We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Hotel Mala Strana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mala Strana
Ranked #222 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter weekend.

Location was superb... Couple of minutes stroll to the river. 10 minutes to the heart of the lesser town and Charles bridge. Go in the other direction for 10 minutes and you meet another busy part of town with lots of bars and shops. Distinctly cheaper than the prices in the tourist traps.

Staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. On the final day after checking out they stored our bags away until we left for the airport later in the evening which enabled us to do another day seeing the city.

Hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was very good also, plenty of choice and constantly refilled.

The reason I have rated 4/5 and not 5/5 is minor but a little annoying. Fully stocked kitchenette is in the room however no tea/coffee is provided. There is however a supermarket on the corner but I've not come across a hotel before that provides the kettle and not the drink. The other gripe was that we had two single beds pushed together. Inconvenient and uncomfortable for a couple that don't like to lie on opposite sides of the bed.

But they were just personal minor inconveniences which do not deter from the fact that for the price, this hotel is ideally located and worthy of recommending to anyone on a short sightseeing city break that isn't looking for luxury.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!
Thank you very much for expressing your feedback about your recent stay.
We are very happy to read you had a pleasant stay and we thank you also for sharing your comments: we always recommend our guests to express any special request as double bed and we will try to do always our best to meet it according to the availability.
I will forward your comments to the Management and they will be defintely be considered for any eventual future improvements.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mala Strana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. Good basic hotel. The rooms were a little dated but spacious warm and clean. The hotel had a retro feeling to it with a lot of art deco features. The staff were very friendly and helpful...always had a smile and " hello" or " have a nice day". The breakfast was always plentiful and replenished regularly...a good start to the day which is just what you need as there is plenty of sightseeing to do in Prague. The hotel is perfectly situated...just a short stroll to the river and the beautiful Charles Bridge. Theres so much to see....a sightseers paradise and plenty of great restaurants and bars too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndy55lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for leaving us the feedback about your recent stay.
We are glad you had an overall positive experience and found location, service and staff meeting your needs and expectations.
We would be very happy to welcome you anytime in the future.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Location near enough to walk to everything yet far enough away to be very quiet for a comfortable nights sleep. Handy supermarkets at the end of the short street along with the tramstop for those that don't fancy walking. The funicular is just around the corner. The local area has many good quality and affordable restaurants and bars. Large, clean rooms are a bit dated but we were either out and about in the beautiful city or asleep with the lights out so if you're fussy about what the paintwork is like then take a gamble and pay more to stay somewhere else. Staff were without exception cheerful, friendly and helpful. Good choice of regularly refreshed local and continental items at the breakfast buffet to set you up for the day. Personally I couldn't expect anything more, especially at the price we paid. I'll be staying here next time I visit Prague.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BandMBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
It is very rewarding for us to read such a nice review and we are happy you appreciate the ratio price/quality of our Hotel Residence Mala Strana.
Definetly, we agree with you in the location convenience: quiet street and close to many touristic landmarks and to the tram stop if public transportation is preferred.
On behalf of all of us, we will be more than happy to welcome you once more in the nearest future.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was not the hotel that we had booked - we had been bumped from the hotel next door so weren't expecting the accommodation. However after an initial settling in period while we adjusted to not having windows in the walls - we were in the roof with velux windows - and to also having a dining table and chairs in the room so that it was definitely apartment rather than hotel, we would have to agree with the comments about the breakfast ladies - they were all very pleasant and industrious and the staff on the front desk were also very helpful, especially about tickets for transport and suggestions for places to try in the evening. Everyone made a much appreciated effort to speak to us in English - try as I might I couldn't get my head around the Czech word for thank you - my husband met with more success, thankfully as it seems rude not even to be able to say thank you as a visitor. The location was good and the arrangements would be perfect for family holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am sorry to read that you were overbooked and moved to a different property. It is never a plesant start of a holiday. I hope you were warmly welcomed in our Hotel Residence Mala Strana and found it a comfortable alternative accommodation.
I am glad to read that breakfast was appreciated and filled you up for the day. Our staff is constantly trained to give their best to all our guests and it is a pleasure to read your satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Prague.
Regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

First, the good. Breakfast was great. It was a huge buffet that filled you up until dinner. The hotel was in a great location. The rooms were decent and quiet.

Now, for the bad. The staff seemed like a bunch of college students on break in Daytona. All our requests were met with, "Yah, I'll get to it" and that was for simple things like an iron (which they said they only had two of in the hotel) and some towels. The most egregious mistake was that they 'forgot" our wake-up call and we missed our flight. The "kid" was at the desk with his earphones on and just couldn't be bothered to call us. We were furious.

All in all, I would not stay here again unless they upgrade their staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent experience with us.
We are glad to read that the hotel location and brekafast service was appreciated.
It saddens me to read that our staff was evaluated not as you were expected. I have the chance to contact you personally and discussed the issue. I inform you that our staff has been newly trained and I can guarantee that it will not happen to any of our future guests.
We very much appreciate your contribution to the improvement of our services and we hope to have the chance to prove it during your eventual future stay with us.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights, good location and very helpful, friendly staff. Hotel looks dated but very clean, thought breakfast could be better but can't complain for the price. The ladies in the breakfast room were always checking and replenishing the food. From the airport you can get the 119 but to the last stop and then get the No. 20 tram to Ujezd, the hotel is around the corner from the tram stop. Some good restaurants close by. Staff are very good for directions.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is a pleasure to read your positive feedback and on behalf of all of us we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A must stay for city break to Prague, Monica and her team were outstanding , friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble, advising and booking all trips, airport transfers, and traditional bars and restaurants to drink and eat in.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean the breakfast was excellent with enough variety to cater for all and the location was perfect to navigate and plan the many places of interest to visit.
The Mala Strana is a hidden gem and I highly recommend this hotel you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Book early to avoid the disappointment of being full
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank REDMENPAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is very rewarding to read such nice reviews and we are glad that Mrs Nycova and her staff were helpful and guaranteed you a stunning stay in Prague.
On behalf of all the staff of the hotel and the management we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#235 of 648 in Prague
915 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#131 of 648 in Prague
746 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#122 of 648 in Prague
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#229 of 648 in Prague
298 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#147 of 648 in Prague
1,854 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#156 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mala Strana

Address: Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £37 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** is situated in a beautiful location just few steps from Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Petřín gardens and the Infant Jesus Church and the other historical landmarks. Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** offers 35 apartments for 2, 3 or 4 people. The apartments are fully furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe deposit box, bathrooms with bathtub and hairdryer. Some of the apartments have also a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mala Strana Prague
Residence Mala Strana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing