We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #13 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very nice stay at the Design Hotel Jewel!
On the very good point, I would say the overall design, the breakfast (seriously outstanding!), the quality of the bed (though the quilts - yes, there are 2 - were positioned in a strange way and it was pretty cold during the night). The sofa + low table in the rooms adds to the comfort.
No elevator may be a minus, but there's at least a mini-elevator for the luggage, which was offered to us at our arrival. I don't think not having an elevator for a 10-rooms boutique hotel is a big problem. it adds to its charm. Another minus point is that the bathroom is pretty small, and the shower-pressure is pretty low.
Service was very good and people very friendly.
Very central location as well.
Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djaxou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Djaxou,

Thank You very much for your time and your review.
The heating system is being manually regulated so I am sorry You felt cold in the night.
I would like to mention that we not only have a small elevator for the luggage but we take the guests luggage to the rooms.
Size of the bathroom meets the EU standards for ****Hotels and we do not experience problems with shower pressure.
Thank You for high recommendations and we hope You will choose our hotel again if coming back to Prague!

Kindest regards,

Tonći Lončar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    94
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
346
78
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is right in the center and just a few minutes away from the first sights. A real highlight were the friendly staff and the excellent breakfast. The rooms are lovely decorated and make one feel like home. I really can recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ska303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family of 5 (3 teenagers) stayed at the Hotel Jewel for several nights right before Christmas. I have stayed in a number of properties around Europe and the Hotel Jewel is one of the very best I have ever stayed in. It is in an ideal location just a few shorts block from the old town square, Wenceslas square and Charles Bridge - all within easy 5 min walking distance. The hotel is well run, very nice rooms, really great breakfast and very helpful english speaking staff. The hotel has a lot of character and is very nicely decorated with up to date and clean / quality furnishings - not worn out and dated like many smaller hotels in Europe.

Tonci and the other staff went out of their way to help me correct some train tickets issues I encountered when I accidentally bought the wrong tickets to Vienna. He made several phone calls to the train station and took about 30 min out of his morning to make sure my problem was fixed. This was a huge help as I do not speak Czech and his efforts prevented me from having to go to the train station and waste my morning trying to fix the problem myself. Also they gave great suggestions for walks to take through town and places to eat.

As an aside, Christmas in Prague is a fantastic experience. The decorations, Christmas markets and atmosphere in the old town square and around town have to be seen to be believed - better than London, Vienna, Salzburg or Paris. Really magical like you picture in a fairy tale.

When I travel to Europe I try to stay away from big chain or business hotels and try to find local or family run hotels with 3 star quality located in the heart of the old town that include a nice breakfast and have some character. The Hotel Jewel exceeded every one of my expectations - it was an all around 4 star experience at a 3 star price. This was my first trip to Prague, but I will definitely stay in the Hotel Jewel whenever I return. I don't see how I could do any better - the Hotel Jewel is my new standard to compare to when traveling in Europe.

I know this review sounds over the top good, that's because it is. My reviews for the other places I stayed on this trip (London, Vienna, Salzburg, Paris) will not be this positive as each place was nice but fell short in one or two ares. You have found the hotel in Prague you are looking for, so just book it and look forward to your time in Prague…you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLK1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A nice.very clear.well decorated hotel in the heart of the old town.It is only few minutes walk from the majority of the places of touristic interest.The breakfast is rich .with good quality of products.The staff is very polite and helpful(Toni and the waitress of the breakfast are lonely)
The negative point of the hotel is the lack of elevator.Staying in first floor the problem is not very serious .but staying in third floor the lack of elevator(even for the baggages) is crushingly

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arsenikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I needed to stay in the centre of Prague only for one night arriving very late at night. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful during the booking process as well as during the stay. They also arranged a pick up from the airport. The hotel is right in the heart of Prague and only a few minutes walk away from the Old Square. The room was very clean and I loved the design and decor. I would recommend The Jewel Hotel to anybody looking for a small and unique hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room according to you favourite precious stone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Overall a nice hotel a stone's throw away from all the main sights.

Pros:
- The Amethyst room matched its photographs you can find on websites and was spacious enough,
- the staff is really nice and helpful,
- Wi-Fi works like a charm,
- the interior and theme of the hotel is very beautiful.

Cons:
- lovely touches they have (like bedtime stories and sweets) are being countered by a few minor negative details in daily room maintenance that caused the experience of staying there lack the anticipated finesse for me,
- mattress of the bed is way too soft,
- they should consider updating TV channels for non-Czech speaking guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biankonerabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time and reviewing your stay in our hotel. If only you could be more specific about the “minor negative details” so we could work on those and correct them. Regarding the TV channels I have to say that we have at least two channels of every major language (incl. Chinese). And we are sorry you found out mattress too soft, everyone prefers different softness. Once again thank you for your review.

Best,

Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked a three night stay at this beautiful hotel just before Christmas and it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.
The location is perfect, right in the centre of Prague with both the old town and the new town on your doorstep.
The hotel is unique with each room being individually designed and given it's own jewel name.
The room itself was cosy and had a real home from home feel with all amenities you would need and more.
It must be said also that the staff match the special surroundings, always smiling ready to help and speaking perfect English.
Breakfast in the bar area was superb with a good variety buffet provided and an option for hot food which again was excellent.
We cannot praise this Hotel and it's staff enough. A must stay for couples staying in this wonderful city. Thanks to Tonći and the Design Hotel Jewel , Happy Christmas and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,673 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,574 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Property: Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing