We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location - as well as a good value....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Krize

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel U Krize
Ranked #211 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location - as well as a good value....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was in historic Praha for my buddy’s wedding and stayed the hotel and will stay again if visiting the historic city. Located a few blocks (about ten minute walk) from historic downtown (and the famous St Charles Bridge) at the foot of the mountain overlooking Praha (with a great restaurant on top, Neboziezek Petriknka) Hotel U Krize is in a historic building with character and very affordable. Rooms are small (European standards) and comes complete with WC and douche (toilet and shower). Beds are likewise European standards (small), but the mattresses are firm. Bring your own supply of shower soap and shampoo. Staff speaks excellent English and very competent and profession. WiFi is available for free and the a continental breakfast available every morning from 0700-1000 consisting of great European bread, cold cuts, cheese, fruits, vegetable (tomatoes and cucumber), yogurt, musli, and European coffee and juice. Great meal and a restaurant…typical European, healthy and filling. In the evenings, the restaurant becomes a bar where very tasty and affordable Czech bier (cheaper than coffee) can be imbibed. If driving to the hotel, parking may be a bit difficult on site. There is parking available, but if your vehicle is not European (in other words compact), you will be out of luck. A historic building, an elevator had been built in 1995(?). However, please note, the size of the elevator was dependent upon structural specifications, thus large vehicles may not fit.
Definitely a place to stay again.

Room Tip: in the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nakamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    107
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
129
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am a long-time fan of this restaurant in Mala Strana (Little Quarter) in Prague, not only because of the excellent food and service, but also because they have the best beer I've sampled: Uneticke Pivo, from a small private brewery in Prague - all natural, nothing artificial or chemical added, wonderful taste. I always wanted to try out their hotel, but their prices are a bit higher than other hotels I know in the area. Through an excellent special deal on booking.com, I was able to fit this hotel into my budget, and it was a very pleasant experience. The rooms are small, but very clean, and especially the AIR CONDITIONING is a boon in summer, as many hotels in Prague do not have air conditioning at all, and it can get VERY hot here! However, considering the quality for the price, there are other hotels that are better in this area that have a slightly lower base price. Still, if this hotel comes up in a special deal, I would highly recommend it! So close to everything, and quiet and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Did not stay at the hotel but used the restaurant for a nice meal. Very well prepared meal with excellent taste. Excellent value. Very reasonably priced. Conveniently located near the Shrine of Infant Jesus of Prague. Walking distance to the Castle & the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Small, welcoming hotel set beside a tram route and busy road so best to ask for rooms at the back if possible. The receptionists are very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is very clean, towels changed daily. Basic décor in our attic room but wonderfully quiet. Firm bed, big, soft pillows. There is an air conditioning unit but the remote control has to be collected from reception after paying a small deposit - perhaps guests have run off with them! Take a hairdryer, there only seemed to be one for the whole hotel and never available. Plenty of coathangers in the wardrobe. The mini fridge is restocked daily. Bathroom had shower only but apparently some rooms do have a bath as well. Small tablet of soap and sachet of shampoo make up the toiletries. If you want to watch TV you will have to learn Czech, no English channels! The restaurant is spotless and serves an ample continental breakfast. We also had dinner there one night, plentiful, tasty and very reasonable - and guests receive a 15% discount. We walked everywhere from this hotel, Charles Bridge is about 10-15 minutes away and all the main tourist attractions are accessible. The hotel is opposite a beautiful park, take the funicular railway to the top where there is a gorgeous garden, also an observatory and a small scale (third size) replica of the Eiffel Tower which affords panoramic views of Prague. Then stroll down to the town and start your tour of unforgettable Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel unless you can put up with traffic and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

An excellent value hotel in good location near the river and the castle. We were in Prague during the flood alerts and the staff were reassuring about our safety but refused our offer of keeping the beer in our third floor room for safety. Tram noise is a problem although we were on 3rd floor at the back, so check if you are a light sleeper. This did not mar our stay. Breakfasts were OK - but good value for the price we paid for the room.

Room Tip: There are trams outside so ask for a rear room if you think the noise will disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was my second trip to Prague in 2 consecutive years. I wanted to stay in the same part of town as last time so I tried to find somewhere to stay there. The room was quaint and although not huge, spread over two levels joined by an old-fashioned spiral staircase. The Bathroom was very nice, and clean. There was a bath in the bathroom with the possibility to shower in the bath but no shower. This wasn't really a problem for me to jump in and out of but maybe for elderly people, it wouldn't be so funny. Someone cleaned and tidied the rooms every day ) and folded my pyjamas which I found a nice touch. Breakfast was pretty good, a broad breakfast buffet and even scrambled eggs and sausages on request. The Hotel is situated in a great location near the centre of the old town and about 10 minutes by foot from the fascinating Charles Bridge.

There were a couple of small things about the Hotel that slightly irritated me but I decided it wouldn't be fair to mention them. Also for that level of acommodation, I found it a bit over-priced but there were some festivals taking place while I was there so maybe that influenced the rate.

All in all, definitely a good place to stay. I would probably book a room there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Don't know about rooms to the street, but to back: no complaints about noise. Beautfully updated facilities in historic building; room very pleasant (not to mention spotlessly clean). Small restaurant very reasonably priced (as are rooms, online-booked); local food quite tasty, including beer on draft. Location easily reachable by streetcar from the Old Town and very practical for walks to Hradcany (the castle), along the way numerous eateries and watering holes, and right in the middle of historic Mala Strana. Had to go without breakfast for reasons of sightseeing, so no comments on that. Staff friendly and helpful. Within its classification: commendable!

Room Tip: Ask for room to back--just to avoid possible traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#123 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#218 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#242 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#154 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#140 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krize

Property: Hotel U Krize
Address: Ujezd 20 | Malá Strana, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Krize 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel U Krize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing