We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the castle "my [--]"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marketa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marketa
Ranked #354 of 670 Hotels in Prague
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“close to the castle "my [--]"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

We booked through Go-Today for a trip to Prague in March. The hotel was inconviently located, a very long and difficult walk to all attractions and public transportation and we are relatively young, healthy, and robust New Yorkers used to walking. It is just off our travel maps and had we not taken a cab from the airport, I don't see how we would have found it. Hotel Marketa is located in a very uninteresting looking suburb where the nearest bar closed, at 8:00 PM on a weeknight. It was too far to go back to the room in the middle of the day. The beds and sheets were uncomfortable, and the room smelled faintly of smoke. We were able to get public transportation tickets from the front desk. You will probably pay more in taxi fare and train tickets if you stay here. You will walk plenty in your visit to Prague and will not need the extra hike to the hotel. I do not recommend it. Our running joke upon returning in the evening as it would not be long until we get back to the hotel as "it is located at the foot of the castle."

  • Liked — were able to buy tickets for public transporation at the front desk
  • Disliked — location, bedding
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkertravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    45
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
39
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

The hotel was nice and in a quiet area.

I would recommend it but people need to know:

It is on the top of a hill with no public transport to the door.
The lift does not service the ground floor, so you need to be able to tote your bags upstairs.

Public transport is available at the bottom of the hill (about seven stories worth), but you have to change from bus to metro to get to the centre of the city.

Breakfast was adequate but not outstanding.

  • Liked — Quiet area, pleasant building
  • Disliked — Accessibility problems
  • Stayed July 2004, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

We spent a week at Hotel Marketa and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, comfortable and modern, but did have a hint of smoke although it didn't bother my wife or me. The front desk personnel were all friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the occasional noise of the other guests. We were on the first floor near the lobby, and with the tile floors we could hear everything when people were talking in the lobby or in the corridor of the second floor. It was a bit of a hike up to the tram stop, but Tram #22 took us directly to most of the places we wanted to go so it was convenient. We liked that the hotel was close to a couple of good restaurants, a great pizzeria and two mini marts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Good price, quiet neighborhood
  • Disliked — Occasional noise in the lobby
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

Excellent Hotel near Castle Area. If the Marketa were in Paris or Rome it would be rated 3 Stars minimum. On a quiet residential street near Chinese and Italian restaurants and several convenient mini-markets . Staff was extremely helpful with tour bookings. Very good buffet and the best ham & rye breads . Because of the budget prices I was expecting a Motel 6 at best and was surprised by the clean rooms & overwhelmed by the modern & well designed bathrooms. One minor caution, if your main interests lie in the Old town areas; this location is perhaps not ideal; but if you want the Castle or Mala Strana it is very good.The # 22 tourist tram - nearest stop is a 5 min easy walk- is alone worth the price of the air fare.

  • Liked — helpful staff, breakfast buffet, modern bathroom, quiet, neighborhood restaurants, #22 Tram
  • Disliked — nothing ---
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank woolllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyman, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Marketa during our trip to Prague, and I booked the rooms online before checking Trip Advisor. After I did, I was a little afraid of what we would find, but the room was perfectly adequate, clean and quiet (well except for the construction workers across the street, who started early every day, but that's not the hotel's fault). There was no cigarette smell that some other commenters have mentioned.

There ARE a lot of stairs, however. I have arthritis in my knees and the climb up to the room and down to breakfast was a little strenuous, but manageable. There's a lift, but it starts halfway up to the second (European first) floor, so you still have to climb a certain number of steps.

We had a car, so the distance from the city wasn't a problem, in fact it was rather nice to be out of the crowds.

I'd stay there again any time!

  • Liked — Nice staff, clean room
  • Disliked — All those stairs....
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonflyknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

As I was a lone traveler, I was given a very small room both times I stayed there (5 days). The room was clean, but in the rooms I stayed there was something wrong in each bathroom; sink stopper didn't work, shower head broken, slow slow shower drain. The biggest negative is the strong cigarette odor.....which permeates from the lobby (staff and visitors) up the stairs to the second and third floor. One women that worked the day shift was "civil" but hard to understand, the women who worked the night shift was VERY nice and understandable. There's two restaurants relatively close by, just around the corner that serve good food and the price is reasonable. A word of CAUTION: don't make the same mistake I made......I had been traveling for a while and needed some clothes laundered.....I was given a price list and it looked quite reasonable so I sent 8 items to be washed. I specifically had five items I wanted laundered but NOT dried in a hot dryer. I had the nice night shift gal write instructions on each bag; I saw her do it. The clothes came back; all laundered, all dried and ironed for......get this... $35.00 American dollars! The flax suit came back shrunk! Over $120.00 suit ruined. Tried to contact the laundry but to no avail. I would recommend this hotel if you are a smoker, like to take the tram, like small rooms and speak their language.

  • Liked — Fairly close to the airport, good tour booking
  • Disliked — cigarette smoke odor, only fair communication, small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Azahar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

My wife and I are just back from a week in Prague where we stayed at the Hotel Marketa.

The hotel room was a good size, had TV,coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with a very good shower.

Breakfast was continental and enjoyable.

Our room was at the front of the hotel and the only real downside was the noise from the workmen renovating the property directly opposite. This started at 7am each morning (including Sunday).

The city of Prague was a great destination. The transport system including buses,trams and the underground cost us £6 for a weekly ticket and was very efficient. Food was good and varied.

There was also plenty to do and see.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise from workmen across the road early in the morning.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#291 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#519 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#348 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#606 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Dalimil
Hotel Dalimil
#258 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#275 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marketa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marketa

Property: Hotel Marketa
Address: Na Petynce 45, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marketa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Hotel Marketa with a family atmosphere is situated in the residential district of Prague 6, nearby the Prague Castle and historical centre of the city. The connection to the nearby International Airport Prague Ruzyne is also convenient (15 minutes). Hotel Marketa offers 26 rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet and a comfortably furnished breakfast restaurant. For guests is also available private parking, free to use computer and safety deposit box at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Marketa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketa Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing