We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice for absorbing the atmosphere of fairytale Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Ranked #67 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for absorbing the atmosphere of fairytale Prague”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Both the hotel and the location score top marks. Within walking distance of pretty much the whole city, U Krale Karla combines character with modern conveniences. The rooms - presuming that ours was representative - are more than spacious, with sofa, chairs and table as well as comfortable beds and pillows. Lovely painted ceilings and stained glass windows look out over magical rooftops and cobbled streets. There was hardly any noise, either from the road or other guests, breakfast was excellent - unlimited choice of cold and hot dishes, and Prague well worth another visit - we would definitely choose the same hotel.

Room Tip: We loved 405 - right at the top and at the back, but we didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    147
    30
    7
    0
See reviews for
81
300
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Forget your massive star Hotels in Prague, go for character,hand painted ceilings,leaded light windows in your room, totally in keeping with the Architecture of Prague, 10 minutes from Charles Bridge,excellent food and helpful staff, do the Official Prague Tour, takes 6 hours with lunch and great value,also the River Cruise and Dinner.Avoid the Tourist trap Restaurants behind the Hotel,there are excellent great value small Restaurants all the way down to the Bridge, including an excellent pasta Restaurant,never eat where they just display pictures of the food,wave away bowls of crisps baskets of bread,they are not complimentary
If you love historic buildings you will love Krala Carla,

Room Tip: Can only recommend where we stayed 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Situated near the Castle, this adorable small hotel with large rooms is a perfect starting point for walks in the historical centre. At walking distance of Novy Svet, Strahov monastery and of course the castle, it is a perfect place that breathes history. And despite the nearness of the royal road, it is always quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter13041957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Mala Strana (the little quarter) has always been my favourite part of Praha, yet I have never stayed there (until now). I booked this hotel as it is in the middle of that long and somehow steep walk (beginning as Nerudova and ending up as Uvoz) on the way up to the beautiful Strahov-monastery. It goes without saying that the views from up here are just stunning whichever way you look, and it has more air and clarity that downtown. The hotel is not big, 4 floors with 6 rooms on each (on average), but they are very beautiful. The furniture is historic in style (Renaissance to Baroque) but mixed with modern fixtures (hidden where appropriate) so that the whole is just delicious. My 4th floor room had old-style floral painted ceiling beams as well, which added to the whole, and my window was also painted. The room is spacious, with its own corridor fitted with plenty and roomy wardrobes, and a lovely bathroom with gold and marble (and wonderful products!). I have only two things to comment on in a negative way. The shower was a bit odd because it seemed unable to hold one temperature, it was constantly changing between a little bit too hot and a little bit too cold so that showering really became an eye opening experience in the morning, and the bed - although very comfortable - was a tad short for my long legs (although I am just 6'1). Apart from this everything was a wonder, the staff was beyond helpful, the breakfast was good and the property itself is just magic! Go see!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 1, 2 and 3 are on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DSS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night whilst visiting Czech Republic. The hotel is an easy (uphill) walk from Charles Bridge and the old part of Prague. We were amazed by the fabulous room, huge and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, no problem finding a table in the lovely dining area. If you arrive for food when it is busy there is space in the lounge area next to the restaurant. We chose to eat out as the road down to town is full of restaurants and bars. Also there are a couple of good little cafe bars next door. Overall we loved our stay here, and would love to stay again. Excellent value for £70 b n b

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pibpog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located with a 15 minute walk from Charles bridge. It sits under the Prague castle and is also on top of a hill. If you have mobility issues, you would probably need a taxi to get to the bridge or into the old town.
The hotel has some old world charm and most of the rooms are of good size. There seems to always be a smell of smoke throughout the common area s, as smoking is allowed in the lobby and bar. I am not sure this hotel deserves all four stars, but overall it offers pretty good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Full of character, comfortable, clean, fantastic staff and a great location adjacent to the Castle. The price we paid was low compared to other (lesser looking) hotels in Prague. Breakfast was reasonable and the complimentary juice on reception (great when you're returning from a warm walk) was a really nice touch.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Originaleveready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 670 in Prague
738 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 670 in Prague
625 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#36 of 670 in Prague
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#48 of 670 in Prague
288 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#66 of 670 in Prague
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)

Property: Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Address: Uvoz 4/38 | Hradcany, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel King Charles - U Krale Karla is a boutique hotel situated in one of the best locations in the city. The King Charles - U Krale Karla offers you 19 well equipped rooms reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests accommodation near the one of the largest castles in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Karla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing