We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL DONE MARS HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Mars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mars
Ranked #540 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WELL DONE MARS HOTEL”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The rooms seemed to be renovated this year, close to the center of Prague by tram, 10mins, good breakfast, would definately recommend for the price we paid:)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    40
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
18
52
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I was there on New Year and the hotel provided everything I needed - parking, bed and breakfast, everything was very good. Distance from center is not the best but acceptable. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trencin, slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Hotel was near from the center / you just take tram No. 22 and in 20 min are you there :)
Everything was exactly so like written, the room was clean, the beds was comfortable and situated in a quiet area. Just an internet connection direct in room is not sufficient, you need to go downstairs / to the reception area or in the restaurant, there is also an computer to free use. The breakfast was included and was also varied and tasted good :) We can kindly recommended this hotel, especially for this value of money. We are sure you 'll enjoy it !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivet207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
universe
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Hotel Mars was definetly one of, if not the worst hotel I've ever been to. When I was there it seemed like there were no other guests at the hotel but me and my friends, and I wasn't surprised why. The food at the hotel restaurant was pretty bad but eatable. The room seemed dirty and there was only one towel per person, which I was afraid to use. The whole interrier looks like it's stuck in communism. The staff isn't pretty kind either but I can somehow understand that...with that pay check I wouldn't be either... There is also a pretty dangerous window, it's huge and perfect for suicidal attempts ;-) But I'm sure that no one will be thinking of that in Prague cause the city itself is trully amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ana989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I stayed at this hotel for four nights at the beginning of April 2007.

The hotel is a good two star hotel - clean room with television, comfortable beds, clean bathroom and good breakfast - a great deal for a budget hotel. I would definately stay here again!

The hotel, while not in the middle of Prague, is in one of the suburbs and has very good transport links into the centre (the metro is a ten minute walk away and the tram two minutes away and can take you all the way to Prague castle!)
I chose to stay at Hotel Mars based on a review I saw on Expedia, and wasn't disappointed.

There is a great cheap italian/czech restaurant Topo Maschio about 5 minute walk away (come out of the hotel and head right down the main street, Vrsovicka).

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2005

Oh my. What a hotel! Stayed at "Hotel" Mars as part of meeting group, so had no choice in the matter. Lobby: cross between communist-era Motel 6 and sadistic dentist's waiting room. Check-in staff: potato-raised woman with huge bag of soap, no sense of humour or English skills. Take bar of soap to room, find box with odd "bathroom" space and one towel. Housekeeping: not up to snuff, but clean enuff. Hotel bar: Phineas Fogg theme, need I say more? Food: Inedible. Go to the food shop down the road and take a Czech dictionary because no one speaks English and you have no idea what you might be buying. Location: hinterlands, only stay here if you have business at Ministry of Health - however, if you can, don't stay here at all. Yuck. What a dump! However, if you're interested in experienceing what life was like before the fall of the Iron Curtain, this is as close as you're probably going to get in this day and age. And don't forget to pick up that bar of soap at the desk, you'll be needing it later!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank ElNorEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Well, where can I start?
Out of the three receptionists, one of them spoke half decent English; the other two didn't even try and speak to you. This caused many problems when asking questions about transport or anything else you can think of.
When we got there, they hadn't even received our booking which was worrying.
The location of the hotel is no where near any tourist attractions although it states on many sites that it is. There is a tram stop about 150m from the hotel which was lucky or we would have been stuck. We had to work out for ourselves where the tram took us as the people in the hotel were no help at all.
The hotel surroundings are dire, with no where to eat or drink, just shops where the shop keepers are rude. Sorry, there was one really lovely Italian restaurant about 1/2 mile down the road which looked completely out off place where it was, but the staff were great and the food was lovely.
The rooms were horrible. The beds are basically just mattresses, no headboards. You were given one pillow and one towel (that just about went around my waist) each. There was a huge window (approx 2m²) which opened all the way. Very dangerous for children, especially if you’re on a higher floor. The shower was very basic and covered in mould. There were so many stains on the floor I dreaded to think what they were. The room and the rest of the hotel smelled like it had been closed for decades and it was the first time anyone had been in there.
The complimentary cold buffet breakfast that they served every morning was, for want for a better word, Crap! The bread was stale, the milk warm and the hot water for tea tepid. They served huge bowls full of yoghurt and jam that no one ever ate, with tiny spoons in the middle.
Apart from Prague City itself, there was nothing nice about my stay there at all. It was the most unwelcoming hotel I’ve ever stayed in and don’t recommend it to anyone. It definitely doesn’t deserve three stars. Maybe one.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bondess007GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#274 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#355 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#520 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#351 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#232 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mars

Property: Hotel Mars
Address: Kubanske namesti 1333/6 | Kubanske Namesti 1333/6, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mars Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing