We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Hotel Mars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mars
Ranked #468 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel is very cheap and breakfast is acceptable and very well situated but there is no safe in the room. My wife's wallet got stolen during the evening when we were out. The hotel staff said that the housekeeping ladies were reliable so there was no responsibility from the hotel. The room and bathroom were small but for the price, it is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Contrary to some of the reviews I personally enjoyed my stay at Hotel Mars. The rooms were clean and neat. The bathroom was too. The beds was comfortable and was able to get a good nights sleep.

Yes the building was old and the carpet in the foyer creaked. But that didn't trouble me at all. The staff was friendly esp Ranata. She made us feel welcome and was always available when needed.

I'd love to stay here once again and will recommend it to all travelers. :)

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Aparna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed five nights with family in three rooms. Rooms a bit small but stayed for 20 euros per person. Only single beds; mattresses might be a bit thin for some people,

Breakfast was 4 euros per person and OK except for very poor quality coffee.

Front desk staff both German and English and were very helpful.

Hotel was bit far out from the city center. There is a direct streetcar route but the ride is a bit long.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Not so kind staff, outdated hotel, more than basic rooms, dangerous windows, bad food, far from the centre. All in all, we weren't quite pleased, obviously. It doesn't come as expensive so that's positive and if it was a biit closer to the centre, it would be more acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The receptionists and all other staff in hotel were more than friendly. We had a problem which staff helped us to solve and made our stay in Prague pleasant. Without their help, we would surely immediately leave the city. We booked apartment in the other part of Prague via agency which left us without accommodation (apartment was not cleaned and was ruined, without hot water and electricity). In that terrible situation people from hotel Mars did their best to help us (including ladies in the kitchen and cleaning lady). I recommend these people to all travellers; it is kindness you rarely see.
Although not in city center, hotel is very cosy and clean and swimming pool is at walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StanislavaS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at Mars Hotel over a weekend of 29/30 June . The journey from the airport took around an hour using public transport , it was very simple to understand the transport system used in Prague. The receptionist at the hotel was helpful and could speak good English. Our room 317 was small , bathroom was clean, beds were tiny singles not the normal 3ft but 2ft 6. Mattress was extremely hard and only 3/4 inches thick ! so a good nights sleep was impossible for fear of falling out of bed!The room was very basic, bare minimum in fact, The staff at breakfast were not welcoming at all , actually they didn't even speak to you only looked at you. Breakfast itself was of very poor standard, we only ate toast which you can't go wrong with really. We didn't bother going to breakfast on the second morning. After spending our first day visiting the beautiful sighst of the city we went back to the Mars hoping to get a nightcap from the hotel bar, only to be told we couldn't because there was a private function going on . All in all not a good experience and would not recommend this hotel. We would go to Prague again but would stay in a different hotel, nearer the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It is a good place to stay if you don't have expectations for a 3 stars hotel. New renovated (I think 2011) very clean rooms, with a 2 stars hotel breakfast, it's ok for the value of money you spent. It's about 15 minutes of driving from city center. If you are pedestrian, I can say maybe 30 minutes from main objectives. A very quiet place if you enjoy a relaxing vacation. A good place for couples with a car.

Room Tip: You can have a backroom with view to a stadium and a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#532 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#138 of 646 in Prague
766 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#459 of 646 in Prague
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#395 of 646 in Prague
81 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#345 of 646 in Prague
145 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#551 of 646 in Prague
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mars

Address: Kubanske namesti 1333/6 | Kubanske Namesti 1333/6, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £22 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mars Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing