We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel for a city break in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mala Strana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mala Strana
Ranked #223 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Smart hotel for a city break in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

There are two great advantages offered by this hotel: location and value for money.
Stayed here in July 2014 in a Junior Studio (one bedroom, one living room with two sofas, one small kitchen and one bathroom with bathtub) located on the ground floor.
The windows were large, showing the hotel's back yard. Yes, the hotel has a lovely small back yard, with some flowers, herbs and coffee tables. There is just a small inconvenient about that: some of the hotel's guest used to smoke in the backyard, so we had to close the windows.
The room was nice furnished, kind of vintage but very functional. I loved the kitchen cabinet - a very smart way to save the space. A very welcoming room, overall.
The hotel is very clean, the reception staff is friendly and helpful.
The main advantage of this hotel, as I said, is the location. It's just a walking distance to the City Center and a few steps away from the Ujezd tram station, in a lovely and quiet quarter of Prague, not far away from the Kampa Island (an island in the Vltava river with a park, a contemporary art museum and some decent restaurants). There are some supermarkets, nice restaurants and bars in the hotel's neighborhood. The restaurants and bars with decent prices - this is very important! Let me explain: in the busy, noisy and tourist suffocated Charles Bridge aria, located at 15 minutes walk from the hotel, the average price of a pint of Czech beer, in an average pub/bar/restaurant is around 90-100 Koruna (local currency, that means around 4 Euro). In the hotel's aria, the average price of a pint of the same beer is 35 Koruna (1.4 Euro). Try to beat that!
The breakfast is not spectacular but more than decent for the money you pay.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    284
    90
    24
    14
See reviews for
114
252
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Located just 10 mins walk from Castle and the charles Bridge, My family's stay here for 2 nights was nice. The room was spacious and had a sleeping area with a small and fully functional kitchen.

Hotel staff was very helpful in guiding us to important places with route maps and overall the stay and the experience was quite very positive. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GangavaramPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a good hotel for my husband and I. The beds were comfortable, we had a small dining table and kitchenette. The bathroom was small and clean. The Wifi only works well downstairs in the lobby. The breakfast is also good and provided every morning. The location is great -- the tram stop is right around the corner, Charles Bridge is about a 10 minute walk, Petrin Park is about 2 minutes. The staff members are very nice and helpful. Also, there is a big shopping center/mall about 2 tram stops away (or a 20 minute walk) at Andel. So this was a nice hotel for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We're a family of four that stayed in a room that included two separate sleeping areas and a small kitchen with dining table. The location is excellent, close to everything but in a quiet neighborhood. Tram lines run nearby and there is a choice of good restaurants close to the hotel. It was an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Rubarb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was OK for the rate we had. No big luxury, but worth staying there.
The breakfast was simple, but good and the staff was always very helpful and English speaking. We asked for a change of room and it was no problem.
Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank obergol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Really nice hotel in an excellent location. If you want to go to all those "important" locations for tourists like Charles Bridge, Petrin Hill, National Theatre etc... a few minutes walk. Tram stop just around the corner, no subway station nearby but you can easily access those by tram. Quiet neighbourhood, never had trouble sleeping even when we had windows wide open all night because of the heat. (well, one night a couple across the yard had a really serious family quarrel... that's life). Several small shops and restaurants nearby.
We had a room with kitchenette witch was nice. Good beds, the sofa semed a little.. past it's prime, but good enough for relaxing and watching TV.
Decent breakfast with many options.
Really friendly and hardworking staff (Hey Jan, do you ever have a day off :)? ).

Jari & Susanna from room 206 (16.- 23. july)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JariandSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NycovaM, Manažer at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Value guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to read that you liked our location, that you appreciate the quality of our breakfast buffet.

Your wonderful review which are the best compliments for me and for my staff.

I am already looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms were dark and gloomy with a very strange layout, however they were relatively clean. The breakfast was fine for the price we paid and in line with most 3star hotels. The staff were fine. It's about a 20 min walk to Charles Bridge. There are many reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NycovaM, Manažer at Hotel Mala Strana, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences in our hotel with other travellers. I am glad you appreciate our breakfast buffet and hotel staff .
I'm very sorry that you did not like your room
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#249 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#209 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#152 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#117 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mala Strana

Property: Hotel Mala Strana
Address: Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** is situated in a beautiful location just few steps from Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Petřín gardens and the Infant Jesus Church and the other historical landmarks. Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** offers 35 apartments for 2, 3 or 4 people. The apartments are fully furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe deposit box, bathrooms with bathtub and hairdryer. Some of the apartments have also a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mala Strana Prague
Residence Mala Strana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing