening, we took advantage of the hotel's car service and were met at the airport without a hitch. We were traveling with our daughter and had booked a triple. Our room was clean and spacious and comfortable. We had an entry room with an additional table and chairs as well as a microwave, refrigerator and wet bar with dishes and utensils. Certainly more than we needed, but was very nice to have and more than we had expected. The hotel is lovely. The downstairs sitting room has fresh water and cookies or pastries and was a relaxing space to enjoy. The hotel also has an outdoor terrace where you could take your breakfast or a drink and enjoy the view, as well as a small restaurant that serves local fare which was very cute, although we did not eat there,we were able to get a glass of wine from the bar on our way to our room.
If you don't mind a little walk, it is an easy 10 - 15 minutes to the Charles Bridge, but was right on the tram route if you didn't want to walk it.
Breakfast was good, fresh yogurt in small mason jars, pastries, cheese, etc standard fare for Europe, but good and plenty of choices to start your day. While we liked everything about the hotel overall, I think their greatest asset is their staff who would go out of their way to help you with your plans to enjoy their city.
We especially enjoyed talking with Vaclov. He not only helped us with restaurant reservations, gave us some suggestions of things to see in Prague, (we would definitely recommend the farmers market along the water Saturday mornings), and helped us mail our postcards. He shared his love of country and the city of Prague. He was a pleasure. What a gracious young man, and an exceptional example of hospitality and customer service. While we had a wonderful trip through Europe this year, the level of service and care at the Hotel Julian was the top of our list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guests.

Every manager would be happy to read this. Even more when he is reading such a great review on the latest person in our team - reptionist Vaclav. I am pleased he is doing well his job and he helped you with everything.

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us:-) We are thankful for every word you wrote.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    359
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
385
714
78
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A good, friendly, small hotel in Prague 5, about 15-30 minutes walk from Prague centre, Charles Bridge, and Prague Castle, and close to a tram stop. Comfortable, well furnished, always manned lobby/ reception area accessed through a normally locked door from the street by ringing a bell.The room was a good size and clean with all facilities. Breakfast excellent.
The local area looks a little run down, but has some good bars and restaurants slightly away from the main tourist hubs. The hotel is close to the riverside making an easy, pleasant walk towards the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanF07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Julian.

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing information you find important.

I think the bell at the front door makes our guest feel save and it is a part of security of the hotel which is very important for us.

We hope your journey back was pleasant and you are save home.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Hotel Julian and we must admit that it just keeps getting better!
Yes, the excellent staff are always on hand to help with anything that you need, yes, the rooms are all spotlessly clean and well appointed and yes, the buffet breakfast is extensive and tasty, with an array of hot and cold food.
Upon arrival, the reception was rather busy and we were advised to wait in the drawing room in one of their exquisitely comfortable chairs. We were only there for a few minutes when our keys etc. were brought to us along with a welcome cup of coffee.
When entering our room, which was ready for us despite the early hour of our arrival, we found a lovely personalised note on our pillow, welcoming us back to the Hotel Julian.
On the penultimate day of our stay we enquired about using the leisure facilities later that evening. Despite the fact that the cleaning staff would have left by the time the previous users of the facilities had finished, the receptionist (sorry, I am terrible with names) cleaned the sauna and whirlpool bath and replenished the towels and gowns. This was truly above and beyond expectations.
The leisure facilities (well, Sauna) were great and I may be even tempted to try the cross-trainer on my next visit!
Many thanks for another wonderful stay and we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello our dear guests!

Thank you so much for this great review. We are pleased you appreciate our work for the third time! There is no better reward than happy return guest :-)

I am happy to see our staff helped you with everything you needed and that your arrival was pleasant...what I hope for is that this arrival was not the last one and we will surprise you and your wife next time even more:-)

Kind regards from your Hotel Julian

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in July, at the height of the tourist season. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful.
The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom quite large and above all, everything was very clean.
The hotel is a good value and it's location is quite near the tram stop. We had a large room with three beds!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear clients.

It is nice from you to write us this nice review even if you stayed with us last year. Every review counts, no matter what the reservation date is!

We are looking forward to high season after few winter months...so will you come back:-)

Kind regards


Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budaors, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tastefully furnished, very well equipped, immaculate purity hotel.
Excellent location in a quiet street but very close to the centre and good public transport. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you and your friends for your stay with us.

Thank you also for mentioning purity of the hotel. Clients cannot see our chambermaids very often, but anyway they do really good job. Usualy we do not see their effort and we realize it when the job is not done properly. One of our chambermaids celebrated last year her 20th year at Hotel Julian :-) We are glad she stays with us!

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Julian for four nights. Located in part of the city which is quieter, better value, but very close to all the main attractions in the centre - just ten minutes walk or two tram stops. Staff very friendly and helpful with good English and good advice. Rooms comfortable, modern, well furnished, service good and a quiet ambience. Buffet breakfast excellent with full range on offer including cereals, range of breads, cooked breakfast, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, coffee and tea. Relaxed and plentiful. Would recommend Hotel Julian to anyone who wants a good base to exploring the city.

Room Tip: Room 101 although close to lift was very quiet. No views but we were out all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello dear guest.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to read our hotel staff helped you during your stay and that you enjoyed your breakfast . We understand that breakfast is very important start to a day . Even more when it is tourist day!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A word of caution - if you are making a reservation at this hotel, please note their requirement that a reservation cancellation is non-refundable. We were making several reservations for our visit to Europe this summer and chose Hotel Julian for our three night stay in Prague. We changed our travel itinerary and requested a refund, which was three months before our arrival. They refused to give us our $450 refund, which to us is a lot of money! Fortunately our credit card company worked on our behalf and got our refund for us. I'm sure this is a nice hotel, but three months cancellation notice should be enough time for them to replace our reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear tourist.

Please, let me respond to your review.

Hotel Julian provides discount for 3,4 nights stays (standard, refundable rate) and non-refundable rate. It depends on a client which rate he preferes. You can check this information on our website as well as on any selling portal we cooperate with directly.

If a client contact us with request of cancellation of non-refundable rate we are always open to communicate his situation. We offer a change of the term of the pre- payment reservation and our clients have possibility to come to the hotel in next 1 year or to present this reservation to his friends and family.

We have not recieved any request to cancel your pre- payment reservation neither any credit card company contacted us to cash back 450dolars. According to our bank reports we did not return 450dolars.

We have not registrated this situation so we are not sure you are writting this review to the right hotel. If a travel agent provided you wrong information we are sorry about it but any of our partners did not contact us regarding this situation.

We are very sorry about this problem and we would be gratefull to know through what agent or portal you have reserved your room.

We are opened to solve the problem with any reservation. Please, do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly, we will always find a solution.

With kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
641 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#20 of 649 in Prague
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,682 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing