We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, historic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #11 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed 1 night at this adorable updated, yet historic feeling hotel and was delighted. My only surprise was that my room was up a winding staircase of 74 stairs and I didn't realize there was no elevator except a small one for luggage. The staff is warm, helpful and accommodating. The attached small restaurant served a terrific dinner - someplace I would definitely return. I felt a bit like Rapunzel in the tower, but the bed was very comfortable, WiFi worked great. You can hear other guests in the halls, but that is common and not surprising. It is well located - near Wenceslas Square, Metro, etc. I highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind stairs.

Room Tip: It is about 25 stairs to each higher floor, so ask for a lower room if you dislike climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meritagesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Have just got back from a long weekend in Prague staying in the Jewel. What a find! with so many hotels to choose from and having never been to Prague before I booked this based on word of mouth, so glad i did! Fantastic location everything within walking distance. Rooms are lovely everything you need, they are nice and warm and shower is good also. Staff couldnt have been more helpful nothing was too much trouble and they gave us some great local information on places to go visit/eat etc. Food and drink in the hotel was fantastic also couldnt find fault if i tried! Martin the barman knows his stuff on cocktails! We also used the hotels airport transfer service which was great and made our travelling stress free. All in all a fantastic base for your trip to Prague. It made our trip and we will be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sapphire suite on 2nd floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just blocks from the Old Town area, in a lovely old building, with a curved marble staircase up to the rooms, this delightful boutique hotel served us well for four days in early October. Arriving from Krakow, the hotel had a driver pick us up at train station. Our room was appointed well, with eco-friendly fixtures, comfortable beds, duvets, double windows allowing both light and quiet, with all opening if we wished. The breakfasts were the best in the three countries we visited; smoked fish, fruits, cheeses, bread sourced from local bakery, croissants, hearty whole grains, fresh squeezed juices, home made little pots of yogurt and amazingly, light as air scrambled eggs with shallots served in a champagne flute! Dinner served too and terrific hand shaken cocktails! Then taxi available to airport bus at train station. Great stay, lovely, helpful staff.....wonderful last few days in Eastern Europe.

Room Tip: We loved the Diamond room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senior650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Going to Prague first time in my life -- September might not be the best weather but less tourists: I've been 100% happy with that choice, staying downtown in a fair priced and clean hotel --- other than this, read the title ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnsgarS-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is not four star. This hotel is not for mature people, especially if you want to get any sleep throughout the night. Parking out front is a joke, we had a compact car and had to touch park cars in front and back in the hotel's "reserved" carpark in the street in front of the hotel, and paid 10 euro for the pleasure. The hotel is so noisy as other guests walk to their rooms throughout the night and the noise on the street is unbearable.

The hotel is dark as lighting is limited in the public areas and rooms.

If you have a normal size suitcase expect to carry it up and down the stairs as the luggage lift is for small luggage only.

Breakfast and location were the only positive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gdconna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Hallo,
I really need to react to this review since most of the stuff written below is not correct.

1. Our hotel officially received 4* after fulfilling all EU requirements. If the guest is complaining about the number of stars based on how good or bad he could park, on other guests making noise or the fact that our hotel is too dark then I am sorry but these things has nothing to do with the number of stars assigned to the given hotel. On the contrary, our hotel provides number of 5* hotels services like turndown etc., as you can read in almost 100 of excellent and very good reviews here on Tripadvisor.

2. Prague is very expensive city in regard of parking in the very centre of the city and I am 100% sure you will not be able to find parking for less than 15-20 EURO per day. We have only one parking place available and previous booking is necessary. These guests asked for a parking place in advance but unfortunately it was not available at that moment. However, due to cancellation it was available on the day of their arrival and they were able to use it. Their car was wolsvagen beatle and there was still plenty of space ½ meter in front of it as well as at the back – all based on screening footage from our security camera system. So there was a free parking place which the guests used and for which they paid 10 EURO! If they would have parked somewhere else thein car would be most likely towed away since there are resident zones. Or they could use one of the paid parking places in the centre where you can pay up to 40 EUR a day. I really don’t see what this complaint is about. Did the guest want more spacious parking place? For what? Is it just a problem with parking skills? I let everyone to make thein own picture.

3. I am very sorry but we are not able to take any action regarding other guests making noise in the halls if we are not informed about it. If we were informed we would immediatly try to solve the issue. We learned about this problem only from the review. If there was other noise from the outsider of the building we are sorry about that but our hotel is located in the very centre of the city where people are around all night long, but we never recieved any complaints regarding outsider noise.

4. Problem with the amount of light in the rooms. All our rooms are equipped with 6 different kinds of lights: 1. ceiling spot lights, 2. chandelier, 3. lighted mirror, 4. lighted bed, 5. illuminated ceiling, 6. reading light. Not many hotels of our category has this many different kinds of lights in rooms. I totally can’t agree with statement that our hotel is dark. You can see the pictures on our websites.

5. The luggage issue. After the arrival of the guests their luggage was taken to their room by one of our staff. Upon check out the guest brought one of their luggage straight to the reception and other luggage was again brought down by our staff. Each guest can call the reception and ask for their luggage to be taken down and our staff will gladly do it. Our hotel is located in the building originally dated to 14th century (heritage listed building) and during the reconstruction we were not able to fit in a bigger elevator. It should not be a problem for our guest because there is our staff to take care of their luggage.

As the owner of Jewel Hotel I am glad and appreciate any constructive criticism, however this review seems to me like it was made just for a complaints sake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Jewel is just that !!! We had a fantastic 3 night stay there 2 weeks ago and in 2 words, we "LOVED IT".
the breakfast was the best that we had in our 3 week stay in Europe. All the wonderful cheese's, breads, meats, etc. along with fresh cut fruit, veggies arranged in small bowls (unusual and welcome) capaccinos made to order and a menu to order eggs any style, bacon, sausage etc. The restaurant is also very good...I had a very tasty ceasar salad with grilled chicken and it was great. It's really easy to make a bad ceasar and this one didn't disappoint. A full bar also although the czech republic isn't serving any hard alcohol right now...nothing stronger than 20%. The attentioin to detail in this hotel is wonderful. Every night that bring you a little plate of a different baked treat and a "bedtime story" ..... a card with fairytale lore....so unique.
the staff is very helpful and concerned that you enjoy your stay....Believe everything you read about this boutique hotel....it's charming!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diamond room which is on the 2nd floor in the front of the building. Although the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September and couldn't have been happier with our choice. This boutique hotel is one of the most well-run establishments we've ever stayed at. Our room, the Opal, was beautifully appointed, cozy and very clean. I loved all the unique touches such as a "bedtime story" and a sweet treat left in your room at night and fresh water every day. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating! We had so many questions and they always went above and beyond with a smile...even helping us get tickets to a KHL hockey game. The hotel's location is perfect on a quaint cobblestone alley that leads to the main square in the heart of Prague. We had drinks a few nights in the lobby and they make some fantastic mixed drinks (try the Bellini). The breakfast was really impressive...a really nice buffet spread and you can order anything from the menu which is included as well. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderlust0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,998 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,382 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
1,006 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
807 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £79 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing