We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Value”
Review of Hotel Mala Strana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mala Strana
Ranked #203 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We unexpectedly needed a room for 1 night in Prague, and the gentleman that was working the phone at the desk was amazingly helpful. He spoke English, gave us tips on taxis, trains and buses, and was very accommodating and cheerful when we arrived.

The location is not perfect, but not bad if one is willing to walk a mile and a half or so to the Castle or the Square. The hotel is older, but was very quiet and comfortable, provided a wonderful breakfast, and I would say a great bargain at less than $50 U.S.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience!
We are happy to read that you chose as as a lastminute accommodation and glad we provided you an over all positive service.
If you wish to come back one day, please feel free to contact us directly, we would love to suggest you any of our properties.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night stay here and we're not disappointed. Fantastic value for money in a lovely quiet area of Prague. Room comfortable and plenty of choice at breakfast, which was fresh and constantly being replenished. Hotel staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiesueq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review! We are very happy to read about your perfect Bohemian Rapsody and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Found this hotel after searching the internet for reasonably priced accommodation, as we were travelling in a group of 10 adults. What can I say? This is our 4th visit to Prague, and this has to be the best hotel we have stayed in! The price was a very good start, and it was worth more! (£90 per room/couple for 4 nights B&B in Feb!); the staff were always very helpful and pleasant; the breakfast was tasty and fresh, with plenty of choice and was constantly being 'topped up.' The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. We saw staff every day cleaning the hotel, as well as keeping our rooms clean.

The Mala Strana is in easy reach of all interesting places to visit eg Charles Bridge and the Castle. We walked miles over the 4 days we were there, visiting places of interest as well as sampling the local hostelries!! The food and drink were fab; we had a 15% discount card for the Olympia Restaurant, which is located in the next street from the hotel, from our transport driver, David (PragueAirport-Transfer.com, which I would also highly recommend as it cost us £10 per person return, and that included a 10% tip!). Not only was the price good, David was a very pleasant guy, again would definitely use again. The meal at the Olympia was wonderful, we went there for our friend's birthday (which was the purpose of the trip) and had a fab night.

Anyway, if you are going to Prague you cannot go wrong if you book the Hotel Residence Mala Strana - it truly is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for the wonderful review!
We are very happy that all your group was satisfied of the choice and we hope we could be your choice once more to your 5th visit to beautiful Prague!
Looking forward to hearing from you,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and a bargain for the credit card. The only disappointment was a room that stank of smoke despite being non-smoking supposedly. I left the windows open to air and asked reception to ask maids to leave open. Disappointed not to receive an apology and to find that maids had closed windows on return! Wifi hit and miss in room and no mini-bar as advertised. Also odd to provide two cooking hobs and no saucepans lol! Breakfast really good and I could get used to veggies for breakfast! I'd definitely stay here again and can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allenmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank youi for posting your review about your stay in Hotel Residence Mala Strana!
I am sorry to read that few details did not make your stay exceptional: I have already contacted the Hotel Manager to discuss future trainings and improvements to the staff.
I apology if in your room was smell of smoke, I wish you could have been assigned a new room. I will address the staff the case and discuss with them eventual stepd to take in case it would happen again.
Smoking in forbidden in both private and public areas, as stated in our official website. Once again, we apology.
We hope still to welcome back you in the future,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last month (Feb 14) with my mum. We arrived late to the hotel after taking a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (this was done spur of the moment, not booked in advance but only cost the equivalent of approx £14.. plus we received a discount card from the driver entitling us to 50% off a return journey, very good value in our opinion!)

When arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and asked to fill in a short form before being directed to our room, very straight forward. The reception area was very inviting and the building warm. The room itself was clean and well presented, also very spacious! Divided into a bathroom (with bath and shower facilities) small kitchenette with dining area and a sleeping section the room acted as a more than adequate base. The breakfast served was ample, with both hot and cold offerings as well as tea and coffee. Reception staff were very helpful in regard to the local area, there is so much to see within walking distance of the hotel (charles bridge, petrin observation tower and the castle) if you do wish to use public transport there is a tram stop right outside and the metro underground station only a ten minute walk away. We found this hotel to be excellent value and ideally located, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!
We have nothing to add to it and just thank you for sharing your experience with us and on behalf of all of the staff of Hotel Residence Mala Strana, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Recently stayed here for the fourth time. The hotel is in a quiet residencial area very close to the public transport system and within a 10 minute stroll to Charles Bridge. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a wide range of breakfast items including scrambled eggs, toast, yogurt, cheese and cold meats. The staff are extremely friendly (in particular Viktor on reception and the tall blond lady in the breakfast room) and happy to give advise on places to visit. There is supermarket within 50 metres which is open until midnight. Just a short walk takes you to the funicular railway to go up Petrin Hill. All in all an excellent choice at an amazing price. We will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community!
We are happy to read that you were back for the forth time, and we hope there will be many more coming!
We really appreciated your words and it is a rela pleasure for us to read them.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay!
Best regards,
Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We chose this hotel as a budget option, but it turned out better than expected for the price. It is away from the main centre, but you can walk there in 20 minutes or there are nearby tram stops covering multiple routes. If you don't want to go into the centre there are a number of restaurants and bars in the nearby streets. There is also a supermarket that stays open till midnight 50 metres away. The hotel itself is on a quiet street and was very quiet inside our room. We ended up with a junior suite with loads of space, a kitchenette and a table and chairs. The furnishing/decor may not be the most modern, but it was clean and it all worked. Breakfast was fine, if nothing special (I don't eat meat but found plenty to keep me going). There is a 24 hr reception and the staff were knowledgeable, cheerful and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latelesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel Residence Mala Strana!
Our property is a perfect choice for a budget stay and we are happy you were satisfied with it.
The hotel offers comfortable rooms and a good location out of the buzz, but still walking distance to the beauties of Prague.
I am also very glad to read that our breakfast offer was enough to keep you up for the day, we offer a good choice of beverages and food both for vegetarian and not. In case of special request, it is enough to inform the hotel at least few days in advance in oreder to arrnage any change or request.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Best regards,
Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#211 of 646 in Prague
989 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#120 of 646 in Prague
873 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#233 of 646 in Prague
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vršovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#79 of 646 in Prague
909 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#44 of 646 in Prague
421 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#150 of 646 in Prague
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mala Strana

Address: Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £31 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mala Strana is situated in a beautiful location just few steps from Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Petrin gardens and the Infant Jesus Church and the other historical landmarks. Hotel Mala Strana offers 35 rooms for 2, 3 or 4 people. The rooms are fully furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe deposit box, bathrooms with bathtub and hairdryer. Some of the apartments have also a kitchenette with microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mala Strana Prague
Residence Mala Strana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing