We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Does What it says on the Box”
Review of K+K Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
K+K Hotel Fenix
Ranked #140 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Not quite on the infamous Wenceslas Square, but just two minutes' walk away, this hotel is a perfect sightseeing base. A typical city hotel with a rather business-like air, it nevertheless boasts friendly staff and good service - all with a smile. Our twin-bedded room was a good size with a well-performing TV and air conditioning, tea-making facilities and a good room service. It was functional rather than lavish but with its spotless bathroom and general air of cleanliness, it prompts no complaints from me. One bonus facility is the free use of a computer and Wifi. I personally found the bar area a little too formal for me. This, combined with the typically high hotel drink prices, deterred us from making use of it. But top marks to the bar man who was on the ball at all times. We didn't make use of the spa area as all we wanted to do after a five-hour city trek each day was to chill out in the room. But after one particular long walk I was nearly tempted by one of the massages which seemed reasonably priced. The breakfast area was, again, quite formal, and although Champagne is a nice touch, an even nicer one would be to have a jolly chef around to make omelettes! Expect a more Germanic breakfast of cold meats, cheese, fruit, bread ( you can make toast) and a selection of cakes. As the title of this review says, the K & K Fenix did exactly what it says on the box - provide a good standard of conveniently situated accommodation four our four-day stay. So - I can't fault the hotel, but having got to know Prague a bit, I would say it is NOT crucial to be in the Wenceslas Square area with its tourist-trap restaurants and prices. Other areas of the city seemed to be more user-friendly and just as quaint. As with other reviewers, I feel sorry the Fenix, an obviously reputable hotel, has its sign over-shadowed by a 'dancing girls' neon sign and is surrounded by strip joints. I travelled with a female friend and because we returned to the hotel quite early each evening, we did not experience any hassling or awareness of what apparently seems to be a rather dodgy lot late at night! None of this detracts from the hotel and all it has to offer to both locals and visitors.

Room Tip: Our room, 247, was on the darker side of the hotel and looked out onto the rather gloomy hotel '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE90082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is lovely clean and just everything you need when u are in a foreign country and looking for a place to come back to every night. The staff are friendly and always willing to help ( with immediate responses to any emails you even send them before your visit). The rooms are lovely not to small but not massive , however more than enough for 2 people. Breakfast is plentiful, but the hotels busy so pick your times carefully. The road it is situated on is weird with nightclubs on it, but we never felt scared and its so close to food and attractions worth getting over that. There is an amazing cheese place at the end of e road that everyone needs to go in at least once. This is definitely with every cent we paid to stay here and would stay here again if in Prague.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Pty. Chantel

Thank you for taking time and reviewing our property.

I am really delighted to read about your positive experience with our service, especially about your very first contact with our hotel before your arrival.

Thank you also for emphasizing our central location, superior breakfast and also general cleanness in the hotel.

Anytime traveling to Prague, please remember, we would be delighted to welcome you in our K+K Hotel Fenix again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A well appointed hotel with all amenities and excellent staff . Within walking distance of the main squares of pragueA very good . Champagne breakfast is a bonus
Only negative is the street in which it is located with a number of night clubs

Room Tip: Avoid a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Pty. Raman

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read, that you have had an enjoyable stay. With pleasure I will pass your compliments to our team. Your kind feedback is a wonderful encouragement for them.

Thank you also for mentioning our central location. Our guest can reach the main tourist attractions within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you in any of our K+K Hotels in the near future again.

Best regards

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The K+K Hotel Fenix is a great property overall. The public areas and the rooms are well appointed and for the most part rather comfortable. The staff was welcoming and very helpful with suggestions pertaining to local restaurants and sights. The main issue is the location. On a map it looks great, right off of Wenceslas Square near the National Museum. The area during the day is fine, a bit touristy with lots of souvenir shops and fast food restaurants but at night it changes completely. Be advised that the hotel is located on a street filled with strip clubs with extremely aggressive "hawkers" trying to get pedestrians to come into their establishments. Normally a simple "no thank you" would work but we actually had one of them follow us for 3 blocks! It actually got to the point where we were getting a bit worried. Also, the square is filled with prostitutes at night which isn't exactly the most pleasant way to stroll back to the hotel after a nice evening out.

Again, the hotel is great and a wonderful value (lower prices due to it's location I presume) it's just sad that such a nice place is marred by its location.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that is NOT facing the street, at night it gets extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltasigguy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Mr. Deltasiqquy

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our property.

I am really delighted to read such a positive comments to our welcoming and helpful staff.

The K+K Hotel Fenix enjoys a very central location in the heart of the city. There are unfortunately two night clubs in the Ve Smeckach street. Let me assure you that we are very intensively acting against this phenomenon.

Moreover it is very rewarding to find out, that we stay “a great property at all” in your memories

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed with my mother 4 days, very close to the square, Petr the
Concierge was incredibly helpful with arranging cars, giving directions and general tips.
We shared a bed the first night arriving after midnight - moved to a twin room on request the next day.
I enjoyed a Lomi Lomi massage in the spa - everything clean and accommodating.
Breakfast Buffett a real treat with long times until midday and late check out at 12
Free Wifi in our second room very patchy sometimes dissappears, but v reliable in the foyer and the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Mrs. Kaitlyn A

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Prague.

I am delighted to read, that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay. Especially I am pleased to find out, that our reception team was helpful and professional. With pleasure I will pass your compliment to Petr.

Thank you also for your comment to the inconstant WiFi connection. I will forward it to our IT specialist.

We hope to welcome you in any of our K+K Hotels in the near future again.

Your´s sincerly

Marie Zlesáková
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Have just returned from a long weekend break , despite street beiing a bit seedy - excellent location . Staff attentive and friendly and lovely experience. Breakfast Buffet was very nice , but would be good to vary menu so we one does not get exactly the same every morning. Never been to Prague before, loved it and hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Mr. NG55

Thank you for choosing our K+K Hotel Fenix during your stay in Prague.

Your kind feedback is a wonderful encouragement for the entire team. With pleasure I will share your compliments with them.

Anytime travelling to Prague again, please remember, we will always be delighted to welcome you back.

With best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A lovely hotel in a nice quiet location. We were 2 couples who stayed her for 4 nights. The hotel is elegant with friendly staff. Rooms are modern and clean with all the amenities you need. Beds were turned down every night and a delicious Belgian chocolate left for each guest. It was also nice to get a complimentary bottle of water every day.
The breakfast was delicious and waiting staff were very efficient at replacing and topping up dishes. The selection of food on offer was excellent especially the champagne!!
I must mention Petra on reception who was fantastic with such a charming and professional manner. Nothing was too much trouble! I would recommend her for the Employee of the month award. The only downside to my stay was the 2 single beds and the soft pillows which I did not like.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite as they are definitely bigger. Ask for a double bed as hotel only provides sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayfairtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Mrs. Mayfairtravel

Thank you for taking time and reviewing our property.

I am delighted to read such a positive experience, especially about our staff as we focus on training our staff to be professional, attentive and try always to accommodate all of our guests`s needs.
With pleasure I will pass your compliments to Petra and our team in the breakfast restaurant. Your words will help them to stay motivated and keeping to provide the best customer care.

You are right - there are twin rooms with 2 single beds but also queen size beds with one mattrasse in our hotel.

I hope you get a future occasion to return again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesáková
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#79 of 646 in Prague
2,951 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#177 of 646 in Prague
1,513 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 646 in Prague
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Fenix

Address: Ve Smechkach 596/30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Prague
#51 Family Hotel in Prague
#67 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#120 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £58 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This first class hotel, a remarkable architectural landmark, enjoys an excellent location in an upcoming lively area, just a few steps from lively Wenceslas Square, the "Golden City's" centre with all its wonderful sights, museums, shops and restaurants. As all K+K Hotels, it offers state-of-the-art amenities, elegantly furbished guest-rooms and combines contemporary interior design and the best of traditional hospitality. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and public areas. Free access to the hotel's Business Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. Complimentary downloads of over 3.000 International newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your K+K Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Fenix
k Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing