We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably not the best”
Review of Arbes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbes
Ranked #290 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at this hotel with friends.
Overall I would say everything was OK but nothing more.
We stayed with my spouse in a double room which I had found tiny but for example or friends' room was much bigger so probably not all the rooms are equal size.
All amenities were working fine and it was absolutely clean although I guess they haven't changed our linen (didn't seem like it)
Breakfast was again something OK but nothing extra to mention. There were a choice of salamis, hams, vegetables, cheese, muesli, etc. The bakery items were not fresh on Sunday but Monday morning they were OK.
There is only one negative thing to mention: the bed - we had a "double bed" which was rather two single beds pushed together therefore we were keep falling in between every night. It could get quite annoying to wake up in the middle of the night to push together the bed.
It is rather close to historic centre (~ 10-15 min walk).
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Parking is a rather expensive option (€ 15/ night / car) - but on workdays there are no free places around.
Overall it was OK but I'm pretty sure that there are better places in Prague for this amount.
A really strong average mark from me!

Room Tip: Try to get the streetview rooms, the other rooms are overlooking an empty concrete courtyard and bac...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atiinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Arbes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I recently stayed here for four nights with my wife. Firstly the location is very handy, there is a tram stop on the corner of the street, round the corner and 5 minutes walk further down the street there is a larger tram stop and the Andel Metro Station. For those travelling by foot Jiráskův most bridge is about 5-10 minutes walk away and then it is a pleasant 10-15 minutes walk to Charles Bridge, Old Town Square and about the same to Wenceslas Square.

As for the hotel itself, the reception is quite small but there is a cosy lounge and drinks can be bought from reception, we found the check in staff to be very helpful and friendly. There is a lift although it's a tight fit for more than two people or probably just one with luggage.

There are 27 rooms in total and the one we had was more than adequate space-wise, there is cupboard space when you enter and also a safe (extra cost). Then there is a bathroom and seperate toilet, neither of which is particularly big but were modern and clean. The room then opens up into the main part with the bedroom, the bed was two single matresses pushed together so was quite big but a touch on the firm side. The furniture is all quite new but with a vintage look, I would call it Georgian style but the Czechs probably have a different name for it. There is a television with a couple of English language news channels. There is also a fridge mini bar which wasn't too badly priced compared to others (bottle of water just over £1)

The only downsides to our room were that the floor lamp didn't work, the switch looked like it was broken and also the toilet door was missing it's lock, although there were plenty of other lights and the toilet lock wasn't that much of an issue. Also the room was on the warm side although the weather had been a lot colder before we arrived so this was probably the reason. The windows opened wide but had nothing to stop someons falling out so families with young children should be careful.

Breakfast was served in the cellar and is included in the room rate. It was a continental breakfast but there was a lot of choice and there were different things available each day which was helpful.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would recommend it to visitors to Prague who are looking for a hotel and the lower end of the budget without wanting to make too many compromises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We recently stayed at the Arbes for 3 nights, if you are looking for an inexpensive, comfy, clean, warm hotel this is the place. It is not in the centre but Prague's transportation system is great and cheap, the No.9 tram takes you straight to Wenceslas Square. 5 minutes walk away is the Andel metro station and a modern shopping centre with an M&S and huge Tesco but don't let that put you off.... Opposite the Hotel is a great restaurant - U Mikulase - it looks very unassuming from the outside but the food and service is fantastic, it is frequented mainly by locals which is a good sign. We would go back to both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaylover018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel Arbes has only 3 stars, but is very good value for money.
Hotel Arbes has no restaurant, but a small bar and a cozy area where you can rest a little and meet people. Is located in a very quiet street. They serve good breakfast incl.
The hotel rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful in booking tickets and more.
The only thing that could make it even better is its location, which is too far to walk to the center, so one must take the tram, where No. 9 running right into the city hjerte.The tickets one can purchased at the hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet in all rooms
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nice hotel. Close to the metro, tram. Big shoppingcenter nearby. The staff at the hotel is nice speak very good english. Breakfast is bread, jucie, coffe,tea,fruit, cornflakes,ham,egg,cheese etc....
We will return there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

When I first read the reviews about this place, i was a bit worried. On arrival at reception we were greeted by a miserable receptionist who clearly could not be bothered. However we never saw her again in the next 5 days which was great! All the other staff were very friendly, helpful and happy to tell us about the surrounding area etc.

My friend and i stayed on the 2nd floor in room 250, the room was immaculate, not a bit of dirt to be found anywhere not even on the top of the wardrobe. The furniture looked brand new. The room was a small double, but more than sufficient for a few days. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed. The mini bar was very reasonably priced, and re stocked daily. Tram tickets could be bought from the hotel reception. Breakfast was served between 7-10am in the basement. It was continental, which was not really to my taste, but there was plenty to chose from with a free hot drinks machine.
The only downside is the location its a bit too far out if the trams are not running ie after midnight. Its ten mins from Charles Bridge by tram or about 20-30 mins walking. The hotel is located near to a huge shopping mall. The hotel was very quiet. The hotel had lots of christmas decorations up and it looked beautiful!
So if you want a quiet hotel in a lovely area to explore the city, then pick the Arbes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Staff seemed friendly enough, but my room was horrible. The bed mattress was thin and uncomfortable. Unfortunately the bar fridge was not working and hadnt been in some time because it was smelling awful (do the cleaning staff not report to management about such things). The in room safe was missing the barrell and totally unusable. The bathroom was so small that you had to close the door to get to the hand towel and put the bath matt on the floor, then lift the bath matt to open the door. Not to mention the shower rose did not hang and I had to hold it the whole time during a shower . I know these things are small inconveniences but they all added up to a uncomfortable stay. Stay elsewhere for a few extra dollars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Petr
Petr
#247 of 648 in Prague
283 reviews
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#280 of 648 in Prague
136 reviews
Praha 5
Andel Apartments Prague
Andel Apartments Prague
#333 of 648 in Prague
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#222 of 648 in Prague
603 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#187 of 648 in Prague
1,591 reviews
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#316 of 648 in Prague
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbes

Address: Viktora Huga 299/3, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#219 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £32 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbes 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ARBES is conveniently located near Arbes Square in the centre of Prague on the border of two Prague districts: Smichov (Prague 5) and Mala Strana (Prague 1), in the historical centre of Prague. It is situated below Petrin gardens and Prague Castle, on the left bank of the Vltava River, it is a short stroll to Charles Bridge, or to The National Theatre (both approx. 12 Minutes). A tram stop is very close to the hotel and a Metro Station (Andel, Line B) is only few minutes walk from the hotel. Each room has internet connection.The Hotel ARBES has a total capacity of 27 rooms (62 beds in singles, doubles, triples) on four floors.All 27 rooms are elegantly equipped with new classicly styled furniture, minibar, SAT LCD TV, phone, safe, and modern style en-suite bathrooms equipped with bathtub, shower, toilet and hairdryer.Hotel services: 24 hour reception, exchange office, Internet for free in the lobby, pleasant lobby bar open from 9 am till 2 am supplying a wide choice of alcohol and soft drinks. Downstairs there is a delightful, cosy breakfast restaurant that serves an extensive buffet breakfast, and also, upon request, serves Czech and International cuisine for reserved groups with a wide range of local and foreign wines, Czech beers and soft drinks. The restaurant may also be used for meetings. A lockable, private car park is available in the hotel courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arbes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arbes Mepro
Arbes Mepro Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing