We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good location”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #109 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here with friends last summer, and really enjoyed our stay. For the price, this hotel is a great option, our room was the biggest budget hotel room I've ever stayed in, very clean room and communal areas, our room even had a bath, and lots of hanging space, which is unusual these days! It is a big hotel, front desk staff helpful and courteous, also sells beers, which is always a plus point ;). Around a 20 minute walk from the main square, astronomical clock etc, lots of bars and restaurants surrounding it, and a cafe, McDonald's and KFC all just a stone's throw away! Also there is a Lidl or Aldi round the corner which is great for stocking up on snacks and drinks. Only thing that let this place down a little was the breakfast, which we only attempted once as we had a lie in the rest of the trip! This comprised cereal and the usual drab, cold, Continental fare, but for the price of the rooms it is forgivable!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

dont have any negative things to say about this hotel. 3 star, well cleaned, friendly/helpful staff, great breakfast, free internet.
have to say, for the price i paid i was expecting worse.
walking distance from many atractions and 200m from tube station.
would go back for sure. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBruno79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel has a great location near the old town and the metro. Offers clean rooms with spacious bathrooms with bath / shower. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Early check-in is not a problem. Free WiFi connection on the second floor was quickly and I had no problem during my stay. Breakfast was much better than I expected in a three-star hotel, a wide selection. Receptionists are very friendly, polite and professional (especially the lady).

If you are looking nice hotel at a good price, then this is for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

"+":
-free wifi
-close to city center

3 stars hotel, close to city center, abot 20 min from train station. Rooms are ok, breafast is ok. Wifi is available but not stable.
3 stars hotel, close to city center, abot 20 min from train station. Rooms are ok, breafast is ok. Wifi is available but not stable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is a clean hotel with helpful staff, the breakfast was good varied and plentiful.The location was great right next to the Florence metro station and only a short walk to the center of town.You can get a taxi from the airport for about 40 euro or do what we did get a transport ticket from the office outside arrivals for 90 mins travel, it costs 32kc or 1.5 euro, hop on the 100 bus across the road from the airport it ends at the metro station, get on the train and get of at Florence. The bus ride is about 20 mins and the train 30, the hotel is across the road from the metro station under the overpass.all in all it was a good hotel nice food and nice staff

Room Tip: High up its quieter, smoking and none smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlodlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

i think this hotel needs major changes. the lift to the second world war!!!!! the hotel reseption know very little english and the front was always busy!!!!!internet was not good.its not good time for me?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi6811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was our cheapest hotel during the two weeks in EU and it was the price of 49 EUR that made it tolerable. The service was friendly, but slow and our reserved room was not available, so we got a "better" room with 3 beds. The room was located on a fourth floor with a window overlooking our parked rental car (that was the only plus). The floor was uneven to the point of being a trip hazard, beds needed new mattresses 10 years ago, bathroom had a shower head located right at our belt line (really don't get the point of that), but there was a shower curtain! The worst part was the elevator with a posted warning that the load limit was 200kg. We took a chance (and survived), but between the two of us and our very heavy bags, the floor in the elevator was seriously sagging and the speed of operation was at a crawl. On the way down to check out, I sent my athletically shaped daughter with the bags and took the stairs, so as not to push our luck with the load limit. The included breakfast was the bright spot, as it was worthy of a much more expensive hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Over all, for 49 Euros and no ad-ones for taxes, internet or breakfast we should not complain, I guess.

Room Tip: Lower you standards and consider it an adventure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zbigniew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#119 of 646 in Prague
538 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#120 of 646 in Prague
873 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Salvator
Hotel Salvator
#93 of 646 in Prague
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#112 of 646 in Prague
613 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#148 of 646 in Prague
3,142 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Metropolitan Old Town hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Teshnov 1162/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#135 Business Hotel in Prague
#192 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £29 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with cafe, bar & restaurant is located in the city centre; within walking distance of historical sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing