We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel U Krize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel U Krize
Ranked #209 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tasty Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Did not stay at the hotel but used the restaurant for a nice meal. Very well prepared meal with excellent taste. Excellent value. Very reasonably priced. Conveniently located near the Shrine of Infant Jesus of Prague. Walking distance to the Castle & the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    110
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
133
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Small, welcoming hotel set beside a tram route and busy road so best to ask for rooms at the back if possible. The receptionists are very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is very clean, towels changed daily. Basic décor in our attic room but wonderfully quiet. Firm bed, big, soft pillows. There is an air conditioning unit but the remote control has to be collected from reception after paying a small deposit - perhaps guests have run off with them! Take a hairdryer, there only seemed to be one for the whole hotel and never available. Plenty of coathangers in the wardrobe. The mini fridge is restocked daily. Bathroom had shower only but apparently some rooms do have a bath as well. Small tablet of soap and sachet of shampoo make up the toiletries. If you want to watch TV you will have to learn Czech, no English channels! The restaurant is spotless and serves an ample continental breakfast. We also had dinner there one night, plentiful, tasty and very reasonable - and guests receive a 15% discount. We walked everywhere from this hotel, Charles Bridge is about 10-15 minutes away and all the main tourist attractions are accessible. The hotel is opposite a beautiful park, take the funicular railway to the top where there is a gorgeous garden, also an observatory and a small scale (third size) replica of the Eiffel Tower which affords panoramic views of Prague. Then stroll down to the town and start your tour of unforgettable Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel unless you can put up with traffic and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

An excellent value hotel in good location near the river and the castle. We were in Prague during the flood alerts and the staff were reassuring about our safety but refused our offer of keeping the beer in our third floor room for safety. Tram noise is a problem although we were on 3rd floor at the back, so check if you are a light sleeper. This did not mar our stay. Breakfasts were OK - but good value for the price we paid for the room.

Room Tip: There are trams outside so ask for a rear room if you think the noise will disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was my second trip to Prague in 2 consecutive years. I wanted to stay in the same part of town as last time so I tried to find somewhere to stay there. The room was quaint and although not huge, spread over two levels joined by an old-fashioned spiral staircase. The Bathroom was very nice, and clean. There was a bath in the bathroom with the possibility to shower in the bath but no shower. This wasn't really a problem for me to jump in and out of but maybe for elderly people, it wouldn't be so funny. Someone cleaned and tidied the rooms every day ) and folded my pyjamas which I found a nice touch. Breakfast was pretty good, a broad breakfast buffet and even scrambled eggs and sausages on request. The Hotel is situated in a great location near the centre of the old town and about 10 minutes by foot from the fascinating Charles Bridge.

There were a couple of small things about the Hotel that slightly irritated me but I decided it wouldn't be fair to mention them. Also for that level of acommodation, I found it a bit over-priced but there were some festivals taking place while I was there so maybe that influenced the rate.

All in all, definitely a good place to stay. I would probably book a room there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Don't know about rooms to the street, but to back: no complaints about noise. Beautfully updated facilities in historic building; room very pleasant (not to mention spotlessly clean). Small restaurant very reasonably priced (as are rooms, online-booked); local food quite tasty, including beer on draft. Location easily reachable by streetcar from the Old Town and very practical for walks to Hradcany (the castle), along the way numerous eateries and watering holes, and right in the middle of historic Mala Strana. Had to go without breakfast for reasons of sightseeing, so no comments on that. Staff friendly and helpful. Within its classification: commendable!

Room Tip: Ask for room to back--just to avoid possible traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

There were some things I really liked about this hotel, but a few things I did not.

Good points:
Location is great: Centrally located. Tram #9 goes directly to the train station.
Breakfast was very good: They will make scrambled eggs and sausage upon request.
Furniture was nice: Old antique furniture in the rooms and halls gives the place a nice atmosphere, and the bed was very comfortable.
Spacious rooms: Very roomy and comfortable.

Bad points:
Carpet in the room is poor quality and bit ratty.
No bathtub in the bathroom.
Strong smell of cigarette smoke even though we requested a non-smoking room.
Mistakes on the final bill did not reflect the rate we booked, and the minibar charges were higher than posted in the room. Staff was happy to make corrections, but be sure to double check.

Overall I am satisfied because our room rate was very reasonable. I would stay here again, but only for a competitive rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latinum001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

15min walk from charles birdge. Very good central location. The staff were helpful and we highly recommend the restaurant downstairs that offers 15% discuount for hotel guests, The decor was a bit dated but acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holstom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#117 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#223 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#249 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#152 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#148 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krize

Property: Hotel U Krize
Address: Ujezd 20 | Malá Strana, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Krize 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Krize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing