We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Five Star service and breakfast"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mala Strana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mala Strana
Ranked #218 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Five Star service and breakfast"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were extremely pleased with the hotel. We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The room was clean and the hotel receptionist very helpful, she gave us maps and suggested various day trips. Breakfast was great with a choice of deli meats, sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, salads, cooked vegetables, choice of cheeses and breads, preserves, butter and margarine, yogurt, cereal, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and choice of juices.
We were given an iron and an ironing board on request.
The hotel is very close to a tram stop and close to the Charles Bride and the church of Our Lady of Victory which has the statue of "Infant Jesus of Prague".
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynette n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!
I am very happy to read the nice comments you had after the experience with us and we hope this will take you soon back to wonderful Prague.
On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to welcoming you once more.
With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    284
    89
    24
    14
See reviews for
112
248
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was my first visit to Prague, a truly enchanting city and the Mala Strana lived up to my highest expectations,sited in a safe quiet area but within easy reach of all the attractions [using the tramways could not have been easier or cheaper]. the Hotel offers good ,clean spacious rooms with tea & coffee facilities,free wi -fi and even a small two ringed hob if you wished to dine in although the area was surrounded with good inexpensive restaurants serving delicious food. Breakfast was varied and tasty in plentiful supply although mainly of the continental variety [i do like my full english, but no complaints]. The reception staff were fluent in more than a few languages and most anxious to please and oblige with all enquiries. All in all a first rate hotel and I for one will look no further when i next visit this Magical City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
It is very rewarding to read such nice comments about our staff, hotel and services.
I am very happy to read that our Hotel Residence Mala Strana lived up your highest expectations.
I will forward your nice words to all the hotel staff and we are all looking forward to welcoming you to Prague soon.
Do not hesitate to contact us!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
public.relations@ghotels.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a wonderful one-week stay at Residence Hotel Mala Strana. The best part of the experience was the staff and the morning breakfast. The staff was always willing to help with any problem or issue. For example, the blow dryer in our room was broken. We were given a brand new hair dryer immediately. Another example is a day trip to Terezin. From the travel book we had, we knew there was a bus that made a round trip several times daily. We did not know how to locate the bus terminal. The desk attendant gave us detailed verbal directions together with hand written notes and a hand drawn map. The terminal was in a somewhat out-of-the way location. If not for his map, notes and description of the terminal layout we may have never made a successful trip. The daily breakfast included sausages, potatoes, eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), deli meats and cheeses, a wonderful potato salad, breads, granola, and yogurt. The hotel is a bit dated but is kept clean. It would have been nice to have an alarm clock in the room. The staff more the compensated for any such shortfalls. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for posting this lovely review about your recent experience in our Hotel Residence Mala Strana!
It is rewarding to read that we provided a good service to our guests and reading about the helpfulness of our staff is always a great.
We are glad you liked our breakfast, we have been working a lot in improving it and we are very happy about the positive comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
With the best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
public.relations@ghotels.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I adore Prague and have stayed here a number of times. The hotel is conveniently placed within walking distance of all Prague has to offer. The service here is excellent, the rooms are very clean and the staff are attentive and helpful. We love the hotel that much we are planning on going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSalter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
what a wonderful review!
We are very happy you like Prague that much and we hope to welcome back you soon and Hotel Residence Mala Strana to be your second home in this beautiful city.
Please, feel free to contact us directly for any future inquiry, we would love to assist you personally.
Greetings from the Golden City

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
public.relations@ghotels.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C.T.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Residence Mala Strana offers above adequate accomodation in a city filled with dubious offerings."Senior Suite" was exceptionally roomy for two with seperate bedroom and sitting room. Kitchenette was a welcome bonus with dining table very useful for teas and itinerary planning meetings. Bathroom has some quirks but provided the basics - hot water always and enough room for two. Bring your own soap if you are particular about what is absorbed through your skin. The Mala Strana neighbourhood is a welcome respite form the tourist intensity of the Old Town.This hotel is situated just below Petrin Hill which is worth a visit - particularly on arrival - as the vista helps to orientate one to the City. Prague's trams are easy to negotiate and there is a tram stop serving several routes half a block from the hotel.Buy a day pass at nearby convenience store. Restaurants and shops are aslo close by. The staff is quite accomodating in the Czech manner (US visitors may find them surly) but we appreciated the efficient and accurate assistance and advice. The included breakfast is lacking if you want more than tea & toast. Very little is fresh in the way of produce - coffee is abysmal - bread is good - yoghurts chemical laden. Cafe Savoy two blocks away is a better breakfast choice if one wants to linger over fresh food and English newspapers. Internet connectivity is adequate for communications.Overall a good value choice for the unfussy tourist.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedbacks about your stay in our Hotel Residence Mala Strana with us and with the Tripadvisor community!
Ideally located for the tourists searching for a quiet spot where to stay on budget, Hotel Residence Mala Strana is a good choice. The bathrooms offer soap in dispenser in order to embrace a eco/friendly attitude to sensitize people towards respecting nature. It is something we have been trying to apply lately and we hope it could be positively apprecaited by our guests.
I am glad to inform you that we have introduce the transport ticket service, ask at the reception staff, they will be happy to provide you with tram tickets and pass for up to 3 days.
Thank you for all your comments and suggestions, we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance or future inquiry.
With the best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

public.relations@ghotels.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL !!!The location of the hotel is very good , the staff was very friendly and helpful.Although the codition of the hotel was not so good since the building was very old.The rooms were very comftortable and the breakfast quite good

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marios a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel Residence Mala Strana!
We are happy to read you had a plesant stay with us. Our hotel is set in historical building in a quiet street of Prague very close to many attractions. The Hotel is full of character, we are gradually making improvements to the building and rooms to give the best to our guests. It is definetely a hotel for travellers on a budget. A no frill -hotel for a convenient stay in Prague.
Thank you again for your contribution to our Tripadvisor page and we hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel at July 2013. The hotel is not "centrally located" at the same heart of Prague centre, but it is not far from there to most popular places in Prague.

Accomodation is good, normal sized room with kitchenette, bed ant TV. Bathroom should be renovated in very short time, but it was clean and room too.

The breakfast area is very small, so it is very hard to find a free table and if you do, there is just space for sitting. But there was a big tourist group which were still together during our stay.

Hotel has no air condition. My opinion is it does not matter. There was about 36°C during our stay and there was not hot in our room.

Residence Malá strana is a good hotel. In a good place at Malá strana district, near public transport and centre of Prague. Will need to be a little bit renovated ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
thank you for choosing our Hotel Residence Mala Strana and for sharing your experience with us.
I am delighted to hear that you had all in all a good stay with us.
The hotel is located in a quiet street and 5 min walking to the Petrin Gardens and the funicolar. Very close to all attractions either by foot or by trams, it is a pewrfect choice for who is looking for quiet nights but vicinity to all sites.
On behalf of all of us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to guarantee other great times in beautiful Prague.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#242 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#211 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Praha 5
Petr
Petr
#255 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#116 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#123 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mala Strana

Property: Hotel Mala Strana
Address: Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** is situated in a beautiful location just few steps from Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Petřín gardens and the Infant Jesus Church and the other historical landmarks. Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** offers 35 apartments for 2, 3 or 4 people. The apartments are fully furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe deposit box, bathrooms with bathtub and hairdryer. Some of the apartments have also a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mala Strana Prague
Residence Mala Strana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing