We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hotel full of Ambiente”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Ranked #65 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Hotel full of Ambiente”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel just for a weekend trip, only 4 days in advance. I got an upgrade to junior suite (for free, they didn't even mention it at all).

The room was tidy, spacious with matching antique furniture and a big and very comfy bed. The windows were from stained glass and the ceiling was painted. There even was a fireplace in the room, but it was only decoration. The bathroom was clean and equipped with high quality care products. In the corridor there was a big closet with an small kitchen (sink, cooktop, kitchen hood) but it lacked all the equipment and cutlery.

The hotel is near the castle, but to get to the old city you have to walk quite a bit. Not a problem, since this part of town is really beautiful.

Breakfast was tasty and abundant, the only negative thing to say about this hotel is that only coffee "americano" is free for breakfast and every other type of coffee is extra.

Go and stay there! Prague is beautiful and this hotel is as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    147
    31
    7
    0
See reviews for
82
304
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in kings suite for 4 nights Feb 2014.Chose the room for decor and the kitchen.Well,decor excellent,kitchen....nice to look at ,but not plumbed in or wired in.As much use as a kitchen in B&Q!Wish i had taken my travel kettle and cups.Every thing else ....brilliant.Cant fault the staff,the breakfast[they even supply a toaster],clean ,friendly and welcoming.The airport transfers they arranged for us worked like a dream...no stress at each end of your stay.I would have given it 5/5 if it wasnt for the daft kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for 1 week in February 2014. Searched something matching old fairytale Prague. Something not usual, not official, made for romantic mood. U Krale Karla offered good price and had good rating at Tripadvisor.
Location. Picturesque street, Prague Castle just 2 minutes by walk. walking to the old town you will always cross the Cherles Bridge and it's amazing. Excellent.
Desing. Wood, pictures, stained-glass windows, fireplace in the hall. But the hotel is real tiny, there isn't any lobby al all. just hasn't place. It's not a problem. Very nice.
Room. Also nice design, in one style, not small. But. Dust was everywhere in the room, it flew around when I switched the lamp on,hopped of from the pillows and blanket. I felt like King Charles was the last who lived in this room centuries ago??! Other issue is water in sink and shower, the flow is very weak and it's almost impossible to adjust water temperature in the shower. Uncomfortable. And please note, that wifi doesn't work in last room - 403.
Breakfast. Small but really good and tasty.
Most of staff was friendly and hopeful.
Would I come back to the hotel? If they clean room, repair cranes and improve wifi signal - yes. I hope my feedback will help them to improve.

Room Tip: wifi doesn't work in last room at 4th floor - 403.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roda, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have stayed here several times and always had a pleasant stay. Staff are very good always willing to help,breakfast very good. Location with in walking distance of all attractions. Excellent bar next door. We are going back on February 6th for four days can't wait. Ahoy.

Room Tip: Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is very nice, small and quite. The service is good and the hotel has very autentique atmosphere. We really liked our stay here. I will definetely recommend this hotel. Thank you. The reception staff is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had an excellent time staying at this hotel. A great location though is on a hill. Very near to the castle and in a peaceful location with plenty of restaurants and shops very near by There are stairs to the various landings (4) though you may want to take the lift especially if you have cases to transport. The staff were reserved initially but through talking to them we found them very helpful and friendly especially Anna on reception and Martha. Spacious and clean rooms that were typically Czec.Despite reading that this time of year that some people found the rooms cold, we found the reverse so did have the window open. The only slight downside was breakfast. Plenty of choice re rolls cold choices, cereal, cake and fruit. However little choice with hot breakfast, same everyday frankfurter, boiler egg and small pancakes all of which could have been a lot warmer. Would definatly recommend this hotel to those wanting to experience Prague, visit the tourist spots, wanting a good nights sleep and fairly fit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths other have showers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynehipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#39 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#46 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)

Property: Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Address: Uvoz 4/38 | Hradcany, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel King Charles - U Krale Karla is a boutique hotel situated in one of the best locations in the city. The King Charles - U Krale Karla offers you 19 well equipped rooms reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests accommodation near the one of the largest castles in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Karla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing