We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Meran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meran
Ranked #347 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I booked this for the price and location. The location was PERFECT. Easy walk from the main train station and easy walk into old town and all the sites. The price was very reasonable too (and included breakfast). The rooms were clean and the bathroom was quite large by European standards. The only con (and this is really nothing) was the furniture and bathroom fixtures were old and dated. Bed seemed pretty new....but everything else looked like it was from the 1960s. Since I didn't spend much time in the room, it was fine. I would stay here again just because of the location and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank four_symbols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    57
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
51
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punat, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Expected less, and got more. Other reviewers comented on a smell, but we had nothing like that. A definite best buy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Upsides
Close to old town square - less than 10 minute walk
Close to train station - about 10 minutes

Downsides
Water pressure was not good
Breakfast service was a problem while we were there - not enough tables for the crowd this had to wait - tables didn't get cleaned between groups - out of coffee eggs etc - could have been a bad couple of days - food was pretty good though

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarmWaterScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Conveniently located in the very centre of prague at Wenceslas Square,all the famous sightseeing places of tourist interests is at a walking distance from the hotel.The room was clean,spacious & comfortable.Breakfast served was also very good.The atmosphere outside the hotel was very lively with many shops & eat outs.There was no need to spend on the transport when we had to explore the city on our own.We enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank personindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed here on my second trip to Prague after arriving from Vienna. We had a bit of an escorted trip from the train station to the hotel and were told what to expect by our pick up (who was absolutely brilliant - but not employed by the hotel, hence the slightly lower rating on "service").

The hotel is above basic (it's advertised as 2*, which if 1* is the basic is about right).

Their were two women on the main desk. The one in the daytime came across as grumpy but was concentrating on getting her english right more than anything. She smiled when we said "Na Schedanou" and "Dobry Den/Vecer". The other in the evening was a really friendly grandma sort who didn't speak a word of english but made the most to do little things to get to know you (e.g. memorising your room number and getting the key ready as soon as you walked in).

The room was spacious - on the second from top floor. I liked the old world furniture that the room had used. Made it feel like authentically continental, if that makes sense. There was just something I really liked about this hotel.

At the time, the downside for me was that the water in the taps were brown. This wasn't a problem - it was safe - but a little off-putting when you're not used to it.

I've visited Prague a couple of times since I stayed here. At the time I stayed at the Meran, the location was a blessing - right on Wenceslas Square near the Muzeum Metro Station. But given my most recent visit to the city, this may be a curse. Wenceslas Square is tourist central, but even in the day now, this bulevard doesn't feel safe like it used to. At night, the area is full of prostitutes (both legal and illegal) and drug dealing was happening really rather blatantly on all the corners of the streets leading off the square.

Those issues aside, the Meran was, and still is, a rather quaint little hotel. My most wonderful and memorable evening ever in Prague was spent in this hotel (watching the thunderstorm outside whilst drinking Bohemia Sekt - the Czech equivalent to Champagne, only nicer - and indulging in paprika crisps).

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryad
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I have just come back with my family from a 3 day stay in Meran Hotel in Prague. The hotel is well located in Wenceslas Square, so we could make all Prague walking. It takes 15 minutes walking to the Astrological Horloge and around 25 minutes walking to Charles Bridge. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is of normal standard. However, the beds are tight and small. Regarding the hotel staff, I may say they are not welcoming nor willing to provide any service for the clients. The young lady at the reception refused to call to the airport taxi to confirm the time of our pick up, doesn't know the exchange rates and where would be better to exchange in the airport or in the market, barely responded to our good mornings. The lady at the restaurant is doing well her job: Always checking whether there is something missing. However, she does not need to frown all the time! Overall, the staff needs to be more friendly (not to say less aggressive) so they will be more professional.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — services and beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danatalia2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

More than anything, the hotel is perfectly situated on Wenscelas Square, so it suited our needs really well. Straight out of the front door and in the thick of Prague. We didn't need to use a taxi or tram at all.

Quite a basic bedroom, although large enough for the three days that we were there. Hotel team not overly friendly; it's fair to say indifferent at best. Only smile came from the lady on Reception when we checked out. Had to go to the Change office next to the hotel when we arrived from the airport to get smaller denomination notes for the taxi driver, as the hotel wouldn't, or couldn't, help change the larger Czech notes we had. The breakfast waitress told us firmly at 10.45 on Sunday (breakfast finished at 11) that we had to eat quickly as she had to leave promptly at 11 - and four hours was too long anyway!

However, we just used the hotel to sleep and have breakfast and it was clean and warm.

So, a basic hotel that's ideal as a place to sleep and explore Prague from.

  • Liked — Large bath
  • Disliked — Very basic
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankw1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#160 of 649 in Prague
712 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Rokoko
EA Hotel Rokoko
#128 of 649 in Prague
491 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ramada Prague City Centre
Ramada Prague City Centre
#198 of 649 in Prague
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#94 of 649 in Prague
795 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#297 of 649 in Prague
197 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Novomestsky Hotel
Novomestsky Hotel
#301 of 649 in Prague
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meran

Property: Hotel Meran
Address: Wenceslas Squere 27, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meran 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meran Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing