We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for onward travel”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #129 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Chose this hotel primarily for its location,close to the metro,when coming from the airport,and also close to Florenc bus station,for my onward travel the next morning.Reception was friendly and efficient,both day and night receptionists.The room was small but quite comfortable,TV with in-room safe,TV with international channels and hairdryer in the surprisingly nice bathroom with a large shower cubicle.The supplied toiletries were basic,but then most people carry their own. There was no fridge or minibar,but several convenience stores nearby can supply you with water,beer or whatever you need.It's about 15 minutes walk to the Old Town Square,there are a number of restaurants between the hotel and the old town,including some quite trendy looking ones.The breakfast buffet was pretty good,fresh fruit including fresh pineapple and watermelon,various cereals,a good choice of cold meats and cheeses,nice breads and rolls, and a good choice of pastries.I didn't check out the hot dishes,or curious salad offerings.All in all a good choice if you're looking for a decent,reasonably priced place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good part of prague, walking to many places. ITs a 3 star so you cant expect greatness but it was perfect for us 3 guys in our late 20s. Clean place, very friendly staff and good pressure showers. Internet was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

stayed here for a weekend with the girlfriend and mates, the location is ok, its a short walk to what i would call the main area, maybe 10 minutes, but there are shops, cafes restaurants in very close proximity.
hotel was clean and comfortable, rooms were fine.
overall the hotel did what it was supposed to do it was somewhere clean to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reyno555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Prague
1
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Quite near the centre (5 min walk to centre). Rooms dated but excellent value for money. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife Jacqui and I and my sister in law Julie and her partner Chris spent three nights in this hotel over the jubilee weekend. The hotel itself is very basic, although the rooms were clean and tidy and the staff very attentative.

It is located in an area that first looks a little out of town and commercial, but it really is perfect for anyone wishing to have a hotel as a base, which is cheap and which gives easy access to the city and its sights by either tram, the subway train or on foot. The tube sation of Florenc is five minutes walk away, whilst the old town itself is only fifteen minutes on foot. Even then the restaurants, bars and shops etc start almost immediately you head towards the centre, so plenty to do and see from the hotel.

We were going to get a full day travel pass, but really didn't need one. Indeed the sites of Prague can pretty much be covered in a full day, possibly a further half day on top, so if you are coming to see the historical capital of the Czech Republic and have booked for three days, as we did, then you may wish to plan a trip away from Prague for one of these days. We went to the city of Karlovy Vary, about 120 kms to the west of Prague. This is a beautiful picturesque old city with superb buildings and architecture running along the Tepla River ( including a hot spa area and small guyser ) with restaurants and shops a plenty. There is also the Diana funicular railway at the top end of the city walk along the river which takes you up to a tower ( lift broken when we were there and its a fair few flights of stairs to the top ). This gives excellent views across the city and beyond. Well worth it and very cheap also.

Tip if you wish to visit Karlovy Vary is to go on the local bus. The main Prague bus station is within two minutes walk from the Hotel Merkur. We saw an excursion for Karlovy Vary on brochures in the hotel at a cost of 1600 Krona each. We got guaranteed bus seats return for only 313 Krona each. Book early, probably the day before, as the seats can get taken. It's a two hour journey each way but well worth it. You'll get bored in Prague if you do not look at somewhere else.

In addition, please do not miss the Ice Bar close to the Charles Bridge in Prague centre. This is excellent and is not being marketed very well. It is superb. A great experience and for 200 Krona with a pint included is absolutley brilliant for a small group or party.

Turning back to the Hotel Merkur, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was suppoed to be continental. However, it was way better than what I would have described as continental before arriving. Cereal, meats, pizza, other savouries, plenty of choice of breads, coffee, tea and a selection of cakes and other sweet orientated bits and bobs meant this was far from a simple offering. Not an English breakfast granted but an excellent choice to fill you up for a days sight seeing.

If you do not wish to travel into the centre for a good selection of bars and restaurants, just turn left out of the hotel front doors ( believe me on this ) then left at the corner and head along this street. It initially looks a bit rough for about twenty yards or so but once you are at the church ( and you'll know what I mean when you are there ) it turns into a very attractive area with plenty of choice and at prices far less than the centre. Only a small distance to get home also.

All in all, a basic hotel, but one which is excellent for a base. One I would return to without hesitation if I were to ever return to Prague.

Room Tip: We were in room 301. No view, but at the back. No issues with noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

In a nutshell this hotel is a great base for a few nights in Prague. It is situated just a few minutes walk from the train station (Florence) & a ten minute stroll from the City Centre.

My wife & I paid approx 200 euros for our 4 night stay B&B which in our opinion represented good value. The room was spacious and very clean (maid service daily during our stay). Breakfast was good with many continental options to suite different tastes.

Prague itself was excellent and highly recommended for those who wish to combine culture, shopping, eating & drinking. Many places to eat for all tastes & budgets. The local beers are superb & range between 80p for 500ml to £4 (close to the castle must be avoided, if you are thirsty walk a little away from the centre).

So if you do not wish to pay top dollar but wish to be fairly close the the action, this hotel is the one for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DudleyLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is well-located, 2 mins walk from the metro, one min away from the tram station. The hotel is however loud and suits more for school kid outing. At night, it's quite loud. The staffs in general are ok. The room is very old, but clean. The breakfast is good with good varieties.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Pim8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#136 of 647 in Prague
767 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 647 in Prague
397 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#167 of 647 in Prague
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#159 of 647 in Prague
539 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
AXA hotel
AXA hotel
#176 of 647 in Prague
633 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#152 of 647 in Prague
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Teshnov 1162/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Business Hotel in Prague
#192 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £36 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with cafe, bar & restaurant is located in the city centre; within walking distance of historical sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing