We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction guaranted”
Review of Hotel U Krize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel U Krize
Ranked #211 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tivon, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranted”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Very convivial place, ideally located for endless foot tours in the Old Prague, both sides of the river, Very rewarding buffet breakfast, allowing to start your day in the best mood...Cooperative and smiling personnel, efficient room service. In short, outstanding value for money. Warmly recommanded.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, you may want to ask a room not on the street side, especially if you wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    111
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
134
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

good location not far from charles bridge
far to noisey ruind the trip, no bath as indicated, you need a bath for a city break.
room was not as indictaed nobath very poor lighting
The noize was very upsetting
breakfast was good and sumstantial, onwer was ery nice, we were able to leave our belongings alll day as we had a late pick up.

Room Tip: ask for a quite room, near the back with a bath and lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I love the Hotel U Krize, the staff are polite, efficient and so helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble. The Hotel is very real, solid wood furniture, clean and freshly decorated throughout. You get a whole lot more than you pay for.

My best friend and I checked in and found we had a spacious double room, after asking for a twin, the next day we were moved to a two level room, with twin beds and bathroom up through the spiral stair case. The room was next to a quiet courtyard, beautiful. They had even put in the extra pillow I had asked for the night before, a very thoughtful touch.

The hotel is in an excellent position, opposite Petrin, the wooded hill with the funicular (go inside and get your tickets from the machine before joining the queue!) if you follow the paths to the statue you get the most stunning view across Prague and then can amble onto the palace and cathedral.

Food was great value, both at breakfast and in the restaurant at night. Cheap and a further 15% off for guests. El Cantina, right out of the hotel and along Ujezd has good vegetarian food.

I'd recommend no itenary in Prague, just walk, the city opens up before your eyes and is undescribably beautiful.

Enjoy the hotel for what it is and don't be put off by the negative comments, I don't have a large budget for travel but have done five star travel to camping, this hotel delivers quietly!

Room Tip: The split level suites are away from the road side which is a little noisy with the trams. Book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flossie-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We found this place quite easily and checking in and getting to the private parking was a hoot! Subterranian parking in a Car Elevator! Not for the fainted hearted reversing out of the garage into the elevator.......
Our room was clean and spacious though with old, creaky old furniture...Air condition was availabe but at an extra cost of 5Euros deposit.....Refundable on departure. The wifi in the room was intermittant and having complained to the daytime guy at reception basically fell on deaf ears...This guy's attitude through out our 3-day stay was basically "Who Cares, I don't" We had our room cleaned once in three days which wasn't acceptable due to wet weather when a shower and hot water is appreciated....Breakfast was good and plentyful and the woman who served everyone was a character.....bit like a crazy poodle!

Overall a good place to stay for the convenience of location which is opposite the hillside railway up to the fake Eiffel Tower and within easy walking distance of the old town...
I'd reccommend this placeto the basic holiday traveler who doesn't need the internet and enjoys whacky charm!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get a back room as the front is in front of a tram stop.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotoman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy, but the price also reflects that. We were travelling as 2 adults and 1 child, and our room consisted of 2 twin beds and one pull-out couch, on 2 levels (connected by a creaky spiral staircase). All of the hard furnishings were very old (antique?). The bathroom on the second floor was modern, but only a small bathtub (no shower). Breakfast was simple, but it was more than enough to get us on our way. The breakfast room is a restaurant later in the day, and it was very good and very reasonably priced - serving a wide variety of food. For hotel guests they offer a 15% discount at the restaurant. Would I recommend this? Yes, with the caveat that this is not plush or fancy but provides a clean and safe place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

After a month of hostels, we felt very spoiled at this hotel! For only a few dollars more than a hostel, not only did we get a twin private with an ensuite but also breakfast! The room was not super large but it was very clean, cozy, and quiet. It had air conditioning, a safe, and a small flat screen TV. The beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was great: cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, coffee, eggs, cheese, cakes...Everything you might want! The staff was very pleasant and helpful; they informed us how to get to Kutna Hora and printed the train schedule for us. The location is super! It is within walking distance to all of the major sites. I highly recommend this hotel. It is a great value for people with a tighter budget.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel had everything we needed- clean room, comfy beds, hot shower, free breakfast and close to all the main sights! It's literally across the street from Petrin Hill and a tram stop is right outside, so it was really easy to get to it from the airport. All the main sites were a 15-20 minute walk away and some of the city's best cafes and restaurants are nearby. The free breakfast is good too- toast, eggs, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, butter, jams, tea and coffee, juices. So all in all a good hotel if you're a no-frills type of person.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#118 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#223 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#248 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#151 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#132 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krize

Property: Hotel U Krize
Address: Ujezd 20 | Malá Strana, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Krize 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Krize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing