We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Restaurant attached to hotel”
Review of Hotel U Krize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Krize
Ranked #232 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant attached to hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I did not stay at the hotel but had a very nice meal at the Restaurant attached to the hotel. The restaurant is small but very pleasant in terns of decor and atmosphere and is very in keeping with Prague.The food was great and I would recommend the Steak and the Apple pie which were very reasonably priced,.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanethopperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    115
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
49
142
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Breakfast buffet is included in the rate and rich. Staff is very kind and helpful, they helped us to get a cheap taxi from and back to the airport which is not easy! The Location is just perfect. Ten minutes walk to Charles bridge and as you cross the bridge welcome to the downtown. And across the street from the hotel doorstep is lovely Petřín Park, perfect place to spen the afternoon. Although our room was situated to the street was not loud, we could sleep in the night. Room was big and cosy, nicely furnished including Tv, safe box, minibar, phone. An A/C in the room for free very appreciated in summer heat. On the check out we had flight later in the night but we could let our bags in the little room safe. Definitely go and try the restaurant. They serve huge czech specialities for a reasonable price and we got a fireshow on the table check it out. We will definitely stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukasAndPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was in historic Praha for my buddy’s wedding and stayed the hotel and will stay again if visiting the historic city. Located a few blocks (about ten minute walk) from historic downtown (and the famous St Charles Bridge) at the foot of the mountain overlooking Praha (with a great restaurant on top, Neboziezek Petriknka) Hotel U Krize is in a historic building with character and very affordable. Rooms are small (European standards) and comes complete with WC and douche (toilet and shower). Beds are likewise European standards (small), but the mattresses are firm. Bring your own supply of shower soap and shampoo. Staff speaks excellent English and very competent and profession. WiFi is available for free and the a continental breakfast available every morning from 0700-1000 consisting of great European bread, cold cuts, cheese, fruits, vegetable (tomatoes and cucumber), yogurt, musli, and European coffee and juice. Great meal and a restaurant…typical European, healthy and filling. In the evenings, the restaurant becomes a bar where very tasty and affordable Czech bier (cheaper than coffee) can be imbibed. If driving to the hotel, parking may be a bit difficult on site. There is parking available, but if your vehicle is not European (in other words compact), you will be out of luck. A historic building, an elevator had been built in 1995(?). However, please note, the size of the elevator was dependent upon structural specifications, thus large vehicles may not fit.
Definitely a place to stay again.

Room Tip: in the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nakamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am a long-time fan of this restaurant in Mala Strana (Little Quarter) in Prague, not only because of the excellent food and service, but also because they have the best beer I've sampled: Uneticke Pivo, from a small private brewery in Prague - all natural, nothing artificial or chemical added, wonderful taste. I always wanted to try out their hotel, but their prices are a bit higher than other hotels I know in the area. Through an excellent special deal on booking.com, I was able to fit this hotel into my budget, and it was a very pleasant experience. The rooms are small, but very clean, and especially the AIR CONDITIONING is a boon in summer, as many hotels in Prague do not have air conditioning at all, and it can get VERY hot here! However, considering the quality for the price, there are other hotels that are better in this area that have a slightly lower base price. Still, if this hotel comes up in a special deal, I would highly recommend it! So close to everything, and quiet and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Did not stay at the hotel but used the restaurant for a nice meal. Very well prepared meal with excellent taste. Excellent value. Very reasonably priced. Conveniently located near the Shrine of Infant Jesus of Prague. Walking distance to the Castle & the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Small, welcoming hotel set beside a tram route and busy road so best to ask for rooms at the back if possible. The receptionists are very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is very clean, towels changed daily. Basic décor in our attic room but wonderfully quiet. Firm bed, big, soft pillows. There is an air conditioning unit but the remote control has to be collected from reception after paying a small deposit - perhaps guests have run off with them! Take a hairdryer, there only seemed to be one for the whole hotel and never available. Plenty of coathangers in the wardrobe. The mini fridge is restocked daily. Bathroom had shower only but apparently some rooms do have a bath as well. Small tablet of soap and sachet of shampoo make up the toiletries. If you want to watch TV you will have to learn Czech, no English channels! The restaurant is spotless and serves an ample continental breakfast. We also had dinner there one night, plentiful, tasty and very reasonable - and guests receive a 15% discount. We walked everywhere from this hotel, Charles Bridge is about 10-15 minutes away and all the main tourist attractions are accessible. The hotel is opposite a beautiful park, take the funicular railway to the top where there is a gorgeous garden, also an observatory and a small scale (third size) replica of the Eiffel Tower which affords panoramic views of Prague. Then stroll down to the town and start your tour of unforgettable Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel unless you can put up with traffic and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

An excellent value hotel in good location near the river and the castle. We were in Prague during the flood alerts and the staff were reassuring about our safety but refused our offer of keeping the beer in our third floor room for safety. Tram noise is a problem although we were on 3rd floor at the back, so check if you are a light sleeper. This did not mar our stay. Breakfasts were OK - but good value for the price we paid for the room.

Room Tip: There are trams outside so ask for a rear room if you think the noise will disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#146 of 649 in Prague
1,842 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#212 of 649 in Prague
597 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#120 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#235 of 649 in Prague
908 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
James Hotel & Apartments
James Hotel & Apartments
#341 of 649 in Prague
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krize

Property: Hotel U Krize
Address: Ujezd 20 | Malá Strana, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Krize 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Krize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing